We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic room, clean, secure and a definite value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Central Hotel Sandakan
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Basic room, clean, secure and a definite value for money”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

It is a basic hotel which was fit for purpose. A reasonably priced hotel which offered just what I wanted; basic accomodation, clean, secure and quiet. Air conditioning was good, water heater and water pressure was good, staff were friendly and nice.

The best thing about the hotel is its location, right in the center of town, convenient and easy access to shops, malls, restaurants, seafront, etc. Plenty of taxi's available just at the end of the road which is about 50 meters away.

The best way to see Sandakan town is to hire a car and drive around. Sepilok, Labuk Bay and the Crocodile Farm are a decent distance away which is very straightforward if you have a GPS, making this hotel's location ideal for travellers and those visiting Sandakan for the first time.

Just 5 minutes walk to the seafront which has a cafe open until 2am which serves meals and drinks. Wonderful place to hang out.

Room Tip: Rooms are clean, secure and fit for purpose. Bathroom has a basic shower facility which is clean and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    16
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
4
21
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

It's down by the harbour, the rooms are small but clean, the staff are very friendly abd helpful and it's not expensive. Not a bad place to stay if you just want a bed and an en suite bathroom and no frills.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrumpyTravelerMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

It was small but cosy enough for 2 people. Very affordable stay for those on a tight budget. The wet market is nearby where you are able to buy what you need. Food is available at nearby coffee shop. Banks ATM are around the area. On Sundays, the road in front of the hotel become a market with all sorts of activities, food, clothing, and even dogs and cats for sale.

Room Tip: Room higher up is less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bert210853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Very easy to locate even for the 1st visit. The room was quiet spacious and comfortable. Unfortunately, i was a bit sad to find my room was not clean after came back from a tiring visits to nearby attractions. Other than that, everything was perfect!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReniCacilliaPolus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralSandakan, Manager at Central Hotel Sandakan, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear ReniCacilliaPolus,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Just because of the key card issue, they could not get any technical person to fix and the manager does not seem to be qualified for hotel industry where she allows guest waited for 2 hours telling her staffs over the phone she has dinner to attend.....staffs know I am very angry but I do not blame them because as manager, she should be coming in to solve problem and not enjoying herself else where ...ignorant of what her guests are going through

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poseidon74SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralSandakan, Manager at Central Hotel Sandakan, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Poseidon74SC,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback.We are sorry to hear that you had a less than perfect stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sandakan hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

... If you want to wake up slow on Sunday morning. There is a market right outside and it is very noisy. But all else is ok, no breakfast included makes it hard for options outside in the morning.
The room was clean, there is a lift up and it is just around the corner from everything in the city centre.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank emilia07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralSandakan, Manager at Central Hotel Sandakan, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear emilia07,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback.The market is open in every sunday they called Sunday morning market gaya street.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Great Location, clean and comfortable rooms, but thats about it. We found the air conditions very loud and even switched rooms only to find exactly the same problem in the new room. The tv's only having a few channels.

Happy to only stay a few days

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerreBurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralSandakan, Manager at Central Hotel Sandakan, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear KerreBurley,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. We are so sorry about the air conditions very loud and The tv's only having a few channels. We will make it better soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandakan hotels
0.1 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#8 of 32 in Sandakan
322 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel New Sabah
#19 of 32 in Sandakan
2 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel City Star
Hotel City Star
#28 of 32 in Sandakan
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel City View
Hotel City View
#30 of 32 in Sandakan
16 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hsiang Garden Hotel
Hsiang Garden Hotel
#10 of 32 in Sandakan
39 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sanbay Hotel
Sanbay Hotel
#12 of 32 in Sandakan
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel Sandakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel Sandakan

Property: Central Hotel Sandakan
Address: Lot 5A-B 6a-B Block 24 Jalan Lebuh 2, Sandakan 90307, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Central Hotel Sandakan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Central Hotel Sandakan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Sandakan Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing