We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brand new, great views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Certificate of Excellence
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Brand new, great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

During our 10-day trip to Borneo, we decided to stay at the Four Points for 2 days to visit the near by orangutan sanctuaries and rainforest reserves. The hotel itself feels brand new, located right near the water, great views and large open spaces. There's also a rooftop infinity swimming pool that offers gorgeous views at well.

Given the reasonable prices, this place was a steal especially since the rooms were nicely decorated and spacious. The pool area was nice, but needed some more chairs as they filled up quickly and the gym was unbearably HOT. We tried telling the hotel maintenance, and they tried to fix it but in the end we could barely breathe in the stifling room. We didn't try the hotel restaurants, but we did give room service a chance and it was pretty yummy.

Overall, a great hotel if you need a central area to come home to after all the nature-y stuff you'll be doing during the day. You will definitely appreciate a plunge in the pool and a nice bed after sweating in the rainforest all day :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iluvbunbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Iluvbunbi,

Warm greetings from the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan. Thank you for your loyalty to the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan for this positive feedback about your experience. It’s wonderful to know that you enjoyed the spacious rooms and the gorgeous views of the infinity pool.

Furthermore, thank you for highlighting the hot temperature in the fitness centre, we will address this accordingly.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan on your future visits.

Best regards

Syntio Camilleri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    454
    113
    18
    15
See reviews for
223
491
65
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

My wife, 2 children and myself are currently staying here and we love it.
Great welcome at reception, awesome water views from our rooms1917 & 1919, attentive staff and great bar, gym and eternity pool.

How can you not love this place and great value to boot!

Sepilok and Probiscus sanctuary 1/2 hr away ( go to Sandakan Hotel for 0930am trip, 15RM each way per person for a great day)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ozzyhammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Ozzyhammer,

Greetings from the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan. Thank you for your loyalty to The Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan and for this positive feedback about your experience. It’s wonderful to know that you and the family enjoyed it all namely the great welcome at reception, the awesome water views from your rooms, the attentive staff and great bar, gym and eternity pool.

Sign in as a Starwood Preferred Guest and enjoy more the benefits of fast online booking, access exclusive benefits and flexible reward. Discover just how rewarding membership can be. Enrolment is quick, easy and free.

Looking forward to welcoming you and the family back to the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan.

Warmest greetings

Syntio Camilleri
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuantan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stay in this hotel for 4 nights with my 2 kids and mother-in-law in a sea-view deluxe room. The location of this hotel is right at the town centre. Attached with the hotel building is a shopping complex. The room is very spacious and clean. The view from the room is fantastic. We didn't include breakfast in the hotel booking as we plan to try the local food along the stay. Further Mcdonal is available within one minute walk at the shopping complex attached. The swimming pool is very nice and big. From my room, I can enjoy the pool view as well as sea view.
2 negative comment will be the smell from the sea and/or from the nearby market at the entrance. Another one is the car park is not so convenient. Both are not controllable by the Hotel (I think).

Room Tip: Choose the sea view room to enjoy the nice sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ngengkiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Ngengkiang9,

Warm greetings from The Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan. Thank you for your loyalty to the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan and for the positive feedback about your experience. It’s wonderful to know that you, your family and your in laws enjoyed the spectacular views from the room as well as the clean room and its setting.

As shared, the Sandakan Harbour mall is the leading shopping mall in Sandakan and is located adjacent to the hotel.

We definitely look forward to welcoming you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan on your future visits.

Best regards

Syntio Camilleri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Great comfortable Beds, more importantly great pillows for a good sleep. Nice Pool on the 7th floor. Totally great views of the Sea from the rooms. Coffee shop was a bit sad with the hostess and the manageress not speaking great english and even being rude. So folks eat out but sleep here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devasar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Devasar,

Greetings from the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan. Thank you very much for taking the time to comment about your experience. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our pillows and the comfortable beds. As highlighted, the view from our infinity pool is a sight to behold.

Thank you for highlighting your experience on the coffee shop and we will look into improving the communication skills in this venue.

On behalf of the team, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards

Syntio Camilleri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed there for one night - a modern hotel but nicely done. Rooms are well decorated with nice furniture. Few nice touches - black and white photos of old Sandakan.

Hotel is spotless throughout, staff were very efficient. We got a good room rate online.

Location is right on the water front in the centre of the town - very easy walking to shops and restaurants in the town.

Nice infinity pool overlooking the harbour.

Can't speak for the restaurants or bar as we used neither during our one night there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonM_and_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear LondonM_and_l ,

Warm greetings from The Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan.

Thank you for your loyalty to the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan for this positive feedback about your experience. It’s wonderful to know that you enjoyed the modern rooms as well as waterfront location and central town location. Furthermore, thank you for highlighting the high standards of cleanliness and the efficient associates.

Sign in as a Starwood Preferred Guest and enjoy more the benefits of fast online booking, access exclusive benefits and flexible reward. Discover just how rewarding membership can be. Enrolment is quick, easy and free.

We definitely look forward to welcoming you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan on your future visits.

Best regards
Syntio Camilleri

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We turned up very early (9am) yet they allowed us to check in early at no extra cost. The room was well appointed and the bed very comfortable. Bathroom was spotless and the shower was roomy.

Right in the center of Sandakan, this hotel is the perfect base for your exploration of north eastern Borneo. There's a great shopping mall next door with chemist, McDonalds, supermarket, etc. - very handy. It's also next to the seaside restaurants if you was some traditional food (but don't sit right next to the water at these restaurants as all you will see are copious cockroaches, rats and cats!)

The best part of the hotel is the pool - it's on the 12th? floor and the view is absolutely spectacular. Although there's a restaurant/bar there too it can take a while to get a drink after you order (if they even have what is on their drink menu - ran out of most beers!)

All the rooms are on high floors (14th floor or higher) and the views are incredible whichever way you are facing.

The staff at reception were so very nice and always gave great advice for sightseeing, etc. They organized cabs for us and really made us feel very welcome. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Tom M,

Thank you for selecting the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan for your stay in Sandakan. We are glad to hear for you enjoyed the well-appointed room with its comfortable bed and roomy shower.
Indeed, the infinity pool is a key attraction. The hotel is adjacent to the Sandakan Harbour mall which is Sandakan leading shopping mall.

It’s wonderful to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan on your future visits.

Best regards

Syntio Camilleri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

This hotel could be so much better! View for all windows amazing, central location, but staff cold and unfriendly. Check in very slow, took over 20mins for one guest, No water by the pool or in the gym, well not for the four days we were there, house keeping needs to improve failed to replenish toliet paper tea etc,made the beds . The staff could try to smile and greet guests in a friendly manner. This was deffinately our least favourite hotel of the three we visited in Malaysia, would we stay again ? Probably not.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThaiSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear ThaiSydney,
Greetings from the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan.

We will definitely look into your recommendations regarding your experience. We will look into these areas critically as implement training programs to address these issues accordingly.

Sign in as a Starwood Preferred Guest and enjoy more the benefits of fast online booking, access exclusive benefits and flexible reward. Discover just how rewarding membership can be. Enrolment is quick, easy and free.

On behalf of the team, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards
Syntio Camilleri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
0.8 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
11.9 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
11.9 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#6 of 32 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#4 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
1.9 mi away
Borneo Cove Hotel
Borneo Cove Hotel
#14 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.0 mi away
S'kan Styles Hotel
S'kan Styles Hotel
#7 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
Address: Sandakan Harbour Square, Sandakan 900000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan is right on a scenic waterfront pedestrian promenade overlooking the Sulu Sea, part of the Sandakan Harbour Square, which offers an indoor marketplace and retail shopping mall within the new Sandakan CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Sandakan Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing