We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here”
Review of Nipah Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nipah Lodge
Reviewed January 9, 2012

expensive, basic huts built on a swamp. Staff were very helpful but we found the whole experience of being there depressing.
We were the only guests which was somewhat spooky at night. When I asked if there was a beach close by (being that we were at a bay), I was told "we have no beach here, only swamp!"

No internet, which is a fairly necessary tool when travelling these days.

We ended up leaving after 1 night and moving into the best hotel in town, with pool, spa etc for only $20 more. My recommendation would be to stay at the Sabah Hotel and do day trips from there. There is no need at all to base yourself in a swamp, just do a day tour from Sandakan to see the monkeys.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank avidtravelMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 20 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2011

Nipah lodge is located inside the Proboscis monkey sanctuary. It is built on the mangrove wet-land, very well-maintain (much better than Selingan turtle island park) and clean. The staffs are extremely friendly. We checked in at 9am then go straight to platform A for viewing. We did 3 proboscis monkeys feeding in one day and a firefly tour at night.

The location of Nipah lodge is very tranquilizing and natural. Having living in big city, we really enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IY P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

My daughter and I stayed two nights. The chalets were very quiet and clean. We enjoyed the closeness of the jungle and our numerous and long visits to the proboscis sanctuary. The staff did everything they could to make our stay pleasant. The guide was very kind and made it possible for us to come into close contacts with the monkeys. We felt secure and looked after. The food and drinks were very cheap and to stay in this resort is definitly the best way to approach proboscis.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pascaline27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

My partner and I just stayed at the Nipah Lodge on July 8th and we were the only ones there! It was strange at first to have a full staff there only to accommodate us but after we saw how much they enjoyed being there, we embraced the one-on-one service! The English guide was fun to talk to not only about the animals but also about cultural differences.
The lodge itself is VERY clean and it was a great and relaxing location right next to the sanctuary. The staff all around was so friendly and helpful. I can't get over this! We lost our sandals and one of the staff felt so bad that he gave us HIS sandals.
The rides to the platforms to see the monkeys was helpful and the experience we had with the proboscis monkeys was more than I could ever dream of! I am a zoologist and have always dreamed to see a P. monkey up close and I was face to face with many! Watching the behavior was very exciting!
We didn't do the jungle trekking or the boat ride b/c it was far too expensive but we did the night walk. It is 20 MYR and pretty much all you see is fireflies but they were actually really neat.
Only complaints: The free breakfast was toast. So we ordered a 3 MYR omelet to fill up.

Room Tip: To save money, stay in the dorm. No A/C but you can live with a fan to save money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Slowloris08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

We booked three nights on the strength of the reviews we read on Trip Advisor and we were certainly not disappointed. The lodge is about a hour from Sandakan Airport and nestled on the estuary perimeter of pine plantations. It is very quiet and built over the mangroves - till the morning when a troop of monkeys would pass over our roof and the hornbills chatted/screeched nearby. We had a beautiful chalet, air-conditioned, lovely bed and lots to do. We enjoyed the food. The choice was not as extensive as the good hotels but enjoyable and freshly prepared. The lodge is very close to the Proboscus Monkey reserve and the feeding platforms. The staff at the lodge really looked after us. They were passionate about the monkeys they fed each day and knew each monkey. We were provided with verbal explanations about the history of the monkeys and the relationships between the dominant individuals. The Proboscus monkeys may be unusual looking monkeys, but they won a place in our hearts.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kiwisfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

We were traveling around the world and were intrigued by the web site of Nipah Lodge. The web page is a total fabrication. Do not stay here. This lodge is situated in the middle of a mangrove swamp. We saw rats and bugs and snakes. We are very experienced adventure travelers - but this place was just awful. We were the only guests and it was completely creepy. The food, which was included, was awful. My daughter got sick from the food. We left as soon as it was light.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank love2travel33388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2010

Very near to the Labuk Bay proboscis sanctuary, located in a plantation so very quiet. Only 30 minutes from Sepilok too. If you can't get into Sepilok, stay at Nipah!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HelenM07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandakan hotels
19.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
7.8 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#4 of 33 in Sandakan
655 reviews
18.0 mi away
Hsiang Garden Hotel
Hsiang Garden Hotel
#12 of 33 in Sandakan
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 33 in Sandakan
544 reviews
0.0 mi away
Labuk Hotel
Labuk Hotel
#4 of 22 in Sandakan
7 reviews
18.0 mi away
Sanbay Hotel
Sanbay Hotel
#11 of 33 in Sandakan
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nipah Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nipah Lodge

Address: Labuk Road, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Sandakan
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best kept secret in Borneo...Nipah Lodge is surrounded by nature with mangrove paths. A perfect retreat place to get away from busy hostels and lodges. It is the only accommodation within minutes to Labuk Bay Proboscis Monkey Sanctuary.The view from each private chalet balcony and dorm rooms are overlooking to a pure serenity of a low land forest. It is like being part of a scene from National Geographic rainforest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nipah Lodge Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing