We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sepilok B&B
Nearby Hotels
$43
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$12
$11
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
NAK Hotel(Sandakan)
$46
$36
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$45
$27
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nature Lodge Sepilok(Sandakan)(Great Value!)
$50
$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rose Guesthouse(Sandakan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveler rating
28
58
20
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
58
20
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshornbill lodgerainforest discovery centrepittaminute walknoodlescamping groundstaff lackthe reception restaurant areaair conhot waterset of bunk bedsceiling fanperfect basegreat accommodationhospitality trainingwithin walking distancesepilok orangutan
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 113 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in the Hornbill Lodge (air-con room). Nice big room with a hot water shower and balcony. Hot and cool water available from the lounge area in the hornbill lodge which was handy. Staff were friendly and helpful. Complimentary breakfast was simple but nice (toast,jams,noodles,bananas,tea and coffee). We had dinner at the B&B every night, food was good and reasonably priced. The B&B is a 5 min walk from the RDC and a 15-20 min walk from SORC.

We really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely return :)

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank AdamandSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I stayed here for only one night in order to visit the orang-utan park and Rainforest Discovery Park. I spent the night in one of the private A/C rooms with balcony ('Hornbill Lodge') and was very happy with what was provided - clean, comfortable room with modern fittings. Balcony was a great place to relax in the evening and even came with an outdoor roof fan. The staff at the homestay were very friendly and helpful. Extras I liked included WIFI in the dining/reception area, close proximity to Rainforest Discovery Park and express-bus booking service (Receptionist was able to quickly book my bus seat over the phone and issued the ticket on the spot). A great, reasonably-priced place to stay in Sepilok.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bmfus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Great location - from Sepilok B&B, it's about 5 minutes walk to the RDC (400m) and 20 minutes walk to Sepilok Orangutan Rehabilitation Center (1.2km). The grounds are lovely ... very green and lots of trees. There's even a lotus pond within the compound. Very nice to wake up and hear plenty of birds chirping in the early morning.

We had a twin room with a fan and attached bathroom, located in First Lodge of Sepilok B&B (RM68 for one night). It was one of the older buildings and in need of a spruce-up. The bed was comfy enough. They do have other types of accommodation but these were not available at the time. Breakfast was a simple fare - toast, jam, kaya, coffee, tea, fruits (bananas & papaya) and fried noodles. As the B&B was conveniently close to RDC, we had lunch at the B&B after our morning visit and returned to RDC in the afternoon. The food was average and cooked to order.

The staff helped call a taxi for us to get to the airport - it turned out to be a private vehicle and cost us RM40. We were probably overcharged but we did not want to be late.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lunarJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

It's exactly where you want to be in Sepilok- next to rainforest discovery and 10-15min walk to Orang Utan Centre.

To get from bus stop taxi touts will charge 5MR pp.

Stayed in a twin room for 68MR a night. Room had shared bathroom. There was a large communal veranda area.

Helpful staff - but really noisy around rooms early in morning- meaning you are woken up.

Bring deet- there are lots of mosquitoes in the area.

Food options are lacking in area- the restaurant is passable but don't get excited.
Breakfast is disappointing.

On final morning- an overnight power cut meant no electricity or water supply. Couldn't flush toilet or wash. Very frustrating.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victron23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was my 3rd visit to Sepilok B&B, and I have been happy all three times. The location is perfect, nice a peaceful place close to all the Sepilok attractions. I went to the Rainforest Discovery Centre, which is only 400m down the road. Got a nice big clean room with aircon, just what I needed as it was exceptionally hot and humid. The reception was good, but the kitchen service was very slow, which of course you may expect at B&B's. The local food served there was ordinary, but OK. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PolarbearSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews