We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room, Sheraton standard but food let it down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great room, Sheraton standard but food let it down”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Ŵe stayed here for one night after spending 3 nights at a rainforest retreat in the jungle at Sepilok. We thoroughly enjoyed a little bit of luxury for a night. The rooms were great - we booked a deluxe room overlooking the water. However, the water was really dirty and it didn't offer any special view.

Everything that you would except from a Sheraton Hotel. The hotel also had a infinity pool on level 13.

We would have to say that it was the food that let it down. We ate lunch in the restaurant on the 13 floor near the pool and were disappointed. It was not cheap and average standard. We ate out at a little restaurant called Ba Lin Rooftop for the rest of our time in Sandakan. However, the hotel does have other restaurants which we didn't try.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank A_RTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear A_RTravellers,

Greetings from the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the luxury of the hotel. We thank you for your comment regarding the food and will share this with the team.

Sign in as a Starwood Preferred Guest and enjoy more the benefits of fast online booking, access exclusive benefits and flexible reward. Discover just how rewarding membership can be. Enrolment is quick, easy and free.

On behalf of the team, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards
Syntio Camilleri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    452
    113
    18
    15
See reviews for
222
490
65
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
110 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

A lot of tripadvisor reviewers have said good things about this hotel and let me add one more thing, each of the staff plays a role for being a shining star for this hotel. However, there are still rooms for improvement. Eg, pastries, and boiled egg are more on the dried side and the tea and coffee are quite diluted. Inconsistency of the turn down service and numbers of towels given. I was not even aware that there's a restaurant behind the wine celler and only discovered that on my last day of stay at this hotel. The piano with the electronic gadget needs to add more base onto choice of music selection. I notice that the pedal was not control by this piano electronic keyboard playing gadget and thus making the piano tune less exciting. It's more like listening to a radio instead of LIVE piano @ no surround sound effect. Am not a musician and thus can really describe it right:)
This is going to be my second home upon my next visit to Sandakan again soon.
Thank you for making the my visit a pleasant and memorable one.

Room Tip: pay a little more to get the corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inxpekto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Inxpekto,

Greetings from the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the level of service extended by our associates. The venue located next to the wine cellar is the Best Brew which offers drinks and food snacks together with live entertainment.

During your next stay in any Starwood property, sign in as a Starwood Preferred Guest and enjoy more the benefits of fast online booking, access exclusive benefits and flexible reward. Discover just how rewarding membership can be. Enrolment is quick, easy and free.

Delighted to hear that you will be staying again with us. We look forward to seeing you at the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards
Syntio Camilleri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Selangor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Staff are really friendly, the view is really nice from the room. The room is really comfortable. Breakfast is okay, Infinity Pool is amazing with the view, we manage to see the sunset. The only thing is the lounge closed early. Nice interior.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor room. View Better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LavinPeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear LevinPeggy,

Greetings from the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us especially the friendly and helpful staff as well as the nice rooms. Your positive comments regarding the breakfast selection which included International and local dishes, in all a token of the kitchen team’s hard work and dedication. The infinity pool is well noted.

During your next stay in any Starwood property, sign in as a Starwood Preferred Guest and enjoy more the benefits of fast online booking, access exclusive benefits and flexible reward. Discover just how rewarding membership can be. Enrolment is quick, easy and free.

On behalf of the team, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards
Syntio Camilleri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antwerp
Level Contributor
115 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed 2 nights. Very nice room, nice hotel, location at the waterfront very good. Had a room on the 23rd floor with an excellent view. However experienced quite a number of annoying things. At check in were given 2 electronic cards. One to make the elevator go to your floor. However this worked only on and off. One card was to make electric in the room work. However this one did not work at all. An engineer was needed to come and give a proper card. One card was to open the door. However, on occasion this did not work any more for reasons unknown and had to go to reception again for a reboot.
Restaurant on 13th floor. Very nice, friendly staff however to order something to drink was a timeconsuming affair. Some people were directed to go downstairs to the bar to order their drinks and have them brought up to the restaurant.
Food at dinner time was of good quality. However this was buffet style and heating under the plates was by far insufficient with result that food was lukewarm at best and cold most of the time. Breakfast at same restaurant was equally dissapointing. Plates were empty, counters bare at 8am. Replenishment was done in a very amateurish way or not at all. The egg station was manned by one lonely cook with a line of 10 guests waiting.
We were with a group, and unfortunately I was not the only one to experience all these mishaps.
Staff is friendly, all smiles but semingly hopelesly inexperienced or at least giving this impression.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francois d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Francois d,

Greetings from the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan.
Thank you for choosing Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan for your recent stay.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback regarding the hotel. All comments shall be looked into seriously especially regarding the key card experience as well as your meal experience, we will be emphasized this experience in our on-going training and development programs with the Food and beverage team. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost importance to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodation.

Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We appreciate your time and effort in providing feedback to us.

On behalf of the team, once again, I look forward to welcoming you back to the warmth and hospitality of the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan in the not too distant future.

Sincerely
Syntio Camilleri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

I must say that hotel facilities are modern and furnished with taste. Rooms and public areas in the hotel (swimming pool, dining area, lounge...) are nicely designed. Also breakfast was exquisite. But when it came to service and staff, we had many problems.
First of all, the woman at the reception desk was quite impolite. We booked for 3 beds in the room and at the check in the lady said that our room was prepared. But when we came to the room, there was no third bed. Also we paid for executive lounge, but receptionist informed us that only 2 people are allowed to enter the lounge. So every time we came near that place, she came straight to us and told us, that one is not allowed to enter (not even to sit inside). Next thing was, that we should get fresh fruit in the room every day, but that never happened. When we asked the reception why there is no fruit in our room, they said that they had changed it to cookies, but even though we only got them once. Also we prepaid the breakfast but still every morning, the staff informed us, that our rate didn’t include id, or they brought us the bill when we finished it. So every day we had to explain that we actually did prepay the breakfast, and after they checked, they apologized, but did they same thing the day after. On the top of everything when we came home and checked the receipt, we found out, that on the last day, they charged us additional bed twice. So all in all, hotel is really nice, but the whole experience was far from what we payed for.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NezaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear NezaS,

Greetings from the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the modern room and furnishings.

We will definitely look into your recommendations regarding the service offered during your stay as there seems to be a misunderstanding on the details of the purchased package. Rest assured that we strive on improving the guest experience.

Sign in as a Starwood Preferred Guest and enjoy more the benefits of fast online booking, access exclusive benefits and flexible reward. Discover just how rewarding membership can be. Enrolment is quick, easy and free.

On behalf of the team, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards
Syntio Camilleri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here for eight days at the start of a business trip. Sandakan was our first stop on a multi city tour. We weren't quite sure what to expect of hotels in this region of Sabah but on arrival we were treated in a friendly, professional and respectful manner.

Overall the hotel is very well located in the centre of town (it is also attached to a little shopping mall with a handy supermarket) and the views across the bay from the hotel (and 13th floor swimming pool) are absolutely stunning.

For the first couple of days the service was slightly sluggish and I was wondering if it would improve. There weren't enough loungers by the pool (oh yes it was a business trip!) and the staff were slow in reacting to the demand. However we worked out where the loungers were stored and just helped ourselves!! But after a couple of days this hotel (and its staff) really started to grow on me.

The executive club lounge was a real bonus and I would highly recommend it to anyone. All day you could just pop in for a soft drink, tea or coffee but 17.30-19.30 they served snacks and alcoholic drinks for free. Snacks were hot and cold and the drinks included cocktails.

Most of the other guests were tourists on excursions or tours and I would say that this hotel made a really good base/stop off for those people just passing through. We met quite a few (especially in the executive lounge at around 18.00!!) and they seemed happy to have found a clean, very modern respite for a couple of days.

Overall I have to say I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel and the staff went out of their way to make my wife and I really comfortable and welcome. I would like to say a special thank you to Siti Mariam Hassan and Elsie Boon who were outstanding in their warmth and welcome, they have a lot to be proud of.

To be honest Sandakan is a bit rough around the edges (I'm trying to be kind) but the Four Points hotel really stands out as a thoroughly modern, luxurious oasis in the middle of town. I wrote this review at the end of our trip because I wanted to compare this hotel with all the others on our stay and by far this hotel was our favourite.

It will be a pleasure to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wharfman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Wharfman,

Greetings from the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan.

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment about your experience. We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay. The hotel’s strategic location on the harbour front extends spectacular unobstructed views of the Sulu Sea from all of our guest rooms, meeting rooms, ballroom and the All Day dining restaurant. The infinity pool is indeed a key attraction. As rightly stated the executive lounge is worth its value. We thanks you for your comment regarding the pool area and will indeed look into improving the service there.

Thank you once again for the praise and feedback. On behalf of the team, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards
Syntio Camilleri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newhaven UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed here in May with my Wife. We loved it. Stayed in another Hotel there for the first 2 days of our trip. It was nowhere near as luxurious as the Four Points and cost as much. Staff were great and the room was lovely with some really nice touches. The hotel is quite new and it feels it. Sandakan itself is a grubby old town so its nice to be able to return to the comfort of the hotel to chill out. We paid a small amount extra for executive class and it was worth it. Had a whole bottle of wine on the first night in the Executive lounge which is part of the package. Lots of little sandwiches and other treats. Lounge is open from about 4.30pm. Great place to do your trips from (river cruise, Proboscis and Orang-utan Sanctuaries). Anyway the Four Points is the only Hotel to stay at in my opinion. If this was in KL or Penang you would be paying more like £120 per night.
Turn right outside main entrance for riverside eateries. Watch out beer such as Tiger can be expensive but the 3rd restaurant along sells it for 8RM a bottle. Town itself has few decent eateries. Shop around for boat and sanctuary excursions. We got ours at half the price of our first quote.

Room Tip: Book an Executive room. Pay the extra you wont regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0hnnyd57uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear J0hnnyd57uk,

Thank you for staying at the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan.

We are delighted to hear that overall you did have an enjoyable stay especially the executive lounge offer.

Thank you once again for the praise and feedback. On behalf of the team, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards
Syntio Camilleri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
0.8 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
11.9 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
11.9 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#7 of 32 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#5 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
1.9 mi away
Borneo Cove Hotel
Borneo Cove Hotel
#14 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.0 mi away
S'kan Styles Hotel
S'kan Styles Hotel
#6 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
Address: Sandakan Harbour Square, Sandakan 900000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan is right on a scenic waterfront pedestrian promenade overlooking the Sulu Sea, part of the Sandakan Harbour Square, which offers an indoor marketplace and retail shopping mall within the new Sandakan CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Sandakan Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing