We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely homely place and great service at a fantastic price!”
Review of Rose Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rose Guesthouse
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Nice little place in happy bright colours where you feel really at home. There is free coffee, tea and drinking water, a communal fridge, a washing machine for laundry and a balcony which is great for sitting on in the evenings when its nice and cool outside.

Staff were really friendly and helpful and Rose (the owner) is amazing, she went the extra mile and more! and invited us to come along to celebrate hari raya with her! She took us to visit 5 malaysian families (her family and friends) who were celebrating the breaking of the fasting. Everywhere we went we got lovely traditional cookies, drinks and even plates full with different types of rice and meat dishes. And rose was always explaining different aspects of the festival, the food or the traditional dress. For us this was a truely amazing way to learn more about this festival, about the malaysian culture and to get a real insight on how people in malaysia live. Everyone was so friendly, we got a present and one family even got out their family photo albums for us to look at. A day like this beats any cultural tour or organised trip you can ever take.
Apparently rose always invites guests along when there are special celebrations or other specia events so she can give her guests the chance to really experience the malay culture. You can tell she really has a passifor the tourist business and will go to lengths to give her guests a good time.

A great place to stay and all that for just 40rm per night, for a double room incl breakfast!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Margie_U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandakan M, Owner at Rose Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Hi Margie
Thank you for your comment, im so happy that you are happy to stay with us and enjoy it. Me and all the staff sent their regards to you and hope to see you again

Thank you
Rose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
There are newer reviews for Rose Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 18 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2012

At first we went to Sandakan Harbour Square B&B to look for Rose, some traveler introduce as to her place. But then she is no longer at that place and someone bring as to her new place, just right in the middle of the City. Near to Banking, restaurant and not far from the bus station. The new place call Rose Guesthouse and we are happy to met her there and the place is very clean, i love the color, good rooms and helpful staff. We stay for 3 nights, had a good chat with the staff and rose too. We join her tour and i found out that her tour is not expensive though......

I fully recommend this place to all backpackers and travelers to stay at this place.

Room Tip: with aircon room is good
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank merryjason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

we were so tired and it was so late when we come to Rose Guesthouse. We took p/room with aircon, simple room but very....very clean and the staff are friendly. The next day i meet the manager there and she is very helpful, friendly and kind too, she help us to book a kinabatangan tour and we are very happy with it. We even meet the owner Rose, waouu.....she is really a great person, she know a lot and we were talking about many thing as she also like traveling. She is really have the experiance and acording to here she started B&B since 1997 and before she open her own guesthouse, she is the one that build Sandakan Harbour Square B&B with one of her partner but she sold her share since March 2011. I fully recomment this guesthouse to all travelers.

Room Tip: the room is very clean and the colour of the wall is cool..
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mkartinawati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

This is a simple guesthouse with rooms with A/C and with fans in downtown Sandakan. The owner Rose and her partners/employees are all really friendly and helpful, and the rates are extremely good. Rose also is contact for a travel agency that can book trips ti Sukau Greenview and other locations, and she is extremely helpful. As an example - I left my very expensive pair of binoculars in the back of the car used by one of her drivers to drop us off at the airport. Rose went so far as to track down the binoculars (a Swedish couple in the car had taken them back to their hotel), get a driver to bring them to me at the airport, and to show up herself to make sure that we didn't board the plane without them. She refused any sort of tip of compensation for her troubles. That's about as strong an endorsement for good character as I can give - I would definitely recommend staying at the guesthouse and going on their tours! (the guides are great).

Oh yes - they have tours not only of the Kinabatangan River, but also of the edible nest swiftlet caves and of the synchronous fireflies in the mangroves.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sericornis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: Das Beste an Rose´s Hostel waren die Leute. Von einem Freund, der vor vielen Jahren der erste Gast i...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brigitte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandakan hotels
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
0.9 mi away
Hsiang Garden Hotel
Hsiang Garden Hotel
#12 of 32 in Sandakan
40 reviews
0.4 mi away
Borneo Sandakan Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sandakan Backpackers Hostel
0.5 mi away
Harbourside Backpackers
Harbourside Backpackers
#9 of 29 in Sandakan
138 reviews
11.4 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#5 of 32 in Sandakan
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Guesthouse

Address: 3rd Avenue, Block 20 | 1st Floor conner, Lot 1A & B, Sandakan, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Sandakan
Price Range: $6 - $15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Rose Guesthouse Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing