We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pity about the overall service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Sandakan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Hotel is clean and modern with superb outlook but service sadly lacking in many areas commencing with airport pickup staff. To be told car is this way. your plane was late (as if we didn't know!) and no effort at all to take either of our small bags. Bar and Restaurant service almost non-existent removing dirty plates, bringing drinks. providing s&p. One exception is the barman in Best Brew. Thank you! Even Wrapped gift shop staff had problems providing prices. Two ph calls to finally obtain milk for tea in room. Room cleaners however do an excellent job. Not sure whether we will stop here next trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neveragain912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Neveragain912,

Greetings from the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan.

Thank you for choosing Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan for your recent stay.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback regarding the hotel. All comments shall be looked into seriously especially regarding the service your experienced in the signature restaurant. We will be emphasized this experience in our on-going training and development programs with the respective teams. Guest satisfaction is of utmost importance to us and we are committed to improving the guest experience.

Thank you again for sharing your positive comments regarding the room attendants.

We appreciate your time and effort in providing feedback to us.

On behalf of the team, once again, I look forward to welcoming you back to the warmth and hospitality of the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan in the not too distant future.

Sincerely
Syntio Camilleri
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

921 - 927 of 1,258 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

I was there on 10 till 12 august 2013 with some of my friends and family checking 5 rooms in total.
Special thanks to Haeruddin, Stella, Nurhiqmah from Front office for always smiling and always helping us with our request and also to sally from housekeeping. Thank you so much for making our stay so memorable and special.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZackDportgas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear ZachDportgas,

Warmest greetings from the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan.

Thank you for your loyalty to The Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan and for this positive feedback regarding our associates especially Haeruddin, Stella, Nurhiqmah as well as Sally.

We definitely look forward to welcoming you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan.

Warmest greetings

Syntio Camilleri
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed here for four nights to visit the Orang Utan centre, Labuk Bay and Sandakan. Hotel is modern (and stands out amongst the low rise buildings of central Sandakan) and has everything you need for comfortable stay. Staff were really friendly and helpful throughout and great at arranging transport when required. I was there during Hari Raya, but the restaurant buffet was excellent and good value. Rooms are a good size with views over the bay and ocean and well fitted out - the in room wifi can be very slow at busy times - and the bathroom has a good size walk in shower. Be warned that the walls are pretty thin and I could hear conversations from the occupants of the rooms either side of me throughout the stay and the rooms sometimes don't get cleaned until mid/late afternoon. The rooftop pool is great and overlooks the town and has good opening hours so you can swim early in the morning or in the late evening. Location wise you couldn't be more central for Sandakan. Overall I had a great stay here and can definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms get the sunrise in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickworld08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Nichworld08,

Greetings from the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our rooms to be comfortable and our associates to be friendly and helpful.

We thank you for your positive comments regarding the restaurant buffet.

During your next stay in any Starwood property, sign in as a Starwood Preferred Guest and enjoy more the benefits of fast online booking, access exclusive benefits and flexible reward. Discover just how rewarding membership can be. Enrolment is quick, easy and free.

On behalf of the team, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards
Syntio Camilleri
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed here for just one night in July 2013. Our room was spacious enough for a family of 4 with comfortable beds and a spotless ensuite. Only 3 towels provided but that was no great problem.

Breakfast was fairly expensive for the quality of food provided. And the service certainly wasn't provided with a smile.

The infinity pool was small but lovely and was open late, meaning we could swim in the dark with a beautiful view of the town below.

The situation is perfect, overlooking the harbour and close to restaurants, shops etc.

Sandakan is a busy working town but interesting to see. The food/fish market opposite the hotel was a brilliant location to while away an hour or so.

The hotel, being new, lacked any real atmosphere and was extremely quiet when we were there.

If looking for a clean, comfortable place to lay your head in Sandakan, this is it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Where-now-guys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Where-now-guys,

Greetings from the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan. We are delighted to hear that you found our rooms to be spacious and clean.

As you rightly mentioned our infinity pool offers exceptional views.

During your next stay in any Starwood property, sign in as a Starwood Preferred Guest and enjoy more the benefits of fast online booking, access exclusive benefits and flexible reward. Discover just how rewarding membership can be. Enrolment is quick, easy and free.

On behalf of the team, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards
Syntio Camilleri
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Had 4 nights here. Good hotel, excellent and very reasonably priced buffet for breakfasts and dinners.
Our room was adequate for 2 for 4 nights. Beatiful view over Sandakan harbour.

The pool area needs supervision and a non smoking area.
We enjoyed our stay and can recommend this hotel.
We did email SPG / Sheraton some suggestions after we left which they hanvt bothered to answer and thats a little dissapointing.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Max R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Max R,

Greetings from the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the hotel. It gives us great pleasure to hear that you found our breakfast and dinner to be reasonably priced.

Thanks for the comment regarding the pool area and the non smoking area, we will implement further supervision for this area.

Apologises for not reverting back to you regarding the suggestions, I would appreciate if you kindly share these comments with me at Syntio.camilleri@fourpoints.com.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards
Syntio Camilleri
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

I love everythings of this hotel, it's was great n comfortable bed, but I could not stand for the way to the parking place,it was too "round "...I felt dizzy when I reach my parking place n annoying.

The swimming pool was good, can swim with nice view...

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeschin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Sk jeschin 121,

Greetings from the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan. We are delighted to hear that you loved the hotel and the comfortable bed.

During your next stay in any Starwood property, sign in as a Starwood Preferred Guest and enjoy more the benefits of fast online booking, access exclusive benefits and flexible reward. Discover just how rewarding membership can be. Enrolment is quick, easy and free.

We look forward to seeing you at the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards

Syntio Camilleri
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We only stayed here one night and it was a mixed experience. The room was comfortable and clean. The restaurant let the hotel down. Yes it was Ramadan so the restaurant was busy. However, we felt the 'westerners' including ourselves were all seated in a far corner were the service was slow. This area of the restaurant lacked any ambience, in fact we thought we were back in the school dinning room! Not wanting a huge meal we ordered from the menu, unfortunately one of the meals wasn't cooked and too their credit they offered a free meal from the buffet.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank AliDUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear AliDUk,

Greetings from the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan. We are delighted to hear that you found the room to be comfortable and clean.

We will look into improving the overall restaurant experience through further development and training.

On behalf of the team, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards

Syntio Camilleri
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
0.8 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 33 in Sandakan
544 reviews
11.9 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#4 of 33 in Sandakan
657 reviews
11.9 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Borneo Cove Hotel
Borneo Cove Hotel
#21 of 33 in Sandakan
64 reviews
0.2 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#8 of 33 in Sandakan
326 reviews
0 mi away
The Mark's Lodge
The Mark's Lodge
#7 of 33 in Sandakan
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan

Address: Sandakan Harbour Square, Sandakan 900000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range: $53 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan is right on a scenic waterfront pedestrian promenade overlooking the Sulu Sea, part of the Sandakan Harbour Square, which offers an indoor marketplace and retail shopping mall within the new Sandakan CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Sandakan Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing