We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice layover between jungle treks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Sandakan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed two nights at Four Points, choosing the hotel specifically for the "idle" part of our Bornean trip.
Central location, waterfront, close to all attractions. View pool on the sea and city, great seaview during breakfast. Rich breakfast buffet (they had cheese and quiches!), with good mix of local and western food. Friendly staff, if sometimes a bit inexperienced (especially the pool staff), but the concierge service was very good.
The bar is nice, especially with live music. The ladies' night offer has a lot of room for improvement (such as including the cocktails on the menu instead of two watery drinks).
Special mention: during our second layover, when we had a few hours in the city, they were very helpful, even if we didn't stay the night.
We certainly enjoyed our stay, and would recommend the hotel to anyone stopping in Sandakan.

Room Tip: Seaview on a high floor, definitely worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meili G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

811 - 817 of 1,258 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Four Points Sheraton for four nights in late January, 2014 in a 24th floor Executive Club Room. This hotel is located right on the waterfront in central Sandakan. The best aspects of our stay are the modern and spacious room, the view over the waterfront, the helpful front desk and concierge staff, and the buffet breakfast.

The biggest downside is the excruciatingly slow wifi. I used speedtest.net and found an average download speed of 0.05 Mbps at various times during the morning and evening. To put this into perspective, my internet connection at home is 300 times faster. Web pages would take up to a minute to load. YouTube videos were unwatchable. I talked to their "IT Department" and was told that this is normal for the hotel!

The other negative is the uneven quality of the food in the restaurant. The buffet breakfast was excellent. On the afternoon of our arrival, the pasta dish we ordered on the set lunch menu was delicious and freshly made. The same pasta dish we ordered for dinner was terrible. The spaghetti was overcooked and the sauce tasted like it came right out of a jar. We ate at the restaurant three times for dinner and the food was mediocre at best.

Overall, the positives outweighed the negatives. This hotel likely has the best rooms in Sandakan. The views over the waterfront from the higher floors made us want to stay longer. The front desk staff person, Jayson, was extremely welcoming. All the staff at the concierge desk were genuinely friendly, helpful, and a joy to be around. They helped us schedule our visits to Labuk Bay, Sepilok, Sun Bear Conservation Centre, and Rainforest Discovery Center. They arranged an excellent English speaking driver, Ahmad, to drive us around.

Here are some taxi fares:
- one way to/from airport: 30 RM
- round trip to/from Sepilok/RDC including waiting time: 120 RM
- round trip to/from Labuk Bay including waiting time: 180 RM.

Pros:
- New and modern with spacious rooms
- Friendly and helpful staff
- Excellent view of waterfront from room, restaurant, and lounge
- Helpful concierge staff arranges cars and tours
- Good breakfast buffet with lots of choices
- Complimentary drinks and snacks in lounge from 5:30 to 7:30 pm if staying in Executive Club Room

Cons:
- Wifi excruciatingly slow
- Getting into the shower can be tricky as you have to climb into a bath tub with very high sides
- Walls a bit thin; can hear next door talking and TV
- Some restaurant menus tattered and worn
- Restaurant meals inconsistent (breakfast good, dinner mediocre at best)

Room Tip: Choose high floor Executive Club Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelingFinches07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear TravelingFinches07,

Warm greetings from the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan.

First of all I would like to thank you so much for your detail review of your experience during your stay with us. I am truely appreciated all the feedback you had provided and shared with others in here.

In regards to wifi connection, we definitely do aware of the issue and in the midst of upgrading our internet bandwidth which should be ready with faster speed by end of March. Hope in your next visit to our hotel, this would show significant improvement from your last stay.

For food & beverage experience, I am terribly sorry to hear about the inconsistency of our food quality. I had highlighted this matter personally with our Executive Chef. We are putting up much more intensive training to our culinary team in all shifts to follow the same recipe and quality to standard to always delivery the great products to our customers. I am sure you would be able to feel the different in your next trip to Sandakan and stay in our hotel.

Besides, I am glad to hear that our Front Desk and Concierge team did not let you down or even impressed you for all the arrangements and services. This would be definitely motivational message to share with my team to keep on delivering excellent services.

Once again thank you very much indeed for your input. We had taken them seriously for our future improvement. Hope you would come back to experience the changes at our hotel in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stayed here 1 night before and 1 night after our Kinabatangan Wildlife Safari. Great location, with friendly staff. Had lunch in the restaurant on our first day whilst waiting for our room and the food was good and reasonably priced. There was some confusion with our bags on the first day and we had to wait several hours for our bags to be delivered to our room, but they were delivered in the end. Saying that, on our second visit the bags were waiting for us at our room when we got up to our floor. Rooms were nice, clean and comfortable. Location was great for exploring the town and restaurants along the waterfront.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Clean, modern with a ripper view – rooms are a good size, restaurants are good too (significant as there isn’t a lot of option in the town) I wouldn’t go as far as recommending to base a holiday from but perfect for a quick stop-over (like in or case).

They have a really nice bar downstairs with an outdoor decked area overlooking the water and shoreline – really well priced drinks with a super atmosphere – its where we spent the majority of our short stay in Sandakan

This may be of no fault of the hotel (we hadn’t brought it to their attention) however we were in a smoking room and realised too late that the small airing window was locked – the haze was still there in the morning. However if you were a smoker maybe consider not getting a smoking room.
In all very good value for money – I wouldn’t hesitate to say there again

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tristan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Tristan B,

Warm greetings from the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan.

First of all, thank you very much for sharing your review in here. We are glad to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us, especially the bar experience. We hope these words of yours spread out and more people would come and enjoy the magnificent view of Sandakan bay from our bar deck together with great drinks and great music.

Thank you very much for the feedback in regards to smoking room. We had highlighted this to our housekeepping team to ensure we air the room everyday to make guest comfortable staying in smoking room.

We are happy to hear that you will stay with us again in your future trip to Sandakan. We look forward to welcome you back here again soon.

Warmest regards,
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This hotel is the highest building in Sandakan and it may not have won any architectural awards but it is right on the water and right in the centre of town. Inside there is a really decent four star hotel. We paid about A$70 per night for two nights in a queen deluxe room without breakfast on Agoda which makes it great value for money.
Our room 22nd floor was spacious, clean, attractively furnished and had a gorgeous view over the sea, which I imagine most rooms would have given the angle at which the hotel is built. It had all the facilities that you would expect in a hotel of this quality including a safe and an iron. The free wifi was rather slow.
I was disappointed in the housekeeping; face clothes were removed but not replaced, toiletries were not replaced, glasses were not washed. Only small things but I expected more in such a good hotel.
The infinity pool on the 13th floor was pleasant and had a lovely view across the sea. Check-in was efficient and friendly. In general the staff were friendly and welcoming.
There is a shopping mall in the same building directly behind the hotel and a supermarket opposite. There are plenty restaurants on the waterfront and easy walking distance throughout the town. There is the 24 Jam restaurant directly behind the hotel for a cheap breakfast but don't rely on it for an early start as we found it closed on a Sunday morning, not 24 Jam.
I would recommend starting your visit at the Information centre which was very helpful

Room Tip: Go higher for more view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaisyClover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear DaisyClover,

Warm greetings from the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan.

Thank you very much for detail review of your experience at our hotel and Sandakan town. I am glad to hear that you were satisfied with the value we offered especially in room product, facilities like swimming pool and our overall services. However I apologize for the shortfall in our housekeeping service which I had personally addressed this with our team already. Please rest assure that this is not our normal standard and would definitely improve for future. Our wifi service is in the process of upgrading which should be ready with faster speed by end of March.

Hope we will have a chance to welcome you back again in your next trip to Sandakan. I am sure you would still enjoy our products and service with improvement in those area you had addressed.

Warmest regards,
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Sandakan, like most other Borneo towns is something of a paradox. A scruffy, smelly, gimcrack ferro-concrete sprawl overlooking a knockout harbour view. Quite what local or Federal inducements brought the Starwood group to this place I don't know but this is a fine place in a prime setting.
Rooms, facilities, food and beverage, hygiene and value for money all score highly. Front of house the reception and concierge staff were excellent and when I get great service I like to name names, so thank you Jayson on reception.
My only criticism - only two working elevators out of three during a busy Chinese New Year meant long waits.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view, but the sunsets can be spectacular so I would pick a room facing to the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crouchender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend I and stopped over here before and after out trip to Borneo. The hotel itself is great and offers a great breakfast for the price. My room was clean and comfortable.
The service was great!! We had a problem with our luggage at the airport they had lost one of our bags the hotel had it delivered from the airport to our room within 12 hours AMAZING!! and the hotel accommodated us for a late check out as well!!
Highly recommend if your going to stay in Sandakan!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Nyomie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Nyomie L,

Warm greetings from the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan.

We are so happy to hear that you had a great stay with us. We are glad that we had helped you to resolve the luggage problem and get it back to you within reasonable time frame.

Thank you very much for sharing your recommendation to others in here. We are very much appreciated. We look forward to welcome you and your boyfriend back to stay with us again in your next trip to Sandakan.

Warmest regards,
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
0.8 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 33 in Sandakan
544 reviews
11.9 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#4 of 33 in Sandakan
658 reviews
11.9 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Borneo Cove Hotel
Borneo Cove Hotel
#21 of 33 in Sandakan
64 reviews
0.2 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#8 of 33 in Sandakan
326 reviews
0 mi away
The Mark's Lodge
The Mark's Lodge
#7 of 33 in Sandakan
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan

Address: Sandakan Harbour Square, Sandakan 900000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range: $53 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan is right on a scenic waterfront pedestrian promenade overlooking the Sulu Sea, part of the Sandakan Harbour Square, which offers an indoor marketplace and retail shopping mall within the new Sandakan CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Sandakan Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing