We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Sandakan Rainforest Discovery Centre (RDC)
Book In Advance
More Info
$158.00*
and up
Full-Day Orangutan and Proboscis Monkey Tour from Sandakan or Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #5 of 29 things to do in Sandakan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: RDC is first and foremost an environmental education centre managed by the Sabah Forestry Department. It has been operating since 1997 but mainly for school visits and organising events for school students and also teacher training courses on environmental education.It was later developed for visitors mainly to sustain the environmental education programme for the future. We formally opened to visitors in August 2007 and is open daily from 8 am to 5 pm. However, visitors are allowed to stay until 7 pm for viewing of the flying squirrels at the 347-m long Canopy Walkway, the only such structure in Southeast Asia.The newly revamped Birders Rest is now with a 90 m-long walkway, an open hall, a small centre and toilets. As of Nov 16th 2013, we have a new operator for the Keruing Cafe whom we hope will provide better services for our visitors.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“RDC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

it's really a good place for us to know more about rainforest . 10 MYR / adult , follow the map , you can explore the this nature park by yourself

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MartinXu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDCSepilok, Manager at Sandakan Rainforest Discovery Centre (RDC), responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thanks for visiting RDC and for your time to write down a few words for us here. I am sure the map you were given was a xeroxed/photocopied map. We are waiting for the colour printed maps for visitors. should be arriving next week. We ran out of the maps a couple of months ago and since many new facilities have just been recently completed (extension of the walkway, the walkway at the Birders Rest, the outdoor stage and car park), so we had to redo the map.

By the way, RDC will be opened as usual on the 21st Dec 2012, the supposedly "End of the World" according to the Mayan calender.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    243
    74
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Coast NSW
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Great elevated walkway. Not great for people with vertigo. Very informative and nicely air conditioned centre.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Parisi_Dreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
101 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Didn't see much wildlife”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

A very interesting place to spend a few hours but I didn't see much in the way of wildlife, it may have been the rain. However, we did get to see flying squirrels and a big scorpion, that was squashed on the road!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eastworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A good place for a relaxing walk with nature...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Better to come at this place when the sun is not at it's peak. The walkways to the forest are not covered and when it's not windy you'll be drenched in your own sweat! But its a very relaxing walk Around the rainforest looking at big trees and plants. They have a restaurant which is not appetizing at all and not well maintained. Good to just sit for a drink or an ice cream while cooling yourself before leaving the place.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Veneez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDCSepilok, Manager at Sandakan Rainforest Discovery Centre (RDC), responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Yes, you are right! The RDC is a great place to relax BEFORE the sun comes too high up. Birders normally go to the Kingfisher Trail as it is shaded by the canopies of trees. By the way, we have recently completed a 90 m walkway at the Birders Rest, along Belian Trail and close to the south entrance of the Kingfisher Trail. It is a nice place to cool off. Thanks for visiting our place!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must See”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Very nice place for trecking, We went there after lunch, but it is very hot and exhausting to do it at that time of the day plus all fauna is hiding, and you may not get to see any animals. But we were patient enough to wait untill late evening, when flying squerrles start to showing up, as well as several monkey species.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank AJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDCSepilok, Manager at Sandakan Rainforest Discovery Centre (RDC), responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hi, I am glad you stayed on for the flying squirrels. It is a great experience to see them gliding from tree to tree, even for me who is working here! For future visitors (at least within the nexct few months), we predict more orangutans will be seen around the RDC because the nearby Orangutan Rehabilitation Centre has temporarily closed one of their feeding platforms (not opened to the public) for repairs and other works (orangutans may play with tools). So, many of the young orangutans may wander up to the RDC. Today, a ranger from the centre said he saw 10 orangutan nests here. If you are reading this and planning a trip here, be sure to look for orangutans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandakan Rainforest Discovery Centre (RDC) also viewed

 
Sandakan, Sandakan Division
Sandakan, Sandakan Division
 

Been to Sandakan Rainforest Discovery Centre (RDC)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing