We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jungle Camp Fun”
Review of Uncle Tan B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sandakan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Uncle Tan B & B
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We didn't stay at the B&B but arrived there for our trip to their jungle lodge on the Kinabatangan river and it looked nice with a shady garden area with hammocks but obviously we didn't see the rooms.
The staff were very welcoming and friendly and explained everything about our trip before we left - The jungle accommodation is basic beyond belief but we knew this and it was a great adventure. You stay in an open hut with a mattress and a mosquito net. Take a torch and leave your inhibitions! We were fed well and the staff in the camp were very knowledgable and enthusiastic about the wildlife.
As others have commented - the palm oil plantation expanse is a little depressing but obviously not their doing. Uncle Tan's are working with WWF to replant a lot of the river border with native trees and allow the wildlife a corridor to use. We saw quite a lot of wildlife in just a couple of days and someone who was there the day before us had seen an orangutan. Monkeys, lizards and bats are prevelant in the camp and yes, we saw a rat too! The jungle is a noisy place so we got little sleep. It was worth it though.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4dchops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 75 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2012

Its a backpacker place, make no mistake, and the ac rooms have a damp smell with somewhat unclean and fairly basic shared facilities, but good food is included in the price, and you get free wifi in the main area, with tea coffee and biscuits all day.
The staff are very friendly and helpful, and if you pass this way, you'll make a big mistake if you don't take their 3 day 2 night wildlife adventure at the Kinabatangan river jungle camp.
More local entertainment is the closely located rainforest discovery center and of course the sepilok orangutan rehab center.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diveborneo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We stayed for one night at Uncle Tan's base camp before going on the two night jungle tour. Rooms in the base camp were small but hated the mold growing on the ceiling and there was no clean running water. Unfortunately the immediate area is overrun by palm oil plantations and the location is severely lacking wildlife which I suppose would be the case if there was no real jungle for them to be in.

But apart from that the wildlife further up and down the river was amazing.Staff helpful and have a good attitude towards the environment. Food was as expected basic but edible. Overall everything is very simple which is what you get for the amount you pay for.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dasmayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

The Jungle experience was good shame there wasn't more jungle but thats not uncle Tans fault.

We stayed for one night at Uncle Tans B and B base camp before going on the three day two night jungle tour. The rooms at the base camp were horrible. They were small and damp. So damp in fact that there was half an inch of mould growing on the ceiling in places. My advice would be do tbe jungle tour but don't stay at the b&b base camp before hand find other accomidation.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelhound35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Stayed in Feb 2012.The accomodation was clean (the shared bathroom was spotless), and the rooms have ace aircon. You also get free tea,coffee and biscuits all day plus lots of stuff to do in the evening like table tennis and pool. They have free wifi too. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was great. For the price you pay (which includes meals) we thought this was a great deal.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caz-Marty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I have stayed in several luxury resorts, but the jungle trip at uncle tan, with mice in the room, no tap water and no shower was one of the most amazing adventure I experienced. If you like adventure and wildlife this is definitely the place to go...yoiu will love the boat trips on the river, looking for urangutan, gibbons, crocodiles and proboscis monkeys!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed at Uncle Tan's rainforest camp. DON'T MAKE THE SAME MISTAKE WE DID!!!! Uncle Tans suffers from lonely planet syndrome, staff are disinterested and seemed to have distain for guests. While we were well prepared for basic accom, they neglected to tell us that the area the camp is located in is lacking wildlife. It is situated in an area of the river that is so overrun by palm oil plantations that there is nowhere for the animals to live. Recommend staying up or down river from uncle tans. And the area wasn't the only concern. The food was truly horrible and so salty that it was nearly inedible.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
0.7 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
684 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nature Lodge Sepilok
Nature Lodge Sepilok
#6 of 29 in Sandakan
55 reviews
11.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#4 of 33 in Sandakan
655 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hsiang Garden Hotel
Hsiang Garden Hotel
#12 of 33 in Sandakan
40 reviews
11.5 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 33 in Sandakan
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uncle Tan B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uncle Tan B & B

Address: Lot No. 1, Mile 14 Jalan Sepilok, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Sandakan
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Uncle Tan B & B Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing