We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic eco friendly place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Borneo Nature Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Loved staying here, the staff were very friendly and the rooms were lovely. I also loved the ethics of the place - very eco friendly. Brilliantly located too, right on the Kinabatangan River, Sukau. Wonderful!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hach123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cesar e, Manager at Borneo Nature Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Hi there,

Greetings from Borneo!

Thank you so much for the positive comments and glad you have enjoyed your stay. My apology though for the late response.

Look forward to welcome you again or your friends in the future at Borneo Nature Lodge! Just keep in touch!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
There are newer reviews for Borneo Nature Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 189 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed at the lodge for 3 days and 2 nights and we cannot recommend it highly enough.

We were a little apprehensive before arriving as the lodge was relatively new, cheaper than many other lodges offering a similar package and there were not many reviews of it. However, I need not have worried at all!

The lodge itself is really pretty. There are a handful of individual wooden chalets at the end of elevated boardwalks (approx. 6) divided into 2 rooms. Each chalet has a veranda, is very clean and spacious and has hot water and air conditioning during the day. The room stayed cool so it was not a problem that there was no air-conditioning at night. In fact, I slept like a log the whole time I was there.

The lodge provides you with 3 meals a day and a snack at teatime. All food is served in a lovely (air-conditioned) restaurant with glass walls so you still feel surrounded by nature. The food was really excellent. Lunch and dinner were 3 course affairs and were really delicious (mix of Western and Malaysian food). Alcohol was not included in the price and was rather expensive (although in our experience this was the case across Sabah and was not limited to the lodge).

The staff and the guides were incredibly friendly. They really made a huge difference. You could see that all the guests (there were 8 people when we were there) were very happy and relaxed. The tours provided were also excellent. In our package we did 3 river cruises, a short-ish jungle walk and we visited the caves. We had an excellent guide (Ken) who was truly passionate about the wildlife and was very entertaining. In addition to transfers to/from Sandakan, our package also included Sepilok admission (excellent) a city tour of Sandakan (also excellent - far more interesting than we expected) and a lunch at the English Tea House (beautiful and delicious).

Finally, in my experience I found that organising our trip with the lodge was really straight forward. My emails (to Sam Emma) were always answered promptly and everything was very efficient. In contrast I had emailed a number of other lodges and either received no reply or late replies.

We could not find fault with this lodge and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charly333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cesar e, Manager at Borneo Nature Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Hi there,

Greetings from Borneo! Thank you so much for your comment and glad you enjoyed your stay. My apology for the delay response here.

Look forward to welcome you again and your friends at Borneo Nature Lodge! Just keep in touch with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Few month ago, we had organized a trip to sukau and staying overnight in Borneo Nature Lodge. This place was very nice with green surrounding, peaceful and memorable. We had our nice breakfast, lunch and dinner. The staff who serve us are also friendly. At evening we had our BBQ activity. We eat some grilled fishes and chickens. Rooms are nice also. One thing that i can't forget, everybody has to wear "sarong" and i like it. This is show their real malay culture in this area. We are really satisfied with our trip. Wish that we could stay here for the another trip. Keep up the good services, cleanliness and friendly staff. All the best..

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geolice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cesar e, Manager at Borneo Nature Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Hi there,

Thank you so much for the good comment and my apology for the late response. Glad to hear that you could accustom wearing the "Sarong" as part of our programme at the lodge.

Look forward to welcome you again at Borneo Nature Lodge! Keep in touch!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Stayed for one night only during a simple tour of north Borneo. Wonderful arrival by boat, lovely comfortable chalets joined by boardwalks, surprisingly good food served by enthusiastic Along (I hope spelling correct), excellent evening wildlife cruise with two very very good guides (thanks to Salaam and Eagle-eyes), lovely afternoon tea - deep fried bananas with a spicey dip (yummy). Would love to return for slightly longer next time.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cesar e, Manager at Borneo Nature Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Hi there,

Sorry for the late response and thank you for the good comment and look forward to welcome you back to Borneo Nature Lodge in the near future! Just keep in touch!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tutu1877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank annasjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giulia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
26.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
34.5 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#5 of 32 in Sandakan
646 reviews
5.4 mi away
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
#8 of 29 in Sandakan
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sukau Greenview Bed & Breakfast
4.5 mi away
Kinabatangan Jungle Camp
5.1 mi away
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
#1 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borneo Nature Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Nature Lodge

Address: No. 41 Block 3, 1st Floor, Prima Square, Phase 1, Mile 4, North Road, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Sandakan
Price Range: $175 - $630 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Borneo Nature Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An eco-friendly lodge nestled along the riverbank of Kinabatangan river the longest and biggest river in Sabah.The Lower Kinabatangan is one of Sabah's most splendid natural treasures and the richest concentration of wildlife in South East Asia. The lodge has 12 rooms with an additional twin-sharing handicapped friendly room equipped with air-condition and attached bathroom. Appreciate the "Green" details practise by the lodge where at night all electrical items run on solar power. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Borneo Nature Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borneo Nature Lodge Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing