We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel - wrong location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Sandakan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This hotel is a lovely modern hotel planted in the middle of a working fishing town, its just in the wrong place! Notihng wrong with the hotel for those passing through, if you want to go to Sepilok to see the Orangutangs, continue on to the Turtle Islands or visit the Agnes Keith house and tea garden thats about it, a day at most would cover the area. The town is busy, nothing fancy, it has history from the wars but can be intimidating especially at night.
A typical 5 star Sheraton with excellent facilities, parking (to pay), pool, lovely restaurant which we used, infinity pool, business centre. There was a nice bar in the hotel with cigar lounge which was quite upmarket. The staff were friendly and helpful, our room overlooked the bay and was clean and modern. There is a shopping mall linked to the back of the hotel which has just opened and only half the shops are open. Wifi was available everywhere.

Again, a lovely hotel but there was not much to do in the area even with a car to travel around as we did.

Room Tip: If you area scared of heights don't get a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nile_Geordies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Nile _Geordies,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan. We appreciate your positive comments about the friendly service you received during your stay and about our hotel facilities. We thank you for sharing your experience with us and we are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Sincerely


Syntio Camilleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,056 - 1,062 of 1,232 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

This hotel is quite stunning from the outside but the people on the inside are what make this hotel just amazing. The staff are what make this hotel ....it is not yet finished completely but all the necessary facilities for tourists are there......pool, clean rooms with comfy beds, restaurants and cafe areas all open. Apparently there was construction going on during our 3 night stay there recently for Sandakan Memorial Day. It did not disturb our peaceful stay there in the slightest. We met the GM and the head of Housekeeping during our stay.....both apologized for the construction which in my opinion was unnecessary but very nice.
The restaurant "the Eatery" was incredible.... We experienced both breakfast and dinner there....the sheer range of cuisines available astonished us....the individual chefs who made the pasta, or the noodles, or the omelettes, or the roti...(the list goes on) ...were friendly and so helpful...allowing us to experience foods we had never tried before.....the wait staff were plentiful and attentive....sometimes a little slow at bringing drinks...however we excused this because the hotel was new, and we were there during the last 5 days of Ramadan. The only negative would be that it was a little noisy at dinner time.........
I stayed there as part of a group tour but was travelling with my 87 year old father in law, 21 year old niece and 10 year old son.......this hotel had no trouble meeting all of our needs. Everybody we met there smiled.....you can't go past a smile for making you feel welcome, special and at ease.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3Parker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Dear 3Parker,
Greetings from the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan. We are delighted to hear that you had a most enjoyable stay with us. We are delighted to hear that all hotel venues exceeded your expectations. We are also very proud that you appreciated the vast selection of our breakfast and dinner buffets. Thank you for highlighting the smiling staff. On behalf of the team, we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards


Syntio Camilleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed for three nights and all things considered and bearing in mind there probably isn't too much competition, then this place will do fine.

The room was clean, spacious and relaxing. Albeit there were a few very minor problems with a dirty towel and trying to work out the aircon. The staff are very friendly and genuine enough. I would certainly think you would have no complaints there.

Breakfast was a buffet, always open to medicrity anywhere in the world but on the whole, it was good. A fair amount of fresh stuff combined with left-overs from the night before.

The only thing you might want to be wary of is the fact that seeing as there is little competition, there were an awful lot of people on one of the days there and it made things challenging shall we say when a lot of those people are used to getting their own way shall we say. Not the hotel's fault, but I would not mark this down for cosy romantic break.

I would be unlikely to go to Sandakan the town itself, but if I had to then I would stay here. If, like us, you were going for the wildlife/eco-tourism then maybe look for places close to the noted places of interest. I thought Sandakan a drab place, not much to see or do but shake your head at the very sad sight of rubbish disguarded into the bay and on the streets. Who ever runs this town really needs to wise up to the fact that westerners at least are comign for the eco-tourism and seeing lots of people tossing cans and food cartons everywhere but a bin is a sad sight indeed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoftusroadW12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Dear LotfusroadW12,

Warmest greetings from the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan. Thank you for staying at the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan. We are delighted to know you appreciated our clean and spacious rooms. With regards to the food, rest assured that we use and offer only the freshest of products in our kitchens. Thank you for highlighting the quality service performed by our friendly and helpful staff, they are always the most valuable asset of our hotel. We definitely look forward to welcoming you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan.

Warmest greetings

Syntio Camilleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here for a little r'n'r after a trip to the jungle and boy were we spoilt! The hotel is new so everything about the building and rooms was perfect, luxurious and extremely comfortable. The service provided by all staff was efficient, friendly and faultless. Our room had a beautiful view of the sea and infinity pool. The buffet breakfast is probably the best that I have ever encountered anywhere - the variety and quality of the food and waiter service was amazing. Room service and the hotel restaurant was great and not too expensive either. Definitely the best place to stay in Sandakan!!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a sea view if you can - it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MegsyMelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Dear Megsy Melon,
Greetings from the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan. We are delighted to hear that you had a most enjoyable stay at our new hotel. We are happy to hear that you found our rooms to have a beautiful view, luxurious and extremely comfortable feel. Thank you for highlighting our associates who offered efficient and friendly service. Your appreciation for our excellent buffet breakfast offer is well received and we will continue to strive along these standards. On behalf of the team, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan.
Warmest regards
Syntio Camilleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Driving up to car park is a nightmare. You sure get your car scratch if less concentration. After safely arrived & parked our car at 5th floor, we spend some time again seeking high & low to find the correct lift going to 13th floor "the eatery" from 5th floor due to lack of proper signage. Since it is our 1st visit, we are tying to see if we're getting on the correct lift, suddenly a gentlemen behind me with a unpatient attitude overtake us & went in the lift without hesitation as if he's in a hurry. We then realise he is a staff there after we noticed he's wearing a name tag. He went out on the 12th floor without a word of greetings, smile or even saying "excuse me". We are quite surprised of the staff attitude as if we are not treated as guest. At the "the eatery", we were sitting near the exit to the Pool. The is no proper signage informing guest the pool is closed nor the door lock at 9pm. We've seen many guest including ourselves has been politely verbally inform the pool is closed when we were outside trying to capture the so call breathtaking sea view. We were not even 30 feet near the pool & all we want is too see the view. We & other guest were somehow irritated and feel humiliated. After dinner, we had trouble looking for the Auto Pay Machine to pay our parking ticket. Again, lack of proper signage, misleading & not convenient at all to pay a parking ticket. Overall is "A very Nice hotel" & "Best hotel in Sandakan" but very with poor arrangement, inconvenient & bad impression given by the staff. Of all the Hotel we've visited, this is the first one we encounter such experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank KongHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Dear Kong HN,

Warmest greetings from The Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan. With reference to your comments regarding the car park we would like to share with you that this area is not run by the hotel. One may note, that this new car park facility offers a generous 950 parking spaces of much needed parking space in town. Your comments regarding the signage are noted. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan.
Warmest regards
Syntio Camilleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for a week and couldn't find any problems - although didn't search very hard.it is very clean, the cooked parts - 6-8 courses !- of the breakfast differ every day(miso soup is sooo delicious) and they even offered us a different room the night before they started drilling on the floor above us! The staff is working hard and they are very kind. The water in the pool is clean but is not full of chloride which is extremely rare, too.Go there before the prices get higher probably after the construction finishes!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Bendor119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Dear Bendor 199,
Greetings from the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan. We are delighted to hear that you had a relaxing and enjoyable week at the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan. We appreciate that you found our rooms to be nice, clean and cozy. Your positive comments regarding the buffet breakfast which offers a vast selection of International, Asian and Malaysian dishes are well noted. Thank you for highlighting the hard working and kind staff who are our most valuable asset. On behalf of the team, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan in the not too distant future.
Warmest regards


Syntio Camilleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Found out about this hotel at the last minute, and glad I took the chance. Breathtaking view of the Sulu sea. The internet is currently free, both wired and wifi. Very near to the Harbour Mall and Harbour Square so location is quite happening. Gym is available 24hrs, but no sauna or jacuzzi though. Tv channels have enough to keep me entertained, as the town sleeps early.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radenputra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsSandakan, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Dear Radenputra,
Warmest greetings from the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan. Thank you for your loyalty to The Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan and for this positive feedback about your experience. It is wonderful to know that you appreciated the free internet for wifi and wired. As mentioned we are located in the center of the town and within the Sandakan Harbor Square. Furthermore, thank you for highlighting our well- equipped gym which is open 24 hours a day. We definitely look forward to welcoming you back to the Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan.

Warmest greetings


Syntio Camilleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
0.8 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 33 in Sandakan
539 reviews
11.9 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
664 reviews
11.9 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#5 of 33 in Sandakan
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#8 of 33 in Sandakan
325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sandakan
Hotel Sandakan
#11 of 33 in Sandakan
120 reviews
1.9 mi away
Borneo Cove Hotel
Borneo Cove Hotel
#21 of 33 in Sandakan
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan

Address: Sandakan Harbour Square, Sandakan 900000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range: $50 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan is right on a scenic waterfront pedestrian promenade overlooking the Sulu Sea, part of the Sandakan Harbour Square, which offers an indoor marketplace and retail shopping mall within the new Sandakan CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Sandakan Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing