We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Executive Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Sandakan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights - 1 before and 1 after a trip to river lodge. The extra price for this room more than covered the expense of drinks and wine and the lovely buffet breakfast. The front desk staff allocated for these rooms was very efficient and helpful. Our room was on a high floor with a nice view of the harbor and store fronts (just don't look to hard and notice trash floating). Furnishings and bathroom were quite well done. Service at lunch and dinner was horribly slow and mixed-up, but the manage comped out a lot of our costs for our very long wait. Breakfast buffet was wonderful and filling. A chef could make egg dishes to order and they were perfect. This hotel is an oasis in this city.

Room Tip: Spring for the Executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alicerabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

783 - 789 of 1,251 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed here last year and it is still the best hotel in Sandakan. The service is brilliant and the staff are friendly and helpful. We had an Executive Club room for 3 nights which gives you the Executive club benefits, free soft drinks or tea/coffee all day and alcoholic drinks from 5.30 - 7pm daily, including snacks. I must say that the restaurant had taken on an Australian theme, which was a little disappointing as we were looking forward to one of the delicious Malaysian dishes that we had last year. The laundry service was very affordable and our clothes were returned to our room in the afternoon. The hotel is right next door to a shopping mall with a supermarket and a nearby money exchange.The Four Points is so affordable, I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Executive Club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debbie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Views of the ocean through the full length glass windows in the rooms of this high rise hotel are fabulous. You can watch the small fishing boats ply their trade along with smaller ferry boats and a few military vessels keeping the peace. The service and staff were excellent and the buffet breakfast also very varied and fresh. We had the club deal which entitled us to a happy hour in the club lounge each evening - good place for a chat. Infinity pool on the 13 floor was also very relaxing

Room Tip: worth paying the extra for a higher floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bellamelbourne9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

If your looking to stay a good hotel in Sandakan, I really don't think you will find anything else that compares. Fair price for the hotel, great location to "downtown", though there really is very little to do downtown, thing close up early. The hotel has view of both the sea or city, get the sea room view! The restaurant was fine, can't say anything special, typical. Staff was very good. Now the wifi was a "crap shoot" from time to time. Even with that issue, I don't believe anything was nicer.

Room Tip: Take a sea view. Nothing to see on the city side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

the hotel itself is very good, the staff a bit forgetful. asked for the newspaper to be delivered daily, they did it once...... the food (a la carte) in their restaurant was over priced, overcooked and rubbish. also it seemed to cater to door slamming idiots who don't know how to close a door and respect other peoples sleep time. because Sandakan seems to be ruled by the muslims there was nowhere we could get a meal and wine for lunch. the bar didn't open until 5.30pm and that is fine but there is nowhere else that serves wine. once outside the hotel there is absolutely nothing to do other than a paid tour. nowhere to walk of any interest . the rooms wre beautiful with a great view. you must go to the waterfront and see the water monitirs they grow to about 3 metres. they hide in the rubble, nothing else to see

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidays529023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear holiday529023,

Many thanks for your constructive feedback sharing with us. We are grateful for your input for our continuous improvement. We will do more training to our associates to trace guest requests more carefully. Our Executive Chef will look into the quality of the food against the price paid again to ensure they are value for money.

For the surrounding area of hotel and Sandakan town, in fact you can do a Heritage Walk from the hotel to visit several historical attractions such as Agnes Keith's House, Sam Sing Kung Chinese Temple, St. Michael's and All Angels Church, and Sandakan Heritage Museum.

Perhaps you can visit these attractions in your next visit to Sandakan. And hope you will give us another chance to show you what our true value and service quality we can deliver.

Warmest regards,
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed here overnight prior to our dive trip. Our check in was very swift and the staff present and helpful, especially as we arrived without our baggage which had missed our connecting flight. They on its arrival arranged for it to be taken to our room where it was waiting for us.

We booked a club room and lounge access, on arrival there were fruit and biscuits delivered, the club lounge is on the reception floor, rather on a higher floor as usual, I guess it's not a busy hotel as there was only ourselves and another couple using it. The snacks were ok although the spring rolls were lacking some filling. The cocktails were made to order although initially service was a little slow as there was no staff present.

The rooms themselves were bright modern and comfortable with a modern design. The breakfasts are excellent, plenty of variety and choice. We did stop in the hotel that night for a meal owing to tiredness, and ordered a steak as had been eating Asian for 10 days. Mine was fine but my wife did not enjoy hers, as a little tough, although she had ordered it to be good less rare than mine and may be the reason.

There's not much too sandakan otherwise we thought, but this hotel is excellent for an overnight stay or as abase to explore the wider area, as you would expect from a Starwoods group hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeyk64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear mikeyk64,

Thank you very much for your detail review and feedback for us to improve some areas. We are much appreciated. First of all, we are glad to hear that our staffs were helpful and able to assist you with the missing baggage. We are sorry to hear about the Food & Beverage experience that let you down. We will review the food items in Executive Lounge again and also the quality of steak in our restaurant to be cooked properly.

Thank you again for trusting in Starwood properties. I believe you are already a SPG member. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotels again soon.

Warmest regards,
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

No complaint for this property. However, you need to pay a premium for your comfort stay. Very good for long stay or what ever reason you want.

There are few good property nearby, but it all depend on your budgets. The room is spacious, clean and the sleeping experience is fantastic.

Some rooms are without breakfast, but plenty of eating place around the hotel.. afterall, who need hotels food in Sandakan.

Room Tip: Choose for seaview room, higher is better, unless you don't mind your room facing the graveyards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maswali1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
0.8 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 33 in Sandakan
544 reviews
11.9 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
688 reviews
11.9 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#4 of 33 in Sandakan
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Borneo Cove Hotel
Borneo Cove Hotel
#21 of 33 in Sandakan
64 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Mark's Lodge
The Mark's Lodge
#7 of 33 in Sandakan
43 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sandakan
Hotel Sandakan
#10 of 33 in Sandakan
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan

Address: Sandakan Harbour Square, Sandakan 900000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range: $50 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan is right on a scenic waterfront pedestrian promenade overlooking the Sulu Sea, part of the Sandakan Harbour Square, which offers an indoor marketplace and retail shopping mall within the new Sandakan CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Sandakan Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing