We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff stole money”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Winho Lodge

Winho Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Winho Lodge
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Staff stole money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE! STAFF STEALS FROM YOUR ROOM!

I would not recommend this place. We stayed here for 1 night. It is very very dirty, the bed is awfull. But above all: someone came in to our room when we were out and STOLE about 6000 ringit (= 150 euro's) from our bag. We are certain it must be someone from the hostel, because windons were closed and intact. We reported the matter to the very friendly owner, he seemed upset but also mentioned he was suspicious about a staff member. We had to go to the airport otherwise we would have done more. We did report it to the police at the airport.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jellybel06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    2
    2
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

At first they couldn't find our reservation. OK that can happen. Finally they found it after couple minutes of looking around whole office. Then we got a key of room that was prepared for us. Once we opened the door, we saw somebody lying on the bed. I complained at reception - I really didn't want to share bed with somebode else's. We got new room. It was a little dirty, the bed sheets looked like used. I didn't like it there. Messy corridor, more animals in the bathroom than in the jungle.. I don't recommend it. Rather pay a little more somewhere else than risk your health or stuff..

Room Tip: Choose different hostel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petrdvor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sandakan hotels

Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Even though I've already travelled and experienced a lot and I'm not very picky with hostels, this was without doubt the worst travelling experience ever...
First everything seemed to be very nice there- the staff was very friendly and even offered us a cheaper price (I think they were also really desperated to get some guests) for a double room. But during the check-in though the first weird thing happened. They let me sign a sheet of paper saying that they are not responsible for any lost/stolen goods in the hostel. It just seemed kind of odd to me as I never had to sign something like that before. The guy even asked me twice if I understood this point. Well, I signed...

The next morning I understood why I had to sign this sheet of paper- When we came back from breakfast (included in the price) my mobile phone which I left in the locked room was gone. I know for sure that it was there before because by coincidence we took a picture of the room just before we left for breakfast and you could see the mobile on the bed. Obviously some of the staff broke in and took it (they have an extra set of keys at the reception).
Of course they claimed not to know anything...

Apart from that: The sheets in the room had stains and it was not very clean (but acceptable). But then we saw a big fat cockroach under our bed!!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank anna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Squat toilets, sink and shower share same area...so dirty looking I didn't care to shower. Room looked liked it used to be a bathroom...had small tiles everywhere. Nothing felt clean. Old building that's surrounded by old buildings. Make sure there is more than one working key for your room, just a hint if u stay here. Close to everything and friendly staff. For the same price, 25MR, or maybe a few MR more you can easily find other accomm close by that's very clean, friendly staff and also newly opened!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Born1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

This hotel should be taken off from the Lonely Planet at this moment to keep LP's own trustworthy and reputation. Bed room and toilet totally are in run-down condition. Towel is not clean and has blood-like stained on cloth. Free PC and internet corner is available but all out of order. Not recommend at all!!

Room Tip: try to refrain from this hotel for a while until refurbishment and renovation take place
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level Contributor
226 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

For what you pay it is great value for money! You get everything you need such as your own bathroom and ac and tv, the staff were more than helpful. You can get to sepilok orang-utans and the proboscis monkey sanctuary no problem. DO NOT go through travel agents it's so much cheaper to do it your self and also sooo easy!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank therams_1884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

The rooms are basic and dated, but very clean and with air conditioning. The walls are pretty thin though! Toast, tea and coffee are included in the price and there's unlimited free filtered water. We enjoyed our stay here - the owners were lovely and very helpful and we felt safe!

Room Tip: ask for private with aircon - we had four beds for the two of us and a private bathroom at no extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imogencook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandakan hotels
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
0.1 mi away
S'kan Styles Hotel
S'kan Styles Hotel
#7 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alonto Hotel
Alonto Hotel
#9 of 20 in Sandakan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel
0.1 mi away
Harbourside Backpackers
Harbourside Backpackers
#9 of 29 in Sandakan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bilit Adventure Lodge
Bilit Adventure Lodge
#10 of 29 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winho Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winho Lodge

Property: Winho Lodge
Address: Lot 8 & 9 2nd Floor Block 19, 1st | Jalan Dua, Sandakan 90702, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Winho Lodge Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing