We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great base to explore the Kinabatagan River and the surrounding jungle.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bilit Adventure Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We have just got back from a 4 day/3 night tour with STWA. Everything went like clock-work from the moment we were picked up at the airport to our sad departure. The accommodation at Bilit Adventur Lodge was more than we were expecting for ‘jungle’ lodgings and the food both tasty and plentiful.

The rooms are well air-conditioned, clean & mozzi free with hot water on tap. The grounds are well kept, keeping the jungle feel (including the local troupe of monkeys who come to visit Bilit lodge in the evening).

Food here was more variable that at Sepilok Jungle Resort, being buffet style rather than choices from a menu. You do need to pay for ALL drinks, so make sure you take RMs with you. Prices were very reasonable for sprite, coke etc.

The people really bring this place to life! Our boat pilot led the river cruises with such enthusiasm (‘crickey!’ he would shout as another magical animal moment revealed itself). The wildlife we saw outstripped any expectations, ranging from wild orangutans to a herd for 10 pygmy elephants. Our guide even arranged for us to cook and have dinner in a local’s house – great experience. The night walk is also worth a mention.

Bilit Adventure Lodge great base to explore the Kinabatagan River and the surrounding jungle.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dazbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 137 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here for two nights as a base for exploring the wonders of the Kinabatangan and were really pleased with the lodges. The staff were super friendly particularly the manager Nelson, the food was good and plentiful (when we arrived late for lunch they provided us with a whole extra plate of chicken) and the guides are fantastic. It's a perfect location right on the river bank, ideal for river cruises. Outside your window is the forest complete with monkeys, birds and insects.

The lodges are comfy although not luxurious although they do have a/c which works well, hot showers, good mosquito screens and comfy beds. Being in this type of lodge really makes you feel that you are in the heart of the jungle and while there may be more luxurious resorts, this offers everything you need if you are more interested in the wildlife. There's no excuse to spend time in your room anyway!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank BeccaLouise89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Booked this place via sepilok jungle resort. It was well managed and worth it despite the costs. Boat tours are great, they know the spots and stop at the right angle to make your pictures. Saw various wildlife including wild orang utangs. The night tour is a must! Unique to see sleeping birds! The rooms itself are well maintained but nothing special. The food is great for an buffet. The price is high but we guess all of them are. Compared to that this is a great option and you will not be disappointed. Tours were onr of the highlights of our holliday.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MickBrNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We came to this lodge with a tour group from another Asian country. The location is good, so are other river lodges. This lodge is small, comparing with it's neighbor (which you can go by entering a trail), with less facilities. It provides buffet for lunch and dinnier, but doesn't taste well and not many dishes. For examle, the lunch has one meat (usually chicken) and two vegie dishes, plus fruits. And dinnier is the same, adding fries as extra dish!!! In addition, once a dish is empty (expecially fruit), they resupply very slow. And they knew there are many customers in the dining room, and they just don't place enough plates and cups.
Cruise was OK! but the capitain didn't have the experience to stop in a good position for tourists to take photos.
The lodge is small and doesn't create a good garden environment to attract birds, no good for birding.
Room cleaning staff was also pooly trained. They don't know when to clean rooms.
All in all. I'd rather take another lodge a change, If I revisit.

Room Tip: The don't offer ice when you want a drink. Tap water in your room is not drinkable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfred Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just spent 3 fun filled days here and it was worth every penny.

Standard Itinerary looks like this, Everything is optional, Night walks are additional 10RM p/person

6-8am River cruise
8-9am Breakfast
9-12pm Jungle walk
12-1pm Lunch
4-6pm River cruise
8.30pm-Late Night Jungle walk

The river cruises are great, I strongly recommend a pair of binoculars to get the most out of bird watching and spotting and identifying different species.

We saw Orangutans, Proboscis monkeys, Macaques, Crocodile, Pygmy Elephants, Monitor lizard and a maybe 2 dozen species of bird.

River cruises are definitely variable though, Good weather (no rain) is always helpful but it does come down to luck.

Orangutan sightings are rare, we saw in 1/5 cruises although I'd say chances are more like 1/20. Expect to see Pygmy Elephants most afternoons and an assortment of monkeys every trip.

The night walks are fun and are a search for sleeping birds and insects. The lucky will spot the Western Tarsia.

Food portions are huge, Water is 4RM per 1.5l bottle, tea & coffee free, Beer available.

Hot water, reasonably clean rooms but you have to remember you're in the rainforest and there will be ants, spiders etc sharing your room with you.

Nelson and his team are very friendly and make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here couple of nights during our tour. The place is amazing in the middle of the jungle. So peaceful and so beautiful. The rooms were very nice and clean, the restaurant ok - and surroundings - breathtaking! All the animals etc proboscis, tarsiers, birds and yeah - leeches just next to the door.
Anyhow they don´t come to your room so you can relax :) And we had our 5 years daughter with us, no probs.

The tours were excellent. Staff very nice. We can recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This place is pretty amazing, but be prepared that you're right in the middle of the jungle - that means monkeys and leeches instead of TV and wifi. But it's an amazing place - the rooms are actually pretty nice, rustic but with everything you need - hot water, air-con, comfy bed. But what you're really here for is the wildlife and there's plenty of that - the first thing we saw when we rocked up was Macaque monkeys running around the buildings. The jungle walks and the boat trips are great and the guides are excellent at spotting all sorts of birds, monkeys, insects - we were luckily enough to see an orangutan eating dinner in the trees. It's a pretty amazing experience staying in the Borneo jungle and this is a great spot to do it from. The food is nice as well.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Joel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandakan hotels
31.7 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#4 of 33 in Sandakan
671 reviews
25.7 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 33 in Sandakan
545 reviews
24.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
#6 of 29 in Sandakan
370 reviews
5 mi away
Borneo Nature Lodge
Borneo Nature Lodge
#7 of 29 in Sandakan
196 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Last Frontier Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilit Adventure Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilit Adventure Lodge

Address: Lot 3A Gr. Floor | Block 13, Jalan Tiga, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Sandakan
Price Range: $269 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bilit Adventure Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Bilit Adventure Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilit Adventure Hotel Sandakan
Bilit Adventure Lodge Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing