We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pros and cons, but the location and price were best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pros and cons, but the location and price were best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

I'll start off by saying that I am undecided about whether I would stay here again. I'm tempted to see what others in the area offer, but talking with other tourists at the Orang Utan Sanctuary, I think SJR was probably the best.

The Pros: Location is great. It really is 5mins to the Sepilok Rehabilitation Centre, and if that is your priority, then this is the place. The deluxe room is a good size - fits double bed, extra single bed, and we could still fit our portable kids tent. The balcony looked over the lake, and the closest bench seat to our room was within internet access of the reception hub (which means we didn't have to walk all the way to the restaurant). A/C is reliable, pool is awesome (the kids loved it and really benefited from a cool down between rehab visits). Regina at the reception is brilliant - very helpful and super friendly.

Cons: The reviews about the restaurant staff were accurate. They truly give the impression that you are inconveniencing them. We were very patient, tried to lighten the mood with smiles and friendliness, and still waited 15mins (yes, we timed it) for a drink to arrive. The food is nice, but expensive and when the service is so unreliable, the cost hits harder. I understand that it costs extra to have the food transported from Sandakan, but the additional cost wouldn't bother too much if the food could be served with a smile. Considering how friendly and warm we found the rest of Malaysia, the restaurant/cafe staff were a real shock to us. Management has commented on here previously that perhaps it was just a rough day for the staff - no, that's not it at all. It's more like the staff have contempt for the tourists staying there. It didn't upset us - it merely disappointed us.

Neutral points: Yes, the accommodation is cheap - it is worth your comfort to upgrade. We had a deluxe room with a/c and it really helped. Sepilok Rehab Centre is really hot and humid, even on the most comfortable of days, so coming home to a/c and a nice pool really make a difference. Organise a night tour through Regina if you can - it's brilliant. A guide walks you through Sepilok at night and the wildlife are very different!

I'm glad we stayed there, but I wasn't blown away. Yes, I did expect to see a slightly run-down lodge, and was pleased with the clean and comfortable state. But it's not a place I am going to run off and rave about to my friends.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms facing lake are great. Close to pool. Bit of a walk to restaurant but it is a pleasant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamCahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    204
    180
    73
    46
See reviews for
105
274
49
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

We had a delux room. The website pics are very true to life it is slightly tired but clean. We went in Oct and it was hot and humid with plenty of evening rain. Aircon was a welcome addition worth paying for, and aided sleep. The rain can get a little noisy at might, but overall the accommodation is pleasant. The setting is beautiful, and the pool is good standard. Although be aware you must pay 5 rmd plus 2 for a towel to use it. Food was reasonable but breakfast was a bit basic three ways of doing eggs was the only choice. Tough if you don't want eggs. They do also serve toast and fruit, so you don't starve.

The resort is walking distance from the sepilok orang-utan rescue centre which is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Upgrade for aircon
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
We are positioning ourselves to be friendly and cheerful and in a great location.

We keep on mentioning that we are rated as 2 star and thus is not a luxury resort. One will know it once they have look through our price that range from RM28 per person to RM170 per room with breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mims florida
Level Contributor
795 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 580 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

They have the setting with the Lake in the rainforest and are near the Orang Utan facility everybody goes to see but we were disappointed. Chalets are basic. Food is basic. Wine is very expensive. It can be done better and foreign tourists will pay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gwgMimsFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

Firstly Regina at the Reception is amazing. She seemed to do long hours but always with a great smile and really helped as much as possible. I stayed in September 2011 with 5 other friends as we travelled around Malaysia for my 30th Birthday. My friends wanted to get a birthday cake and Regina organised everything. The resort is very dated, but clean and tidy. I bought a bed sheet with me, but didn't use it as the room looked clean and tidy. In the end, you just have to laugh at how dated it is and keep the experience as a great memory. Don't expect alot as you are in a jungle area, but its comfortable and safe. Only a 5 minute walk max to the Urang utan Sanctuary. Meals are very basic. Breakfast is included and is a choice of egg either scrambled, fried or omlette only. But what do you expect when its so cheap. Regina will happily organise a taxi to take you too town (Sandakan) which is about (30+mins away). Went on a day tour to travel along the Kinabatangan River. Was a 2 hour journey one-way but worth the experience once in the boat and spotting wildlife. We stayed for 3 nights, 2 full days which was enough for us. Overall, you get what you pay for and we were happy with that.

Room Tip: Book a deluxe or Superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nuttie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights and all in all we had a great time. We had a deluxe room with balcony and it was nice and big. The shower is more of a wet room but I was prepared for this experience to be more like camping considering its location. The boardwalk round to the restaurant was lovely. Breakfast was toast, beans and your choice of eggs. There was no other choice. On the third day I didn't have breakfast as I didn't want the same thing again but not really a major issue. We had dinner in the restaurant one night and this was much better, a surprising amount of choice and as a vegetarian I found things I could eat (which was proving rare in Malaysia!). The location is the major plus though, we walked to the Orangutan sanctuary in less than 5 minutes and had breakfast to the sounds of the jungle. We took a river cruise to the Kinabatangan River and being based in Sepilok shaved about 45 minutes off the journey (compared to Sandakan). My absolute major plus was the helpful reception staff. We had many questions before arrival which were always answered promptly by email and a particular massive thanks go to Reginia on reception- extremely helpful and arranged a birthday cake as a surprise for our friend!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fleeceylauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

We stayed here in september for 2 nights deluxe double room. room was clean and big enough, with handmade furniture. bathroom a little bit dated but it was clean. i just wanted a bed and shower really because i knew i was going to the jungle :) so was happy with aircon. There is restaurant but i only tryed tosts couse i was suffering from upset stomack. there is nowhere to buy any medication so take everything with you.
Breakfast very poor. only eggs, tost and jam. tee coffee and juice if you asked.
swimming pool really nice, cost RM5 a day.
but the most important this hotel is right in a jungle and just few minutes walk to orang utan sanctuary. And we have seen first orang utan on our first day. he came to the swimming pool area and member of staff let us know so we run from restaurant to see it. it was fantastic.
Its not a resort but is a nice very cheap and confortable hotel on your way to see orang utans. I hope i will come back very soon.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isiabuchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

My husband and I spent one night here to visit the orang utan sanctuary next door. There is nothing much to do in the hotel so we wouldn't have wanted to stay any longer, although it is very pleasant and they did lay on some entertainment in the evening for a harvest celebration which was nice, even if we weren't particularly keen to play the drinking games.

The beds were very hard and obviously the noise of the jungle and the air-con affects sleep, but that's part of the experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
0.0 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
11.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
11.5 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#4 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
11.2 mi away
Borneo Cove Hotel
Borneo Cove Hotel
#14 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nature Lodge Sepilok
Nature Lodge Sepilok
#6 of 29 in Sandakan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sepilok Jungle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sepilok Jungle Resort

Property: Sepilok Jungle Resort
Address: Jalan Rambutan | Sepilok, Mile 14, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sepilok Jungle Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 5 minutes walk to Sepilok Orang Utan Rehabilitation Centre, Sepilok Jungle Resort offers comfortable lodging for visitors around the world to get close but un-intrusive glimpse of this nature paradise. It is enclosed within a tropical virgin Borneo Rainforest in Sandakan, Sabah (Borneo), Malaysia. Let its beautiful landscaped gardens and wide expanse of lush jungle transport you back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sepilok Jungle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sepilok Jungle Hotel Sandakan
Sepilok Jungle Sandakan
Sepilok Jungle Resort Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing