We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple and clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sepilok B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sepilok B&B
Ranked #2 of 20 Sandakan B&B and Inns
UK
Level Contributor
225 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Simple and clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

Simple but clean room, large and airy. Close to rainforest discovery centre and 10-15mins walk from Orangutans. Restaurant reasonable. Free wifi in restaurant. Included breakfast just toast and tea.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MoonsterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    52
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
44
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed for two nights as we recovered from Kinibalu and observed some Orangutans.

We had a deluxe room, one up from a standard, which came with a hot shower and balcony. It was situated about 3 mins walk from the reception and restaurant so you only had the insects for company. The room was big and bed comfy but the hot water didn't work the first night, although when we told them this they did come and fix it straight away.

It is located 20, yes 20, minutes walk from the sanctuary and not 10 which is what the staff will tell you. Would definitely advise phoning ahead for a pick up after dark. We arrived at the same time as another couple who hadn't and our driver had to go and pick them up after dropping us off. It is at least a 30min walk from the batu.

The restaurant was ok but nothing special and we felt the place was a little overpriced for what it was. Staff were very friendly though and we had very little to complain about.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeprechaunLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

Sepilok B&B is an 8 minute walk to Sepilok Rainforest Discovery Centre. We paid about M$120/night per night breakfast includedm for Room A1. Breakfast served on a daily basis included bread, jam, coffee, anything else is chargeable.

Food outlets are not within easy access, if one does not drive, so it would be a plus, if an acceptable/varied food menu priced fairly, were made available to guests, who would want to stay longer than 2 nights.

Service was close to negligible.

There were quite a few bird sightings at Sepilok B&B itself. This may interest bird lovers. The wake up call was done by the hornbills, that would come by daily at 5:45am.

Room Tip: book room A1 & A2. We stayed in A1 and were comfortable. It had an attach bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
potejam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for nearly a week in April and thoroughly enjoyed it. The place is quite nice, but what really made it a jewel for us is the location. We were getting frayed from all the time in cities and buses and just needed to get into some greenery.

We paid 80 ringgit for one of their newer fan rooms, which was a little more than we had hoped to pay. The room was large, clean and fairly bright, and had a beautiful balcony (with an overhead fan, which kept us very cool while sitting outside). The food at the restaurant was typical of what we came to expect in Borneo. Meals were close to 10 ringgit and while not special, they were not bad. The breakfast was the typical white bread and coffee, but they did provide fruit and you could help yourself to as much as you needed. We used a couple pieces of bread for our lunch sandwiches.

The staff was great, in particular the manager and the young men. The women were hit or miss. Sometimes they were friendly, and others they obviously wanted to be anywhere but there. They can set up tours with some of the local agencies, but are not pushy in the slightest. We felt very comfortable chatting with them...

It's very accessible from Sandakan. There is a direct line that goes from the downtown bus station to the Orangutan center several times a day (I think it costs 4 ringgit). You just tell the bus driver that you are going to the B&B and he'll stop at the corner and let you walk the last few hundred meters. The ride is around half an hour, if memory serves.

This place is set back off the main road and surrounded by trees and forest. It's a 2km walk to the Orangutan Sanctuary (we walked there, but never went in since paying money to see habituated animals isn't our cup of tea) and a 500m walk from the very excellent Rainforest Discovery Center. The RDC was a gem, and a total surprise. It's a great place to experience the rainforest for a very reasonable fee (just a few ringgit). There are tons of birds, a variety of plants, and some awesome canopy walkways and lookouts.

We travelled SE Asia for 3 months and this was one of our all time favourite spots that really allowed us to relax, enjoy the nature of Borneo, and do what we wanted at our own pace. While the B&B is great, it's the proximity to the Rainforest Discovery Center that really makes it awesome. We wouldn't hesitate to return

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank potejam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

We enjoyed our stay here for 2 nights. We stayed here after going to a jungle safari. We came back sweaty and in desperate need of a shower. unfortunately the power wasn't working so no water in our room. The staff instead took us into their staff quarters to have a shower. They also arranged transport to labuk bay proboscis monkeys and a car to the airport for us at a very reasonable cost. One of the staff also can arrange a guided night tour of the rainforest discovery centre We stayed in an older double room which was very basic but clean. This place was a great meeting place of other travelers and the staff were friendly and helpful. A great place to stay

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dollorooPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

We booked to stay at Sepilok B&B based on a recommendation from family who had stayed there earlier this year and we were not disappointed. We had 4 nights here in mid August and would definitely recomend it, it's basic but clean and reasonably priced.

We chose to stay in one of the deluxe rooms at 95MYR, a 'semi-detached' room with aircon and it's own private verandah. It was a surprisingly large room with bunk beds as well as a double bed which was very comfortable. Good storage space with a large wardrobe. There was a TV although we didn't actually use it so can't comment on channel availability. The room and the bathroom were very clean, towels were not provided but we carry travel towels so this wasn't a problem. Also in the room was a small two seater cane sofa which we actually carried out onto the verandah each day. On the verandah were two wooden chairs with a table between.

Location of Sepilok B&B is good, just 400m or so down the road (easily walkable in around 10 mins) from the Rainforest Discovery Centre. The Orang Utan sanctuary is around 1km up the road, taking around 20 mins to walk or the B&B would provide a taxi if required.

The restaurant was good if a little basic but all that you need for a couple of nights stay. Breakfast is included, this is do-it-yourself toast/jam with coffee/tea and fruit, you could literally eat as much as you wanted. Food prices were reasonable but the cans of soft drink were a little more expensive than elsewhere in Malaysia.

The staff were all very friendly, from the initial contact via email through the reserversation of our room, pick up from airport and service whilst we were there.

The B&B can arrange transport and trips but this is only offered when you ask the question, the additional services are not thrust on you nor any pressure applied.

There is free wi-fi in the restaurant area, this does reach some of the rooms, there is also a PC available for guest use at no charge.

The B&Bs website doesn't do it justice, it's good accomodation, a little on the basic side but good value for money and definitely worth a consideration if you're visiting Sepilok.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susiemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
1.7 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#6 of 32 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
12.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
12.0 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#4 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nature Lodge Sepilok
Nature Lodge Sepilok
#6 of 29 in Sandakan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sepilok B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sepilok B&B

Property: Sepilok B&B
Address: Arboretum Road off Sepilok Rd Jalan Mile 14, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sepilok B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sepilok B&B Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing