We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Sandakan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here. In terms of value for money, this was a great deal. The staff were efficient, welcoming and made sure we had everything we needed. The rooms were impressive, with good views, light, airy and big, comfy beds. The pool was an excellent addition to our stay, as was the fitness centre. The only drawback that as this is a more upmarket hotel, the prices of food etc. were much higher than what you would pay out on the street, which was fine because we just ate out instead of getting room service!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigellakamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear nigellakamp,

Warm greetings from the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan.

We are delighted to hear that you had really enjoyed your stay in our hotel. On behalf of our team, we would like to thank you very much indeed for your compliments on both services and facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan soon.

Warmest regards
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

871 - 877 of 1,256 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights while visiting Sandakan. The hotel is new (open since 2012) and has all the facilities you need. Rooms are comfertable and the pool at the 13th floor is perfect. This hotel has a restaurant, café and deli - all good. Sandakan is an upcoming tourist area, so not all personell understands English or western culture as well as other places but they are doing their best to help you with everything you need!!
One night our Chinese neighburs where so noisy i complained to the reception and they handeled it great, gave us another room immediatly and went to the room to stop the noise!
If you are planning to visit Sandakan, go to this place, you won't be dissappointed!!
TIP: if you're not already, become a starwood member (free) at checkin and you will get 30% discount to all food and drinks in the hotel (saved us a lot of money).

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SvR1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear SvR1705,

Warm greetings from the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan.

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with our hotel in here. We are happy to hear that you had enjoyed our facilities like swimming pool and Food & Beverage venues. We have taken note on the language and cultural knowledge of our staffs which we will definitely continue coaching them on this matter for improvement. We are sorry to hear about your experience with the noise from guests in the room next to yours. However we are glad to hear that our staff had helped to resolve the issue immediately. Thank you very much for letting us know and allow us to assist you right away.

Thank you very much as well for becoming our loyal customer as SPG member and also spreading words on the SPG benefits in our hotel. Hope you had enjoyed SPG benefits and others will follow you, too.

We definitely look forward to welcome you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan in the near future.

Warmest regards
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I had read a number of reviews and chose this hotel from them and it was a great choice. This is a well appointed hotel for the price, the bed really comfortable, restaurants and service excellent and the pool was the icing on the cake. I was happy with my 17th floor room and the curtains were appropriately thick to keep the early morning sun out.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank Erica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Erica B,

Warm greetings from the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan.

We are delighted that the review in here had helped you to make the right choice. And we would like to thank you very much for your positive feedback sharing back to others again as well.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed 5 nights and got an excellent deal through Agoda for the club floor. There is a club room on the reception floor that serves drinks and snacks 5.30-7.00 pm that we found, together with the excellent club floor rooms themselves, well worth the small extra charge. The hotel is less than a year old, and has been furbished with care, so is excellent. Not sure I would have chosen crockery with plates that always seemed to be the the wrong size, and cups designed to lose heat as efficiently as possible, but that would be my only quibble. My only negative was that one or two restaurant staff gave the impression they'd rather be somewhere else, doing something else. The reception staff, and bar staff downstairs, were excellent. A piano that plays to itself in the lobby? Not sure about that, but as there was no player to complain to, we let that one go. But why is the hotel here at all? As a tourist or non business visitor, the places worth seeing mostly involve a trip and night away, so the hotel can't be used for that. Perhaps it is here to allow you somewhere to stay either side of your sightseeing/jungle adventure night away? Or maybe they are planning for the future? If you find the evening menu boring - go to SimSim88 seafood restaurant, built on stilts over the water, which we found magical. It is only 5 minutes by taxi. But go a little earlier, say around 6.00 pm, as that's when the locals go to eat. And you get to see the sun going down. And the crabs wont sell out before you get there.

Room Tip: Try the club rooms, but all the rooms have a good sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Neil H,

Warm greetings from the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan.

We are glad to hear that you had enjoyed our hotel and especially club lounge facility as well.
Thank you very much for your valuable comment on our restaurant staffs. We have enforced more training and coaching to ensure they are all attentive and provide consistently great service across all areas.

Our hotel is situated in the city centre here to serve both potential business travellers who have meetings or projects in Sandakan and also leisure customers who may either prefer to stay out of jungle or take a break away from jungle trip to enjoy international upscale hotel experience. We hope that with the support from customer like you sharing the words out would help our hotel and Sandakan city to be more well known.

On behalf of our team, we definitely look forward to welcoming you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan on your future visits.

Warmest regards
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Wow what a find Sandakan was and this Hotel. Perfect location in the heart next to food and fish markets, shopping mall if you need it. Beautiful Hotel, Rooms, Views, Pool, Breakfast area and selections, lobby with mini grand piano. I wish we could have stayed longer will revisit. Good find.

Room Tip: I think you would be hard pressed to find a bad one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dontgetout2much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear dontgetout2much,

Warm greetings from the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan.

Thank you very much for this short and sweet review. We are so glad to hear you find our hotel as great value in many aspects. We are truly appreciated in these great words.

We will be looking forward to your revisit and welcoming you back to Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan again.

Warmest regards,
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I stayed for 7 nights at Four Points by Sheraton in Sandakan with an overnight mid stay side trip to borneo nature lodge. This was arranged by the hotel with pick up , transfers and minding our luggage while away. The rooms were lovely overlooking the sea and fishing harbour. The pool was magnificent and my children swam daily after a hard day of sight seeing. The staff were fantastic. They were helpful, friendly, fantastic with my two boys, remembered and used our names and presented with genuine smiles and good nature. The Four Points staff made a fantastic holiday even better.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Carlee H,

Warm greetings from the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan.

We are very happy to hear that our team had made your holiday become fantastic. It is great to hear that you and your family have enjoyed the stay, our personalized service and our pool facilities.

We are looking forward to welcome you and your family back again soon in your next trip to Sandakan.

Warmest regards,
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My husband and I were there for a business trip in August 2013. Stayed in room 1828, it was a corner room that faced the sea and part of Sandakan town. Needless to say, the view was breathtaking! ... it would have been better if the windows were cleaner.

The bed was, as promised, a dream. The room decor was nothing to shout about - it was a standard four/five-star hotel kind of furnishings. I really liked that the toiletries like shampoo, conditioner and soap came in dispensers attached to the bathroom wall - very eco-friendly. The room and the entire hotel was clean - expect Sheraton-standards. Which was a wonderful luxury to come back to after a hike in the muddy jungles.

Loved the location of the hotel because it's right smack in the middle of Sandakan town, with the central market right next to the hotel. We could just walk down to the shops around the hotel for food & sightseeing. On Sunday mornings, there is a farmer's market just two blocks away! Adjoining the hotel is a small mall where you will find a supermarket on top floor. We bought our large bottles of mineral water there. You can access the mall from the doorway next to the reception area.

The main attractions of Sandakan (Sepilok Orang Utan Sanctuary, Sandakan Memorial Park), however, are much farther away and do need transportation - self drive or travel agent - to get there.

Food in the hotel was top notch. Loved the dinner buffet at The Eatery. Filled with seafood - and it should because Sandakan is known for its seafood. If you have a sensitive tummy, I'd suggest eating at the hotel only. Sandakan town isn't known for its cleanliness.

Waiters and waitresses at The Eatery were a less than enthusiastic bunch though. But I was very impressed with the Concierge at the lobby by the main entrance on Aug 18, 2013 morning who was so helpful when I had some questions to ask about the town. Terribly sorry I didn't get his name. Actually, the Concierge at the lobby downstairs was generally friendly and pleasant whenever we saw them throughout our 3 days-2 nights stay.

Most wonderful of all was how quickly the hotel responded when I called them about a scarf I had accidentally left behind upon check-out. Special thanks to Stella whom I spoke with over emails & housekeeper Ally who found it in the room and reported it right away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Claudina W,

On behalf of our team, we would like to thank you very much for this great reviewed shared in here. We are very pleased to hear that you and your husband had enjoyed the stay with us. It is a real motivation to our staffs to learn that you are delighted with their services.

We hope that you have got a memorable experience here and would plan to come back to visit us and Sandakan again real soon.

Warmest regards,
Kanit Sangmookda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
0.8 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 33 in Sandakan
544 reviews
11.9 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#4 of 33 in Sandakan
657 reviews
11.9 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Borneo Cove Hotel
Borneo Cove Hotel
#21 of 33 in Sandakan
64 reviews
0.2 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#9 of 33 in Sandakan
326 reviews
0 mi away
The Mark's Lodge
The Mark's Lodge
#7 of 33 in Sandakan
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan

Address: Sandakan Harbour Square, Sandakan 900000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range: $52 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan is right on a scenic waterfront pedestrian promenade overlooking the Sulu Sea, part of the Sandakan Harbour Square, which offers an indoor marketplace and retail shopping mall within the new Sandakan CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Sandakan Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing