We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
Nearby Hotels
Rose Guesthouse(Sandakan)(Great Value!)
$10
$9
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$43
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$12
$11
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandakan Backpackers Hostel(Sandakan)(Great Value!)
$18
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
NAK Hotel(Sandakan)
$46
$36
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$45
$27
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Borneo Seaview Hotel(Sandakan)(Great Value!)
$18
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sukau RB Lodge(Sandakan)(Great Value!)
$15
Booking.com
View Deal
$219
$170
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$276
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,342)
Filter reviews
1,342 results
Traveler rating
586
558
147
33
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
586
558
147
33
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolclub roomshopping mallspg membersea viewfish marketcorner roombreakfast buffetfirst floorsulu seamodern hotellocal marketlocal foodwater frontstayed here for nightsturtle islandcomfy bed
Filter
Updating list...
971 - 976 of 1,342 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Many good things to say about this hotel. The tallest tower in Sandakan with a face of the sea view on almost every room angle. Very strategic location to the piers (ie. Pulau Penyu), Sandakan airport and right next to the Sandakan central wet market. Has an adjoining shopping complex but not fully occupied yet.
Within the hotel, very friendly faces of staffs and helpful. Food is cheaper compared to KK or KL hotel prices. Breakfast is good with many variety of choices with a sea view on 13th floor. And the cafe bistro at the ground level marks 50% off purchases after 8.00pm which I had a beef pie & a big chocolate scone at less than MYR12.00 for all.
Room is nice because it is new with updated decor. Rooms are almost soundproof & comfy bed. Nice overall experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yap W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Yap W

Warm greetings from The Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan. Thank you for your loyalty to the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan for this positive feedback about your experience. It’s wonderful to know that you enjoyed the level of service offered by our associates as well as the modern decorated rooms.

Furthermore, thank you for highlighting the breakfast and our new beef pie and scones offered at Wrapped.

We definitely look forward to welcoming you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan on your future visits.

Best regards
Syntio Camilleri
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is easliy the newest and best hotel in Sandakan and we used it as our base for an 8 night stay. The staff were friendly, happy and attentive and some really enjoyed talking to us and telling us the great things about their city and state. The hotel is close to the centre of town (easy walking distance) and right next door to the local produce and fish markets.

There are a few things that are a bit strange about it though. They serve a beautiful and extensive breakfast in the imaginatively named Eatery restaurant; however they don't serve bacon. We thought that this may be because the majority of population (and therefore staff?) are Muslim but they do serve ham. They have Jack Daniels and Jim Beam on all the drinks lists in all the bars of the hotel but you can't get a drink of bourbon at any of the bars as they don't stock it. The beautiful infinity pool is on the 13th floor but all the local back packers know you can ride the lift to the 13th floor without a key (as the The Eatery is on the same floor) so the pool is over run by back packers with nothing better to do.

So we went without bacon, bought a bottle of Jack at the supermarket and wished the back packers well as we enjoyed all the sites of Sandakan and Subah and the luxury of our hotel. We loved every minute of our stay and have plans to go back; and we'll stay at the Four Points again.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a water view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saggital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Saggital,

Greetings from the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the room together with the great views. It also gives us great pleasure to hear that you especially enjoyed the service offered by our associates.
As a halal hotel we are not able to serve pork in the hotel. We will definitely look into your recommendations to stock up the spirits list. We will look into tightening access to the popular pool area.

Sign in as a Starwood Preferred Guest and enjoy more the benefits of fast online booking, access exclusive benefits and flexible reward. Discover just how rewarding membership can be. Enrolment is quick, easy and free.

On behalf of the team, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards
Syntio Camilleri
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Arrived early and our room wasn't ready so we got upgraded. Very impressed. Ended up with an executive room but it lacked any drawer space so we ended up just using our suitcases as we were only staying two nights. The service could be a bit better with more attention paid to keeping breakfast dishes topped up. The first day we arrived fairly late and many dishes on the servery were empty. On the second day we arrived half an hour after breakfast started but the staff really didn't look ready. Likewise service in the club lounge appeared to be a bit hit and miss. These are all small things but I mention them because they can easily be fixed and had these been better, I would have scored 'excellent'

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank suespurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear SueQldAustralia,

Greetings from the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan. Thank you very much for taking the time to comment about your experience. We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay.

We thank you for your feedback and through our training programs will look into improving the breakfast experience. Overall we are delighted to hear that you were impressed.

Thank you once again for the praise and feedback. On behalf of the team, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards
Syntio Camilleri
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Ŵe stayed here for one night after spending 3 nights at a rainforest retreat in the jungle at Sepilok. We thoroughly enjoyed a little bit of luxury for a night. The rooms were great - we booked a deluxe room overlooking the water. However, the water was really dirty and it didn't offer any special view.

Everything that you would except from a Sheraton Hotel. The hotel also had a infinity pool on level 13.

We would have to say that it was the food that let it down. We ate lunch in the restaurant on the 13 floor near the pool and were disappointed. It was not cheap and average standard. We ate out at a little restaurant called Ba Lin Rooftop for the rest of our time in Sandakan. However, the hotel does have other restaurants which we didn't try.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank A_RTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear A_RTravellers,

Greetings from the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the luxury of the hotel. We thank you for your comment regarding the food and will share this with the team.

Sign in as a Starwood Preferred Guest and enjoy more the benefits of fast online booking, access exclusive benefits and flexible reward. Discover just how rewarding membership can be. Enrolment is quick, easy and free.

On behalf of the team, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards
Syntio Camilleri
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

A lot of tripadvisor reviewers have said good things about this hotel and let me add one more thing, each of the staff plays a role for being a shining star for this hotel. However, there are still rooms for improvement. Eg, pastries, and boiled egg are more on the dried side and the tea and coffee are quite diluted. Inconsistency of the turn down service and numbers of towels given. I was not even aware that there's a restaurant behind the wine celler and only discovered that on my last day of stay at this hotel. The piano with the electronic gadget needs to add more base onto choice of music selection. I notice that the pedal was not control by this piano electronic keyboard playing gadget and thus making the piano tune less exciting. It's more like listening to a radio instead of LIVE piano @ no surround sound effect. Am not a musician and thus can really describe it right:)
This is going to be my second home upon my next visit to Sandakan again soon.
Thank you for making the my visit a pleasant and memorable one.

Room Tip: pay a little more to get the corner room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank inxpekto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Inxpekto,

Greetings from the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the level of service extended by our associates. The venue located next to the wine cellar is the Best Brew which offers drinks and food snacks together with live entertainment.

During your next stay in any Starwood property, sign in as a Starwood Preferred Guest and enjoy more the benefits of fast online booking, access exclusive benefits and flexible reward. Discover just how rewarding membership can be. Enrolment is quick, easy and free.

Delighted to hear that you will be staying again with us. We look forward to seeing you at the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards
Syntio Camilleri
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews