We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cockroaches and then some”

Gomantong Cave Sandakan
Ranked #7 of 30 things to do in Sandakan
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cockroaches and then some”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Gomatong Cave was a side trip on the way to Sukau. Our guide organised a "picnic lunch" at the visitors centre before heading on a short walk to the Cave. I don't think I've ever seen so many cockroaches and giganic centipedes in my life. May I suggest everyone that visits keeps their hands away from the guide rails. A torch is another handy thing to have. We were there 2 weeks before harvesting (mid February) but were able to hold and photograph a few nests kept in the harvesters quarters on-site. I found the visit to be interesting and worthwhile and was not put off by any "smell" - the caves in Indonesia smell much worse. The restroom in the carpark was well cared for and clean.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    168
    85
    30
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Worth a visit, just to see the biggest pile of bat poo you will ever see”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We visit Gomantong cave as part of a 3 day guided trip. You only really need to spend around an hour here, but it certainly worthwhile to see this huge cave, which is homes to thousands of bats and the famous edible birds nests. If you don't like seeing thousands of cockroaches and massive centipedes then I suggest you don't go!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank sarahanddarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“already seen lots of cockroaches and bats and at least one cave?”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

then simply don't waste your time - ... we visited only as a 10-minute side trip on our way to sukau, so that was fine, but we would be terribly disappointed had we travelled to the caves all the way from sandakan, as some had ...

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank potujem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane, australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“NOT AS SMELLY AS A CHICKEN FARM !”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Our guide had us thinking this was going to be a dreadfully smelly place but I guess it's all relative and we didn't find it too bad at all, and the caves are huge and a definite view. Ensure you wear covered clothes and shoes and maybe a cap and if you have to, maybe some menthol to sniff.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jusjuly07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Smelly but awesome...”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Ok so a cave politics are controversial, some say you seen one you've seen 'em all, right?! Wrong..

Have been to numerous caves, but they are all uniques and magnificent in their own way.
This was a oretty grand cave standing 90 meters high.

We got the trail walk on one of those "unlucky days" it seems all the reviews I had read experienced all the apes and anything worth seeing in a short 20 metre trail to the cave, however we were ok with that..

We did the trip as a day trip from Sepilok and combined it with the river cruise down in kombantangan.

The cave itself was smelly as expected (but it grows on you....and stays on you for that matter haha) the bats were really cool and the creepy crawlies. I was expecting the ground to be seething but it was quite mild. I was slightly disappoints not to see the nest harvesting as I had read a previous review saying you must go between feb and (can't remember) as they are harvesting the nests....due to this expectation I thought we would've in luck. But perhaps to a degree we should spend less time relying on other peoples expectations and opinions and go and experience things for ourselves! Still worth a visit in our opinion.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank MandM_Honeymooners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gomantong Cave Sandakan also viewed

 
Sandakan, Sandakan Division
 

Been to Gomantong Cave Sandakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing