We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Great location”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Rooms are basic, but have air on and are clean. Pool was very relaxing after a hot day out. The food was good value and not expensive. All in all a good place to stay especially if you a visiting Sepilok

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We will continue to provide the best services to our guests.

After receiving some comments from previous guests, we have made some changes with the food and it is good to hear that there is improvement now.

Looking forward to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    211
    185
    76
    47
See reviews for
107
286
49
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Arrived at 5pm at the Sepilok junction after almost 6 hours bus trip from KK tired & hungry, the Resort delight us with offered free pick up from the junction to the resort during check in day and RM3 charges during check out day .Staying in the clean & tidy dormitory RM28 with fan+ breakfast + towel & sharing bathroom outside with only 3 beds in the room is out of our expectation with the cheap charges.Only 5 minutes walk to Orang Utan Rehabilitation Centre,15 minutes walk to Rainforest Discovery Centre really convenience.The buffet breakfast was excellence offer American breakfast & fried noodles + sausage / egg & fruits.Understand the food prices is higher than the normal charges due to remote area unfortunately the food taste 'cheaper' than the normal prices but the free WiFi at restaurant stick us there.The garden seem 'tired' with rotten walkway & neglected flower plants that seem more like bushes & the water seem more like mud.The staff was quite unprofessional but the owner Datin was so amazing, helpful,caring,friendly & humble.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LV85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We have a team of gardener who look after our garden and it is always in good condition. Because we have a 30 acres land, we have separated our land into different zones and perhaps when you were here, one of the zone is yet to be trimmed. We will monitor on it.

As we are in the jungle, there is no restaurant in the area to operate and thus we are the only place one can eat. Our price is slightly more expensive than the average price because of the transportation costs.

However, besides the food, we are providing free Wi Fi services for all our guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and looking forward to serve you agian in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Found this resort while doing research for my trip and after reading the reviews, decided to send an email reservation. Reply was prompt and polite and reservation was confirmed immediately, with no guarantees as I prefer to make payment by cash.
I took the bus and dropped off at Sandakan junction and called for instructions on how to get to the lodge. The lady was shocked I was there alone as it was coming to nightfall and it is not a safe place for a single girl to be alone at the junction. Although I had not arranged for transportation, the lady immediately despatched a vehicle to pick me up from the school located near the junction at no extra charge.
Check in was smooth and my room is fantastic. For RM105 a nite, I got a full air-con room was attached bathroom (hot & cold shower) and a small TV. Free wireless is available at the restaurant.
As the place is way out of town, the only place available for food is the restaurant which has a pretty laid-back feel to it. The Food was average with quite small portions, and after two days of dining there only, came to realise the taste of everything is almost the same, just the ingredients vary.Perhaps the portion and the variety could be tweeked a little as its the only place we can chill out in and eat by the time sun sets at 5:30pm?
Great location, beautiful surroundings. Staff were friendly and able to provide information when asked.
Going back again in late September 2012, can't wait!

Room Tip: Email ahead for reservations and room request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happimie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thanks for choosing to stay with us.

It is our practise to pick our guests up from the junction when we were informed about it. Otherwise guests would have to walk for 2.75km.

We will continue to provide better food for our guests. Will inform our kitchen about the 'same taste' issue.

Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us again in September.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester - England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Lovely room. We liked that the room had different woods & each was labelled to tell you what it was & which tree it came from. Extra RM5 to use the pool. Breakfast limited but fresh & tasty. Good menu for lunch/evenings. Friendly, helpful staff. Just a couple of minutes walk away from Rainforest discovery centre. Electricity seemed to flicker off at busy periods of usage (when the pool had just closed & 7.00.-7.30am). We saw some lovely birds whilst eating meals & walking around the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Man_city_fan_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

It is good to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We will continue to work harder to give the best services to our future customers.

Looking forward to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Basic and clean, good food, good service. Very relaxed environment. good location if you travel to Attractives in Sepilok and Sakau area. don't stay in Downtown. Last night it's heavily downpour, I feel the power of the nature in the room, it is a quite a exp. For a city man.

Room Tip: Have dinner there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankCTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us,

It is good to hear that you have enjoyed your stay.

We will continue to strive to provide better services to other guests who stay with us.

Once again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We loved it so much we stayed another 4 days. A fabulous place to chill, the gardens are brilliant, yes its a user pays system for the swimming pool but we were ok with that and spent some quality time relaxing by the pool. Our room was clean, air-conditioned: we had a beautiful balcony and even had wifi.

It is so close to the rainforest discovery centre and the orangutan centre you can comfortably walk there.

The staff were so brilliant, especially at the restaurant where they were ever so obliging and friendly, often we were late for breakfast but they would even oblige us with providing a fresh breakfast. They often pointed out interesting wildlife to our 10 year old son, so I would highly recommend this resort for families.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony but ensure you pack your insect repellant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerreBurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for staying with us.

It is good that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We have so many interesrting wildlife because we have set aside 20 acres of land to plants fruits trees for all the wildlife in it. And now that the trees are all grown up, all the wildlife can enjoy it.

It is not suprising to Orang Utan, civent cats, Western Tarsier etc to come for a visit.

Looking forward to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

To me this place was quite ok. I have read some comments on this resort before I booked a room for three nights and was prepared for worse. The room was basic but fine. I didn't expect a 4star extravaganza anyway, just wanted to stay close to the Sepilok-Orangutans. The breakfast and meals are no highlights and can certainly be improved. They charge you for using the pool and internet (RM 5 for half an hour. The computer is reeeeally old and slow. So you won't get much work done. Be prepared to spend a small fortune.) And sometimes there is no electricity. You might stay in the dark for a while. Better bring a torch.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 61hitchhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Thank you for staying with us.

We are located in the jungle and thus the internet line is very slow and we cannot do much about it as it is the service provided by the telecommunication company.

Same goes with the electricity. Sandakan infrastructure is very outdated and one can experience few blackouts (no electricity) in a day. We do have a generator to cater for this problem and it will turn on automatically in about 5 seconds when there is a blackout.

We will continue to work on with our food.

Looking forward to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
0.0 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
588 reviews
11.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
11.5 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#8 of 32 in Sandakan
318 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hsiang Garden Hotel
Hsiang Garden Hotel
#12 of 32 in Sandakan
38 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sepilok Forest Edge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sepilok Jungle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sepilok Jungle Resort

Property: Sepilok Jungle Resort
Address: Jalan Rambutan | Sepilok, Mile 14, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sepilok Jungle Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 5 minutes walk to Sepilok Orang Utan Rehabilitation Centre, Sepilok Jungle Resort offers comfortable lodging for visitors around the world to get close but un-intrusive glimpse of this nature paradise. It is enclosed within a tropical virgin Borneo Rainforest in Sandakan, Sabah (Borneo), Malaysia. Let its beautiful landscaped gardens and wide expanse of lush jungle transport you back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sepilok Jungle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sepilok Jungle Hotel Sandakan
Sepilok Jungle Sandakan
Sepilok Jungle Resort Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing