We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great business / stopover hotel ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Sandakan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Travelling in sabah, you can't fault this hotel for value. £100 gets you a suite with a stunning floor to ceiling view from 24th floor. Rooms are appointed to a decent 4* standard. Staff are friendly. Breakfast has a broad choice.

You probably wouldn't want to stay longer than a night here. The perfect stopover before hitting the Islands and fantastic value for money.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank benstopford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Dear benstopford,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your great experience at hotel. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

757 - 763 of 1,280 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

Lovely room with a view of the harbour and very comfortable beds. We really enjoyed the swimming pool and the cocktails were good quality but quite expensive. The breakfast was also nice. We were disappointed with the buffet meal we ate in the evening. There was a lack of atmosphere sitting outside and the food wasn't great and also very overpriced and not the quality of food you would expect for the Sheraton. There was more atmosphere sitting outside in the downstairs bar.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulesbSouthLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Dear JulesbSouthLondon,

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to share your feedback. We have taken them constructively and our Food & Beverage team will work on improvement from your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

This is probably the best hotel in Sandakan and still pretty reasonably priced. Rooms are big and clean. Bed is also big and comfortable. Best part of the hotel is its pool are. No words needed…look at the pictures. Breakfast could be better…they have all kinds of Asian stuff that most people are already tired of. They don't have much vegetables either. The bar is really expensive also. Those are the only downsides though. Staff is nice most of the time and location is good as well. We stayed two nights in 2inn1 Boutique and changed to this one…we were supposed to stay for two nights but ended up staying five.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannu-Pekka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Dear Hannu-Pekka

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and had extended stay eventually. We have noted your comment on the breakfast experience. In fact we do offer varieties of Western dishes such as pancake, waffles, panini, etc. as well. We will consider including more vegetables as you suggested. Hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

My friend & I spent 2 lots of 2 nights in the Four Points, at Sandakan, and OH how beautiful!
The staff are so friendly, the service great and the view!!!
We stayed in room 1712 - top view & luxury (and cheap!).
It is close to everything.
The infinity pool!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W9937FMChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Dear W9937FMChris

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Great rooms, especially if you upgrade to a sea view. Amazing infinity pool and very friendly staff (most of the time). Recommend the breakfast buffet also. Very reasonably priced compared to other Sheraton hotels around the world.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SezzyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear SezzyC

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Located at the waterfront, Four Points rooms not just offer great view into the bay but the rooms are of decent size, clean and quiet. It is also conveniently sited as there is a mall and next door and the market is across the road. Service can be a tad slow at the front desk but otherwise pleasant.

The breakfast spread and quality are good and on par with most 4-5 star business hotel. How did business visitors survive in Sandakan before the Four Point is a question I asked myself.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to face either sunsets or sunrise, so choose according to preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TCK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear TCK K

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I've highlighted the improvement needed for Front Desk service speed to my Front Office Manager. I'm sure you will notice the difference in your next visit.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from stay at the hotel for 2 nights & i must say that i'm really impressed. The relatively new hotel is situated within a new mall. The reception area was actually situated at the 1st floor so if u came from the main entrance, u will have to take the escalators to your destination. The receptionist are really friendly & helpful, which was a big plus. The room is very comfortable & modern although may be a bit small (by starwood's standards) but still nothing to complain about since i just love their comfortable bed. Also tried their infinity pool which was great. The cakes in Wrapped was also pretty tasty. If you're thinking of going to the mall, u can use the locked doors right beside the receptionist area, since it's connected directly to the mall. And also, if u drove to the hotel - make sure u use their valet service for parking cuz it's much more convenient, safe & free as oppose to finding your own parking spot within the mall area. But do be careful when walking around town as there seems to be a lot of locals & foreigners 'lepaking' near to the hotel area almost all the time, particularly at night. There might also be some fishy smells near the hotel but that is because the fish market is just next door. All in all, I'll definitely recommend this place to everyone

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank amoichoty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear amoichoty,

Thank you very much in spending time sharing this great review of our hotel! We are really appreciated. We are happy to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us very much.

Hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
11.9 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#4 of 33 in Sandakan
664 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 33 in Sandakan
545 reviews
11.9 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#9 of 33 in Sandakan
326 reviews
0 mi away
The Mark's Lodge
The Mark's Lodge
#7 of 33 in Sandakan
43 reviews
1.9 mi away
Borneo Cove Hotel
Borneo Cove Hotel
#21 of 33 in Sandakan
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan

Address: Sandakan Harbour Square, Sandakan 900000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range: $54 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan is right on a scenic waterfront pedestrian promenade overlooking the Sulu Sea, part of the Sandakan Harbour Square, which offers an indoor marketplace and retail shopping mall within the new Sandakan CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Sandakan Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing