We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to Nature”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Borneo Nature Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Malaysia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Back to Nature”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed for two nights during Nov 2012, the staff were very attentive and friendly. They greeted all guests every time they see them, played games together with the guests during free time, we felt nothing but like own home.
The chalets are basic wooden chalet with basic amenities, to support the eco-friendly concept, they have a list of hours where you are advised not to use the air-conditioning, or water heater, etc... There is no TV in the room, if you need to watch any movies or news, there is one at the lobby.
Their meals were perfect, not much choices during the dinners but it's like home cook. You are having the pure Borneo food at this place. We miss the fried banana 'pisang goreng' a lot, one of the best we ever ate!
As you need to book tour and lodge as a package, I shall just leave my review on the tour and guide here too. Our guide was very good and experience, during our cruise tour, he brought a professional binocular, together with a book of world birds spices along and explained every bird we found during the tour. We enjoy our evening boat trip in the rain too!

Room Tip: bring your own entertainment if you are not a really a nature lover, as there are no tv in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lugosi915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cesar e, Manager at Borneo Nature Lodge, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you so much for the compliments and glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay while at the lodge. It is true indeed we want you feel at home whenever you are at the lodge and thanks for the room tips which is very useful....never walk in the jungle with short pants.

Look forward to welcome and be at your service again at BNL in the near future, just keep in touch!

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    61
    16
    8
    0
See reviews for
30
101
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This hotel is the second hotel applying eco friend system. That's mean that they are using solar energy for all the electrical facilities. Here, providing all the necessarily service as per your city life. Think on now you are in the middle of the jungle. It will be good for your to enjoy and bring yourself into tropical wild life. Close to nature.

Room Tip: They only have 6 room available and each room is same. The only thing your need to consider is weath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cesar e, Manager at Borneo Nature Lodge, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for the positive comments here! It is true if city people wants to go back to nature and appreciate green, BNL is one of the place.

Just a correction BNL has 6 chalets with 12 rooms & one handicapped friendly room.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

A lovely lodge on the Kinabatangan River near Sukau, this was a great place for our first foray into the jungle. We stayed for three nights and were very pleased to have enough time to get in lots of river trips. Found it a thoroughly relaxing place to see inner Borneo. Staff were welcoming and helpful, food was great and very plentiful, rooms clean and comfy. Our guide Bennie was with us for the whole time, from airport pickup at Sandakan, for the 2-hour road transfer, staying at the Lodge itself, on every river trip and jungle trek, and back to the airport at the end – a truly wonderful service. She knew absolutely everything about the area, the wildlife, the plants, the history of the country and the story of the river. She could spot a snake on a tree from far off and knew all the birds and animals and where to find them. We could not have asked for a better leader and we missed her when it was time to go. We came from Singapore (and one from the UK) looking for as much wildlife as we could pack into a short space of time for my botanist father, and we needed the comfort of clean and dry lodgings for our eight-year-old son, and we got all we needed – would highly recommend the whole place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank l0nd0nm00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cesar e, Manager at Borneo Nature Lodge, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you so much for the compliments and glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at the lodge, enjoying the nature and the wildlife. Just for your info you have the guide Bennie which is one of the most senior guide here in Sandakan and will extend to her your gratitude.

Look forward to be in your service again in the near future, just keep in touch!

Cheers....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were a party of six. All of us agreed that this lodge deserves more stars than two. Neil and his staff provide a relaxed, warm and caring atmosphere with plenty of smiles thrown in!
The cabins are air conditioned and the beds clean and comfortable. Our guide, Noorin was a font of information not only on the wild life but also on the history of Borneo. He was able to identify all of the dozens of birds we saw.
Our meals were diverse and delicious.
If you want to have the experience of a lifetime, check in for a 2 or 3 night stay in this lodge.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penelope C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cesar e, Manager at Borneo Nature Lodge, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you very much for the compliment and glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at the lodge. Hope that you have seen most of the wildlife that you were looking for.

Look forward to welcome you again to Borneo, just keep in touch!

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borehamwood, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here in April 2013 as part of our honeymoon trip, and we were made to feel extremely welcome by all staff at the lodge who were very friendly and helpful. The food was great and for a 2 star resort, the rooms were lovely and comfortable! If you are looking for a hidden gem along the river, then look no further than the Borneo Nature Lodge!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattandAmyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cesar e, Manager at Borneo Nature Lodge, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for the compliment and congratulation again for your honeymoon. Glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and experienced your honeymoon in the jungle.

Keep in touch!

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had the opportunity to go to Borneo Nature Lodge in the end of january (low season) and have the lodge entirely to our-selves. The staff, the management, the river trips, the animals, the guide. Everything was just great.

Prior to visiting we had our doubts since the price was really high, but now, afterwards, we really see it as a bargain.

The eco-friendly direction of the lodge is also great and we cycled to make our stay eco-neutral. The noise from the animals during the night was fantastic and all the interesting animals we saw during our trips (as well as while at the lodge) was just fantastic.

Our guide also took some fights on the river with other lodges that did not respect the privacy of the animals. Impressive and rarely seen in these areas.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stenbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cesar e, Manager at Borneo Nature Lodge, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you so much for the compliments and glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at the lodge. Look forward to welcome you again, just keep in touch!

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here on 27-28 Feb 2013 and it was an unforgettable experience! Our guide, Glen, 'The Mad Buddha' to his friends was very funny, knowledgeable and amiable. The lodge had a relaxing atmosphere, the staff were lovely and we had a sound sleep. The river animals are amazing! Cannot recommend this place enough! Would love to go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisCura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cesar e, Manager at Borneo Nature Lodge, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you so much for the compliments and glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at the lodge. Look forward to welcome you again, just keep in touch!

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
26.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
34.5 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#5 of 32 in Sandakan
614 reviews
5.4 mi away
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
#6 of 29 in Sandakan
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Kinabatangan Jungle Camp
5.1 mi away
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
#2 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
252 reviews
5.5 mi away
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resort
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resor...
#3 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borneo Nature Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Nature Lodge

Property: Borneo Nature Lodge
Address: No. 41 Block 3, 1st Floor, Prima Square, Phase 1, Mile 4, North Road, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Borneo Nature Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An eco-friendly lodge nestled along the riverbank of Kinabatangan river the longest and biggest river in Sabah.The Lower Kinabatangan is one of Sabah's most splendid natural treasures and the richest concentration of wildlife in South East Asia. The lodge has 12 rooms with an additional twin-sharing handicapped friendly room equipped with air-condition and attached bathroom. Appreciate the "Green" details practise by the lodge where at night all electrical items run on solar power. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Borneo Nature Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borneo Nature Lodge Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing