We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jungle Fever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Sheringham
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Jungle Fever”
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

This is a basic resort with basic amenities although it does have a large swim pool. The rooms are comfortable without being cosy. This is a good resort when used as a base camp for other activities. The restaurant is acceptable althoughnthevquality of the food could be improved. The upside to this resort is the reception staff who could not do enough to make our stay exciting and memorable. The reception staff are brilliant. This is a good place to stay.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank colinrbush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We are running a series of training to all our staff and we are glad that our receptionists have showed improvements. We will ensure that all our staff will be able to excel in their respectives works.

We wish you a blessed new year.

Johnny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    213
    186
    78
    48
See reviews for
109
288
49
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We booked to stay here for one night, as we were visiting the nearby sepilok orangutang sanctuary. We paid for B& B, you have to consider what you are paying is incredibly cheap. It doesn't market itself as a 5 star hotel, so doesn't pretend to be one. We had the super deluxe room. Yes this is basic, BUT it has everything you need( need and want are 2 different things) it had clean bed linen, towels and adequate space. The room had a TV, which quite honestly you're in the most beautiful rain forest, why would you come here and watch tv, the room had a hair dryer, air conditioning & a balcony. The staff are all very friendly and will do anything they can to make your stay more comfortable. The corridors do look like a backpackers dormitory, but its a clean and comfortable base.
The walk down to the restaurant is beautiful along the wooden walkways, overlooking the jungle, lakes and beautiful scenery. The restaurant is what is, in the middle of the jungle, but the food we found to be faultless. Those belonging to the egg and chips brigade will starve, but if you are not prepared to try fantastic Asian/ malaysian food you deserve to go hungry. Again, we found the meal prices excellent value for money. There were 3 of us in our party and we enjoyed generous portions if really great food. To be honest, they are so eager to please if you asked them to cook something special they would probably do it. You have to try the cantonese beef and chow mein, they are £4 for a very generous portion. The breakfast was also great. The swimming pool was quiet and a nice place to cool down after a hot day at the sanctuary, it is a lovely pool. They ask for a token gesture & charge what is the equivalent of about a couple of pounds max to use the pool.

It was within an easy 5 min walk to the sanctuary which we thoroughly enjoyed. We booked to do the night walk and I am so glad we did. Our guide was knowledgable and we felt completely safe and well informed of the amazing sights and secret world that happens after dark. We saw a vipers nest above our heads, flying squirrels, giant fighting ants, scorpions, native wild cat to Borneo, and just before dark we saw a young orang putting himself to bed in a nest he had built above our heads. It was an amazing sight being so close. The fire flys are also a sight to behold, it's like natures very own fire work display in the jungle. If you embrace it, you will have a wonderful experience. Some nights you'll see more, some you'll see less. I really wanted to spot a sloth, but despite our guide trying his best to spot one, we didn't see any. He even felt bad that he couldn't find one to complete our trip, which just shows how humble and genuine they are. Let's face it If you want to be guaranteed to see anything, then go to a zoo.
In all I would absolutely stay here again but for a couple of nights purely because its such great value for money, & a great base. The night time jungle walk is absolutely worth doing. I felt like I had a really relaxing experience.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clancygirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad that the changes that we made to the food menu is starting to have some positive outcome. We will continue to strive to provide the best to all our valuable clients.

Once again, thank you and looking forward to serve you again in the future.

Johnny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I visited SJR a few years ago on a solo wildlife trip. Earlier in November my husband and I spent a night there after a dive trip. We had so much to organise with SIpadan permits etc that I just booked here as it was very easy to do so.

We were very satisfied with out short stay. We arrived in the middle of a massive rainstorm with all our dive gear (we should have worn it really) and the receptionist was extremely friendly and welcoming. The rooms have been spruced up a bit and to our delight there were two beautiful hornbills , squirrels and other tropical birds in the fabulous garden just outside our balcony. Food was very good and the service quick and friendly.

The following morning we had the most wonderful visit to the orange tan scantuary. We went early and there was a little orange tan up a tree in the car park. Then on the boardwalk there were two more and we had 15 minutes with them. It started to rain and one little girl proceeded to build herself a nest. At the platform about 9 orangutans showed up including a mum and baby. Then as we were leaving we met an orange tan on the walk way !

If we ever go back to Sepilok we wouldn't hesitate to return to SJR.

Room Tip: It is probably worth it to get a deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ire123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thanks for choosing to stay with us.

Welcome back and we are very happy that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay and you even give us one more points scoring a perfect five as compared to few years back when you gave us 4 points.

The 20 acres land that we have set aside for fruits trees for the wildlife is one of our long term goal to provide fruits for them and we are glad that because of our actions, all our guests now able to view them naturally within the resort and many times just outside their rooms and in the dining area.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to serve you again in the future.

Johnny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I had a 5 night stay at he Sepilok Jungle Resort. I pre booked my accommodation through Agoda several months prior after reading the reviews on trip advisor. On arrival the reception staff were extremely helpful and information about the resort and local attractions. The room was big and clean, yes a bit dated, but I only planned to sleep there. The AC worked as did the shower which was nice and hot!

I had all my meals at the Banana Cafe,breakfast as part of the deal with my room. The staff were pleasant and helpful and one of the owners would always come and talk to me making me feel very welcome and comfortable. At breakfast I was given homemade lime jam by the owner, who had made it the previous day, it was delicious! The food was very good and good size portions and reasonably priced. The surroundings are beautiful, remember your strong insert repellant though, you WILL need it.

Sepilok orang-utan centre is literally 5 minutes away, the best time to go is in the afternoon, it's much quieter then, but if you pay to go in the morning u get in for the afternoon feeding free. Feeding times are 10 am and 3 pm, but go early to get a good spot for photos. You are charged 10 myr extra per camera so bare that in mind and you have to put you bag into a locker prior to going to see the feeding.

I had the best experience with the orang-utans at the Rainforest Discovery Centre, about 20 mins walk from the jungle resort. I went on three occasions, costing only 10 myr entry. On all occasions I had a one to one with an Oran-utans, I trekked around all the trails, a map is provided on entry and was lucky enough to see them up close, in there wild environment, it was truly amazing.

If you fancy doing something a bit different and treating yourself or indulging then go to the English tea house for afternoon tea. The setting was beautiful and the afternoon tea was fabulous, better then some I have had in swanky London west end hotels and it was very reasonable. Barter with a taxi or speak to reception to arrange a car for you, I incorporate a walk around the War memorial gardens which is situated where a POW camp was during the Second World War.

Overall really enjoyed this part of my trip, I rally relaxed and got to see some amazing things and then slowly unwind by the pool for a few hours before dinner.

Room Tip: Get a room with AC, the humidity is extremely high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thanks for choosing to stay with us.

Great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad that the changes we did to our menu after hearing feedback from customers are starting to generate positive outcome.

Afternoon feeding at sepilok orang utan centre is generally better because there are lesser people as the standard tour normally go to the morning feeding and do something else in the afternoon. That's why people normally only those who are staying with us will go for the afternoon feeding as they can just walk for 5 minutes to get there. Furthermore, the entrance fees is valid for one fullday so it is better to make full use of it.

We will continue to strive to be better.

Once again, thank you very much and looking forward to serve you again in the future.

Johnny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

In our second week of our 3 week Brunei/ Borneo adventure my husband and I stayed at Sepilok Jungle Resort and celebrated our 28 th wedding anniversary. Our room had a balcony which overlooked the beautiful lush gardens and ponds . The price was very reasonable and included breakfast and free wifi . We were very happy with our evening dinners and choose local fish , rice and vegetables with a Tiger beer or lemon teas in Banana Cafe . The cafe was a good 5 minute board walk away and most was not covered . So just take your umbrella in case it rains on your walk back . We found the desk staff very helpful , had laundry done and took the shuttle to the airport when we left . Our room was comfortable with an air conditioner and jug supplied . TV was there but we didn't watch it anyway as we would rather be nature spotting . SORC (Orang utans) only 5-10 minutes walk so we visited there for day feeding time and the guided night spotting walk ( see SORC review ) . Around the Jungle Resort we watched the antics of a beautiful black and red Provosts squirrel , and bird watched around the nearby roadside with close views of Pied Hornbills . On our second day we walked up to the Rainforest Discovery Centre which took me about 25 minutes so leave early to beat the heat but once there you can enjoy the canopy walk and towers and the cooler forest and shade below . We spotted numerous birds including several Kingfisher species also saw an Orang utan swinging through trees and several Proboscis monkeys . Quite a hot walk back so again always take plenty of water , drinks . Breakfast at Sepilok Jungle resort was a little confusing as there did seem to be small bus loads of tourists arriving as part of their longer tour but in any case both staff and other travels we found very friendly . . Initially toast and tea was available which was fine for me but not long afterwards there was also eggs , baked beans and noodles . Drinks and ice creams could be bought there also and there was a small souvenier shop in the office . We enjoyed our 2 nights stay and would recommend a stay and would return their ourselves . Comfortable and relaxing with easy access to wildlife and nature opportunities .

Room Tip: Not sure of the room arrangements but we had room 38 I think . With a balcony and beautiful view . N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judygoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we did make your 28th anniversary memorable.

Looking forward to serve you again in the future.

Johnny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Not much point restating what numerous other people have said (read Cherrycoke106, hackedoff69). Just one addition: the restaurant staff disposed of uneaten food from our plates directly into the creek below IN FRONT OF US. Clearly a sign that no-one is actually in charge. The management, whoever they are, needs to spend some money and resources on this place, or just close it. The reception staff politely listened to our reports of maintenance issues (locks on doors not working, exposed wiring, peeling paint etc) but one wonders if anything will be done. Best avoided, try elsewhere in the area. But Sepilok itself is fantastic, don't miss the Rainforest Centre walks and of course the orangutans. Their sister resort at Bilit was another matter - worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
130 Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

As there are a lot of fishes, some as big a s 1.5 feet in the pond, so we actually will feed the fishes with the leftover food from our guests. However, we will only select toast and water melon skin. We will not feed the fish with any kind of meat.

We will continue to remind and train our staff not to dispose it in front of tourists. Thank you for staying with us.

Johnny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sandakan hotels

Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Just had 2 nights here and really liked it - slept like a log. It's a basic hotel in lovely surroundings and in easy walking distance of the orang-utans. The staff are very friendly and helpful and there is lots of wildlife to be seen and heard. The food is fine and a vegetarian selection was available for supper.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JudeEB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thanks for choosing to stay with us.

Glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

we have spared 20 acres within our resort to plant fruit trees and the wildlife in the areas. After 20 years, we can see that all these fruits start to produce fruits for them. That is why it is very common to see many wildlife in the resort surrounding.

Looking forward to serve you again.

Johnny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
11.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
11.4 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
526 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hsiang Garden Hotel
Hsiang Garden Hotel
#11 of 32 in Sandakan
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#8 of 32 in Sandakan
322 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sepilok Forest Edge Resort
0.6 mi away
Nature Lodge Sepilok
Nature Lodge Sepilok
#5 of 29 in Sandakan
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sepilok Jungle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sepilok Jungle Resort

Property: Sepilok Jungle Resort
Address: Jalan Rambutan | Sepilok, Mile 14, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sepilok Jungle Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 5 minutes walk to Sepilok Orang Utan Rehabilitation Centre, Sepilok Jungle Resort offers comfortable lodging for visitors around the world to get close but un-intrusive glimpse of this nature paradise. It is enclosed within a tropical virgin Borneo Rainforest in Sandakan, Sabah (Borneo), Malaysia. Let its beautiful landscaped gardens and wide expanse of lush jungle transport you back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sepilok Jungle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sepilok Jungle Hotel Sandakan
Sepilok Jungle Sandakan
Sepilok Jungle Resort Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing