We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful surrounds” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sepilok B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sepilok B&B
Ranked #2 of 20 Sandakan B&B and Inns
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful surrounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Very nice place to stay while in sepilok. Stayed in sunbird lodge with family, had king bed and bunk beds for kids. Very relaxing, good bathroom with bucket bath option which we loved. Basic but tasty breakfast with option to pay for other meals which were very good. Beautiful area, 100m to rainforest research centre. 15 minute walk to orang-utan and sunbear centres. Hornbills and woodpeckers feed here, took great photos of these just outside our room. Very nice staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MatthewJ78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    50
    18
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
44
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
259 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Nice B and B close to the rainforest discovery center. A short walk and you are in a beautiful rainforest with plenty of hiking trails and lots of birds. Pleasant rooms and nice settings. Breakfast was adequate as was dinner. WiFi in the cafe. The staff are all nice.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank updog247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
240 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

The area is lush and beautiful. Breakfast was average but sufficient. They messed up our bookings but things turned out fine. Rooms are spacious and clean. Good to stay if you want easy access to Sepilok and Uncle Tan.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nyx799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Best location for the Rainforest Discovery Centre (5 minutes walk down the road). It’s also an easy twenty minute walk to the Orangutan sanctuary, where there is another cluster of hotels. The B & B has a range of accommodations – we stayed in the least expensive First Lodge. It was bare bones, but clean. Nice, large open sitting area immediately outside. The free wi-fi is nice. Breakfast was inconsistent, but fine. Lunch and dinner decent (food at the RDC Keuring Café is better). Friendly, knowledgeable staff. If you plan on spending a lot of time at the Rainforest Discovery Center -- as opposed to the orangutan sanctuary -- this is the best option.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 54austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

This place was exactly what we were looking for. We stayed in a double room in the first lodge. We had an attached bath room. The room was basic but clean. We spent the leisure time in the restaurant where you can nicely sit outside (and enjoy the company of numerous cute cats). The food was good and not too expensive. The staff was friendly and helpful. We picked this place because it is near the Rainforest Discovery Centre. It really is only a short walk away. We were able to walk to the RDC at 6 am, came back in between for breakfast and then went again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alu-Poo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Great location; a much better option than staying in Sandakan. We stayed here for 2 nights, which was perfect for spending a day at the wonderful Orang Utan centre (15 mins walk), and the following morning at the very worthwhile RDC (5 mins walk), before being picked up for our Jungle tour. Our room in the Hornbill lodge was massive and very comfortable thanks to the aircon. You might find the odd creepy crawlie, but that's hardly surprising - you're in the jungle!

Decent breakfast included, and the cafe also does reasonable lunch and dinner (plus the wi-fi's pretty good)- but wear insect repellent at night! Overall, excellent value.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CH132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Would highly recommend Sepilok b&b. It is well located close to both the Rainforest Discovery Centre (5 minute walk) and the Orang Utan Sanctuary (15 minute walk). It is easily accessible from the main road, we just called and they picked us up in a car as it was dark. If not dark you could probably walk in about 20 minutes from where the busses drop you off.

The dorm accommodation we stayed in was basic with bunk beds and fans. The room was clean and decent bedding provided. The bathroom was OK - hot water fine.

Communal area outside the rooms was a nice place to chill with a beer, chat with other guests and unwind. Loads of cats around the place which didn't bother us but might others.

The breakfast and restaurant for evening meals was good. Food generally reasonably priced, though only available at certain times. There is a small corner shop very close that sells the essentials.

Friendly staff and overall a very nice place to stay in the wilderness - watch out for wildlife!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe-p-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
1.7 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#6 of 32 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
12.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
12.0 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#4 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
12.2 mi away
Borneo Cove Hotel
Borneo Cove Hotel
#10 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sepilok B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sepilok B&B

Property: Sepilok B&B
Address: Arboretum Road off Sepilok Rd Jalan Mile 14, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sepilok B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sepilok B&B Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing