We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lets get this Hotel to the top of the list!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of May Fair Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sandakan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
May Fair Hotel
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lets get this Hotel to the top of the list!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2010

Malaysia is not the cheapest place for accommodation in the backpacker trail of SE Asia. In fact we had spent 65 MYR for a noisy backpackers with a share bathroom in Kota Kinabalu a few days before. This place was 45 MYR for a double room and comes with all the bits described above. It is basic, but spotless. And it was the best value we had in the whole of Malaysia. I wish there were more places like this. If you are on a budget and don't want the youngish backpackers scene, it gives you a place to crash, which has air conditioning and your own bathroom. The best bit is the quality of sleep. The doors are thick and so are the walls. The windows are double glazed and if you whack on the air conditioning you cannot hear a thing going on outside. The owner can be a bit tetchy at times, but he is 72 and works day and night. I used to giggle at his eccentricity: don't take it seriously! He is a top bloke, though. When I needed a doctor, he was there in a flash offered help and concern. You can see by the funny signs on the walls that this place is seriously one in a thousand. We went on to stay at a bit of a rip off place in Sepilok and should have stayed here and caught the bus or taxi instead out to the Orangutans. He can organise a taxi for not much Ringgitt at all.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrienations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    30
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
46
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wamena
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2010

First of all, Mr Lan is a character. His sense of houmor is hard to grasp at first but it's a good experience altogether. His place is an absolute burgen, with hot water, high tech tv, dvd player, a whole selection of movies, telephone, wi-fi. This is the place that taked the crown from all budget hotels we have been to in SE asia in 8 months

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joensuu, Finland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2010

We stayed only one night in May Fair, but it was worth every ringgit! The rooms are clean but everything is a little worn-out. Shower is next to the toilet so the floor will flood when someone takes a shower.

There is huge collection of DVDs and pretty big TV in the room. The man behind the desk was just counting coins the whole time we were there, so we can't really say anything good or bad about him. Location is good.

May Fair is just one of those places where you get excellent value for you money. Perfect place for people who seek a place to sleep, rest and nothing more.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights in march 2010, the rooms were spotless, very comfortable, air-con,,great hot shower & large flatscreen TV & DVD player, with huge selection of DVDs you can watch for free. The owner is great,appears grumpy, but he is actually a very nice man, & knows absolutely everything about Sandakan & was very helpful in helping organize trips at the best possible price, honestly nothing was too much trouble here, I was very comfortable, The location is excellent, waterfront, shops & market right on your doorstep. I payed £9 a night, was so cheap, i kept the room on when i went to Turtle Island overnight, It was a great choice ..

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lunadoodle58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2010

Very very clean like for Malaysian conditions. Owner helpful but sometimes grumpy. Nicei collection of dvds and tv+DVD player in every room. Very cheap

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xroorx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2010

We stayed at the May Fair for 3 nights and loved it. The rooms might be a little sterile decorated but are impecably clean, very quiet, airconditioned and come with huge flat screen TVs and DVD players. The en-suite bathrooms are similarly practical rather then pretty but imaculately clean with western toilets and awesome strong and hot showers! There is a massive DVD library and you can rent 5 per day for free - very nice in rather boring Sandakan. The May Fair also has 3 computers equipped with fast internet and Skype at very cheap rates.

The best thing however is the owner, an at first sight rather grumpy mid-aged man loving to hang around in what seems to be underwear :-). He is actually very nice and super helpful, knowing absolutely everything about Sandakan, from bus schedule times to restaurant addresses and recommendations.

The location is very good as well, only a 2 minute walk away from the waterfront, restaurants, 2 supermarkets and loads of other shops.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dumpling79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2010

We stayed at the May Fair in Sandakan for 2 nights before visiting Sepilok and Uncle Tan's Jungle Camp. The hotel is just a short walk from the waterfront on a busy street in China town. It's nothing to look at from the outside (or the inside for that matter) but the rooms are spotlessly clean (almost clinical) and come with a private bathroom with a very powerful and hot shower. Every room also has a large flat screen tv and DVD player and Mr Lum has a HUGE collection of DVD's all categorised for ease of selection - perfect for rainy afternoons or early nights. As for Mr Lum, we've read all kinds of reviews suggesting he's a bit of a grumpy old man but I couldn't disagree more. He was friendly, polite and extremely helpful to us getting our laundry done and organising cheap taxi fares. For a double room with private bathroom we paid just RM50 which is the cheapest we've paid in Borneo and for that reason we would absolutely suggest you try the May Fair for a short stay in Sandakan.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
0.1 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#4 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
S'kan Styles Hotel
S'kan Styles Hotel
#7 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
11.8 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
11.8 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#6 of 32 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to May Fair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May Fair Hotel

Property: May Fair Hotel
Address: No. 24 Jalan Prayer, Sandakan 90700, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
May Fair Hotel Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing