We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Sandakan
Reviewed November 7, 2012

As most reviews have stated this hotel is located in a strange locality with industrial units and vacant shops surrounding it so if you were reviewing the area you would give it a definite negative as there is certainly no night life. The hotel itself is relatively new and they are still working on upgrading things so these are positives. It is clean, with spacious rooms and all have the basic amenities. Try to get a ground floor room if you do not want to go up and down stairs as the hotel does not have a lift. Prices for food and drinks were reasonable. The stand out for us was the excellent customer service. We have been lucky by being treated to some of the best service in the world at the Hanoi Ruby Elegance and this hotel probably reached the 75% mark especially in friendliness. We arrived at the hotel at about 9.30AM having arrived on an early flight and the front desk staff allowed us to check in and put our baggage in the room as we were going to have something to eat and then go on a tour. Nothing it seems was a problem. Taxis were easily organized from reception. Each time we returned to the hotel and sat in the lounge area either for a drink or just to relax we had one of the management staff come and make sure that every think was ok. I would probably stay here again just because it is unique and quirky.

Room Tip: choose a ground floor room if you dont like stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceejaybeeaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LloydGan, General Manager at Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear ceejaybeeaust,

First and foremost, the team at Best Western Sandakan would like to thank you for staying with us and providing us valuable feedback.

We consistently strive to provide a homely, relaxing environment for our guests and was pleasantly surprised about your knowledge regarding the upgrades that are ongoing in the Hotel. As you so rightly pointed out, we are a small unique hotel, tucked away from the hustle and bustle of town, perhaps with Sandakan's most spacious rooms.

For your information, the Hotel will be providing complimentary Two Way Shuttle services to predetermined areas in the near future as an added service for all our in house guests.

More importantly, we hope you enjoyed your stay with us and your vacation in Sandakan. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future, and if you require any further assistance, please never hesitate to contact us directly.

Once again, we thank you for your valuable feedback.

Best regards,

Lloyd Gan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 41 of 59 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a strange, semi-isolated, location tucked behind a few industrial shops and hawker stalls. The restaurant serves a small but good mixed menu of food and drinks and layout is modern, very comfortable and clean. The hotel rooms are spacious, clean, modern ad classy with comfy beds. The best thing about this hotel is the helpful friendly staff who go beyond their normal basic work duties to ensure comfort. The staff here sincerely want their guests to be happy an relaxed. The hotel manager was so kind to take my sick friend and I late at night to the doctors to get medicine. Couldnt have stayed at a better hotel in Sandakan. Service excellence !

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilliaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We chose this hotel as it was near to the airport and we new the brand best western. The rooms are clean enough, quite comfortable with a modern clean appearance.

The shower flooded due to poor drainage. Initially this is not a problem due the whole room being a wet room however the water level Continued to rise and would have flooded the bed room had we not turned it off.

The restaurant was very bad. It looks nice, new, clean and interesting, however, there are very few customers. They try to 'encourage' you to use the set menu instead of the menu they offer. We chose not to, and quickly found they have very few items from the menu available. This happened on the 2 separate occasions we stayed. They overcharged us (15 MR for something listed as 8MR), tax and 10% gratuity is also added.

Staff were quite friendly be did not have a good knowledge of their own menu. Apparently the wine had 'finished for the day?' (at 6pm). The food we had was ok but not worth the price.

Not what you might expect from a best western hotel. Looking good is fine but in the end quality of service is more important.

If you want a bed, close to the airport, then this place provides this. Any other reason look elsewhere.

If you do find yourself in sandakan the English Tea Room is a short taxi ride away. Great food, lovely garden, really nice staff. A little more expensive but definitely worth it

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craigbenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel after arriving in Sandakan late at night and prior to leaving early the next morning for a trip to the jungle. As many other reviewers have noted, the location is not ideal - kind of within an industrial area and away from the main city centre of Sandakan. In saying that, the hotel was perfect for our purposes. It is fairly new so the room and furnishings were great and very clean. We didn't try the restaurant so I can't comment on that but there was someone playing live music at one of the restaurants when we arrived. The breakfast was nice and the staff were extremely friendly. For the price I don't think you can go wrong at all. The Sandakan city centre is nothing to rave about so if you don't need to be located there I would definitely recommend this hotel as a great option.

Room Tip: The booking site stated that all rooms had a private balcony but as far as I could see none do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MegsyMelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The hotel seems very new, have big a comfortable bed, refrigerator, free-wifi, a multimedia TV, big and clean bath room (but no bath tube)

The services are very good, nice welcome drinks, the staff willing provide food separably even for a "breakfast late comer" like us.

However, the location is not good, only few restaurants around the area. Need wait and call taxi (MYR15 each way) to the city, better if the hotel could provide scheduled free shuttle (esp in dinner time).

Room Tip: Only few restaurant and shops around, if you like to have late supper, better prepare some drinks an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeithHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Had a great stay here for one night (before departing Sandakan).
Location: not in the heart of town but Sandakan isn't exactly a happening place so it was nice to have a clean place away from the crowds.
Room: Large room, big bed, relatively fast internet (wifi), bathroom large with rainshower (however, the drain was clogged so we couldn't use the rainshower as we would have flooded the room...
Staff: efficient and friendly
Restaurants: there are a couple of restaurants attached to the hotel as well as some satellite roti places. We avoided the hotel restaurant and found a great little roti place nearby. I'm sorry I can't remember the name of it but it was very tasty. Only one staff spoke English and he was extremely helpful and friendly. The roti was very good there.

Conclusion: great when you have a flight the next day and need a clean, reliable business hotel to freshen up in and catch up on emails after a few weeks of rainforest and/or scuba diving.

Room Tip: Maybe test the drain in the shower first to make sure it isn't clogged.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lost-in-Wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed in a deluxe room which includes a sitting area as well as bedroom with a flat screen TV which swivels between both. New hotel but located in a new industrial area containing service companies, mini markets and local restaurants. Most of the industial units are unoccupied and a taxi or hotel shuttle(RM12 per person each way) is required to get to town. Our review would be better except for a couple of annoying issues. Cons: The internet which operated via a wireless keyboard on the TV was almost useless. Three attempts by staff to fix were unsuccessful and due to frustration, we gave up. Breakfast first day was limited and juice was in fact, cordial. Second day arrived to find no breakfast set up and on enquiry, were told to order in the restaurant. Given a menu but then told we could only have cereal, toast and coffee, this despite paying for a full breakfast. Enquired when Tour Desk would be occupied and was told he would contact them which resulted in him putting them on the phone. A later call to obtain their phone number resulted the same. I was subsequently charged for both calls despite not asking for the calls. I refused to pay and eventually the charges were deleted.Shower drainage inadequate resulting in flooding unless carefully monitored. Pros: New hotel with very courteous staff for a reasonable rate. An independent restaurant located at the end of the hotel building was very busy with locals and the food ridiculously cheap and very tasty, cooked to order unlike the others nearby. Perhaps things will improve in time, but teething problems should have been sorted by now.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs, request ground floor as there are no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woolly-Bully63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandakan hotels
2.3 mi away
Hsiang Garden Hotel
Hsiang Garden Hotel
#12 of 33 in Sandakan
40 reviews
0 mi away
The Mark's Lodge
The Mark's Lodge
#7 of 33 in Sandakan
43 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sanbay Hotel
Sanbay Hotel
#11 of 33 in Sandakan
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Borneo Cove Hotel
Borneo Cove Hotel
#21 of 33 in Sandakan
64 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 33 in Sandakan
544 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel Sandakan
Hotel Sandakan
#8 of 33 in Sandakan
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan

Address: Lot E-1-G, Bandar Letat Jaya, Mile 4 Lorong 3, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sandakan Hotel & Residence)
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range: $25 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best WESTERN Sandakan Hotel and residence is now affiliated to RCI, THE only RCI hotel in Sabah. We have added 32 New hotel rooms and now we have a total of 80 rooms. We have mine 2 Bedrooms family apartment , 1 handicap Room, 1 honeymoon suite and 69 standard, superior and deluxe rooms.We have a new banquet hall capacity for 600 pax Fully air condition., suitable for marriage function, annual dinner, meetings , concert etc.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing