We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandakan Rainforest Discovery Centre (RDC)
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Sandakan Rainforest Discovery Centre (RDC)
from $165.00
More Info
Reviews (846)
Filter reviews
714 results
Traveler rating
354
266
80
9
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
354
266
80
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews canopy walk suspension bridge bird watching rainforest discovery centre flora and fauna night walk few hours giant squirrel beautiful birds pitta nice walk take your time nature lovers slow loris wild orangutan couple of hours sun bears
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 714 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

Doesnt take long to walk the Rainforest Discovery Trail but it is worth the walk and then climb one or two towers to see the rainforest from the canopies although I thought it could be higher
Where comfortable walking shoes I observed so many people wearing flip flops which is a danger on such walks
And dont forget to cross the suspension bridge all paths lead back to entrance gate

Thank KeenTraveller12372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Rainforest Discovery Centre give you the unique opportunity to experience the Bornean jungle like few other places. The massive steel canopy walkway takes you high up into the treetops to view the forest from a different perspective.

The gates to the canopy are open to allow you to go in for an early morning birding session, just be sure to pay your entry fee on the way back out.

It is also a great place to see giant red flying squirrels gliding from one tree to the next covering amazing distances in between. This is a real treat to see! There is also a resident pair of Wallace’s hawk-eagle, an impressive raptor. Watch hornbills fly across the canopy and listen to gibbons calling from within the forest in the early morning.

There are a number of trails that can take you into the Sepilok-Kabili Forest Reserve to experience the forest from below the canopy. Taking a walk to the Sepilok Giant is a worthwhile adventure if you are up for the walk.

No trip to Sepilok is complete without a trip to RDC!

Thank NicholasH2068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Spent 3 hours visiting the exhibition centre and walking the trails in the morning to avoid the heat. As a couple from the city, we were totally useless at spotting any wildlife and only saw one giant squirrel, but thoroughly enjoyed walking through the rainforest on the elevated canopies and clearly marked trails.
Decided to return in the evening to join one of the guided night time walks in the hope of seeing more animals - would highly recommend this! It’s 30 MYR per person and the guides have amazing animal-spotting abilities and are extremely knowledgable. One of the most enjoyable and interesting things we did during our stay in Sepilok.

Thank HollyLeaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a very special place and it is suprising to me how few people we saw during our 3 day visits to the centre.
You have access to the rainforest via walkways and also to the forest canopy via a canopy walkway and towers that gives a completely different perspective.
I arrived in Borneo after a long flight from New Zealand and it was so wonderful to experience the tranquility of the rainforest discovery centre. There is magic in the rainforest and I felt the stress of my daily grind being peeled away like layers from an onion. There are so many shades of green and if you are silent and patient you will see many wonderful things.
We saw a wild Orangutan and her baby right next to us in the canopy and this was not to be an isolated encounter as we saw them several more times and our visits.
We saw squirrels and hornbills and eagles and owls, gekkhos, Ants, Snakes, mouse deer, and many others birds and insects, butterflies etc.
A highlight on our last day was to sit and have lunch at the rainforest cafe while our Orangutan friend and her baby enjoyed there lunch in a tree right next to the cafeteria.
We went on a night trek which was really amazing and saw flying squirrels and snakes, mouse deer, pita, kingfisher, gekkhos, Giant ants, even a snake eating a large frog.
There is magic in the rainforest so make sure to spend some time and listen carefully and it will speak to you.

2  Thank CHight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited in the middle of the day when it was very hot so there was no animals around to speak of. But that aside I thought the whole centre was well worth the visit. The tree top walks on the huge bridges are very, very beautiful and there is so much to see from up there. The grounds and lake are really lovely and the information centre was also interesting. Very close to the Orangutan rehab centre and apparently they are often in the jungle there.
I am only sorry we did not have more time as we would have returned early or later in the day to see more wildlife.

Thank 131jodieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a few free hours in Sandakan and decided to visit the centre. It is well worth a visit and I wish we had more time to spend there. We were only able to walk on the board walk high in the forest canopy, which was a wonderful experience. However, there is so much else on offer, including long trails and hikes. Highly recommended.

Thank Venture827631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The day we visited the discovery centre it was stinking hot & humid, even for Sabah. Even the birds were having a siesta, so very few examples of wildlife.
However, the opportunity to walk around the forest setting, to feel the various trees, and learn about what you were seeing was fabulous.
We had a great time, just walking along and reading all the information boards. A couple of hours that were well spent.

Thank oznewbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2018

This nightwalk we made at the RFC was very interesting, we saw quite some animals like eagles, bats, flying squirles, scorpio, spider and frogs.

Thank HenrietteS139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2018

This is well worth a visit if you want to see wildlife. The canopy walkway is really good, and you can see animals resting in trees etc. And the walks through the rain forest at night give the opportunity to see tarsiers etc. But don't go in open shoes, because the ants will get you.

1  Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2018

Botany, wildlife, so much to see. We were there in Sept, so it was quite warm and muggy, and eventually a major rain. Still very beautiful even in the rain

Thank KPNEAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews