We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not everybody knows..”

Balin Roof Garden Bar & Bistro
Ranked #2 of 92 Restaurants in Sandakan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: This little undiscovered gem is situated above the stalwart landmark of Nak Hotel, built in the 1960s. Once an engine room, The Bar & Alfresco dining area sprawl across an expansive open roof terrace. Sip your ice cold beer & cocktails to a 360 degrees unobstructed view of the waterfront & catch the chillout sunset sessions from 5.00pm onwards to take in the best of Sandakan from a different perspective. Balin Bar & Bistro serves hearty yet creative western meals with Vegetarian, Gluten-Free & Childfriendly options but not forgetting a great dessert menu for those late night cravings.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not everybody knows..”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This roof top eateries serve excellent foods and not too bad wines. Come during evening, sit back and enjoy the sunset over a bottle of wine... you will not regret it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maswali1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    157
    43
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“excellent view”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Fantastic food with a beautiful view, but a bit dark with a table with 7 people and 2 candles. Not obvious to find

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank KatrienMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien, Österreich
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just Great”
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Very beautifull roof terrace. Tasty food for very okay prices for such a beautifull place and interior.

Pizza starting from 22, pasta you can get for 16 (carbonara).

Dont miss it if you want to eat western food in wonderfull atmosphere for reasonable prices :)

Helpful?
1 Thank subversion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Dining on the top of the world”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Panoramic view of Sandakan city and its harbor. Food is tasty but mosquitoes can be quite a problem if you choose to sit outside although there are air-conditioned area is provided. Go early before sunset to have a glimpse of the city before it goes complete darkness.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank michaellee48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kl,m'sia
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Loved the pasta”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We were in Sandakan for 2 nights and on our last night we decided to try Balin out. It was a Saturday night and we got to the restaurant at about 9pm. It was crowded with loads of locals having a night out. We put in our order for 2 pizzas and 2 pastas. The food took a rather long time to arrive but we had expected this based on the previous reviews on TA. Pizzas were ok but the pastas were really fantastic. We had the bolognese and meatball as well as the aglio olio with seafood. The spaghetti was cooked just right and the meat sauce was superb. We throughly enjoyed our meal and decided to put in an order for take away for the pastas for the next day to be collected before our flight. Azlan took our order and the next morning before leaving for the airport, we collected our pastas which were ready at the time I had requested for. We enjoyed it again last night. Thumbs up to the cook and to the staff for a great meal and fantastic service. A must try. One small thing is that we sat on the 2nd level of the restaurant which was air-conditioned however, there is a sliding door that opens to the staircase that leads up to the rooftop. The thing is the door was constantly not closed and it defeated the purpose of having A/C in the restaurant as there was hot air coming in all the while. Maybe the management can find a solution for this,

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kdks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balin Roof Garden Bar & Bistro also viewed

Sandakan, Sandakan Division
 
Sandakan, Sandakan Division
Sandakan, Sandakan Division
 
Sepilok, Sandakan Division
 

Been to Balin Roof Garden Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing