We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Sandakan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Sandakan”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed here at a deluxe room for only one night before starting our jungle adventure in Kinabatangan river and Danum Valley. The hotel has great facilities including a roof top infinity pool which we used for a very relaxing afternoon after our flight from Kuching. We had a very memorable dinner at Habeeb restaurant which is close by the hotel, but generally would not have visited the town if it was not for a stop over. Sepilok Orang-utan Sanctuary is easily accessible from the hotel and greatly recommended. Staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with pool and port view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelloWorld26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear DespAndy,

Thank you very much for your review sharing in here. We are glad to hear that you had a great stopover in Sandakan town with our hotel. It is nice to know that our pool is helping you to relax from the long journey. Hope next time you would have a chance to try out our restaurant and bar as well.

Hope we will welcome you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    473
    119
    22
    16
See reviews for
234
514
67
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Four Points is offering all the comfort known from similar hotels in the US. It's a great start for a trip in Sabah or to recover from some days in the "wild".
Various small restaurants are occupying the waterfront just next to the hotel offering great food at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swissconnex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed for 1 night before our 3 day Borneo Eco tour (which was amazing!) The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fantastic and the rooms lovely and big. The only criticism I have is that they seemed to be out of just about everything we wanted to order in the "Wrapped" restaurant. I'd definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dannate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
126 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I stayed here based on the recommendation of some friends who came here to visit and the view is amazing! It's just like staying next to the sea and we checked into the club room which allows us to have some snacks and cocktails at the lounge. For the price we paid of about $110sgd a night, it was very worth it.
The room is very nice and clean and it was our honeymoon, so the front desk people were very nice to give us a cake and some fruits. The 2nd day we found some cookies in the room too.
The breakfast buffet was a wide variety and decent, the pool is very cool as it was infinity to the sea... They also have a gym which has the latest technology too!
All in all, it's very affordable hotel and very comfortable with free wifi everywhere in the hotel (but sometimes a little weak). We drove and they have parking valet or you can choose to park yourself and be reimbursed with 2RM per day. It's also just next to a shopping mall called Harbourfront Mall, so you can go buy stuff there if you want. Location wise, it's very good!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea is a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jezzie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Jezzie H,

Thank you very much for sharing your great experience at our hotel. We are so happy to hear that we made your honeymoon trip a memorable one. It is good to know that you had enjoyed our facilities and the view from our hotel.

We wish you a very happy marriage and hope we will have a chance to welcome you back again in one of your wedding anniversary to refresh this great memory again.

Warmest regards,
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This is a relatively new hotel in Sandakan down at the waterfront. Beautifully fitted out throughout the hotel and the staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. It is near the airport and also the jetty if you are travelling on to Lankayan Island (which we were). The room was beautiful with lovely views and we had a great time at the pool. I would have given this review 5 stars but for one thing - there was poor sound insulation between the rooms/floors. Other than this I would heartily recommend the hotel and its staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jellybean7788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear jellybean7788,

First of all, thank you very much for giving recommendation for others in here to stay at our hotel. We are very appreciated. We are also glad to hear that our staffs had given you helpful services. We are sorry to hear that our sound proof quality between the rooms is not up to your expectation. We will look into this matter.

We will be looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel again in not so far future.

Warmest regards,
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kl,m'sia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights over the weekend with my family. Service was great from arrival to check out. The rooftop pool had a great view and was very nice to use after a day out. Breakfast had a good variety and serving staff were always ready to help. One thing that could be improved would be the WIFI. The signal is very weak and sometimes totally non existent.Also when we asked for firm pillows, we got even sofetr pillows than those provided to begin with. Overall a fantastic place to stay and would definetly recommend it to anyone visiting Sandakan.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear kdks,

Thank you very much for your quick review of our hotel in here. We are glad to hear that you had enjoyed our service and the view from our swimming pool. We are also noted on your comment for WIFI and housekeeping service. For WIFI, we nearly finish our upgrade and it will be available soon with stronger signal. For the pillow comment, I have personally addressed this to our Executive Housekeeper. We will ensure the deliver would be exactly of what guest requests in the future.

Hope we will welcome you back to Sandakan and our hotel again soon in the future.

Warmest regards,
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Level Contributor
162 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst touring the area of Sandakan. From arrival to check out the service was excellent.
We had a problem with the next part of our itinerary, and the reception staff were amazing. They made complimentary phone calls & translated the information we required.Faxed off other information. Nothing was too much trouble. They went over & above what we had expected.
The room were lovely with all the extra's you could want from a room. Bottled water every day, lovely toiletries in the bathroom.
The buffet breakfast was outstanding. There was not anything more you could have wished for , no matter what nationality you were.
Lovely roof top pool with an amazing view, with comfy sun loungers & fluffy towels.
Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have a lovely outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarterFamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear CarterFamily5,

Thank you so much for your lovely review in here. You made it sound like a perfect stay with us. We are so happy to hear that our staffs had made it so easy for everything for you. That's definitely our job and will certainly carry on as well.

Hope you will come back to enjoy another stay with us again soon. We are looking forward to welcome you here again.

Warmest regards,
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
0.8 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
523 reviews
11.9 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
588 reviews
11.9 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#5 of 32 in Sandakan
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#8 of 32 in Sandakan
318 reviews
1.9 mi away
Borneo Cove Hotel
Borneo Cove Hotel
#14 of 32 in Sandakan
63 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sandakan
Hotel Sandakan
#9 of 32 in Sandakan
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
Address: Sandakan Harbour Square, Sandakan 900000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan is right on a scenic waterfront pedestrian promenade overlooking the Sulu Sea, part of the Sandakan Harbour Square, which offers an indoor marketplace and retail shopping mall within the new Sandakan CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Sandakan Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing