We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very cheap hotel, excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of May Fair Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sandakan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
May Fair Hotel
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Beaumaris, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very cheap hotel, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

Although the rooms aren't huge, they are perfectly adequate for your needs - air-con and massive en-suite, complete with drying line. The room had a dvd player, and there were stacks of dvd's to watch as well as wi-fi at a ridiculously good price. The hotel is amazingly cheap. Mr Lun, the owner, is an amazing man. He's really interesting to talk to and really really helpful. Don't be fooled by his seemingly brash and even apparently rude exterior, if you roll with the punches, you'll find him an extremely intelligent, helpful and savvy host. If you stay here, book a cab through him as he gets a much cheaper price. He'll also advise you on places to go and things to do. There's even take-away menus in the rooms which will deliver.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jenny_hippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    30
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
46
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

The rooms are ugly but otherwise clean and comfortable. Right in the middle of town. Huge dvd collection. Owner assists to arrange other activities. Good value. Laundry in sandakan is expensive so do it before you go.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2011

The rooms in May Fair are surprisingly well-maintained. However, I left May Fair after being scolded by Mr Lum. I was sitting behind one of the internet computers on the 3rd floor and Mr Lum came up the stairs and started shouting and screaming that I'm not allowed to smoke behind the computer. Through all the shouting he didn't hear that I told him I'm a non-smoker. He grabbed the ashtray from next to my keyboard away and the ashes fell all over me. Mr Lum is so incredibly rude. I read the reviews on Tripadvisor and couldn't believe this is the "wonderful" Mr Lum that everybody is so cheerful about. Mr Lum kept on being rude to me, so I packed my bag and went to another hotel in Sandakan.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DutchVeggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planet Earth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

Don't let the ugly exterior fool you. Rooms are spacious and extremely clean AND come with 32 inch flat screen TVs and DVD players. The owner has a huge collection of DVDs categorized into genre (Gigantic Animal Horror, being one of them :P) that you can borrow. The hot water shower in the bathroom is one of the best! The owner is also very helpful and was able to give suggestions for restaurants as well as transportation information. Great hotel location too. Free wi-fi in rooms but if you don't have a laptop there are a couple of computers on the 2nd floor that you can use but there is a fee.

This is the best guesthouse we've encountered in Malaysia!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RunawayBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siegburg
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

It was one of the cheapest double rooms we stayed in, 50 MYR for a double with ensuite, and whilst it was very ugly, we were glad to have stayed there. The owner appears gruff at first sight but he was very helpful in explaining how to get from A to B and he has got the biggest DVD collection imaginable...every room has a TV and DVDplayer and if you havent watched TV for a while whilst backpacking, this is a great place to just spend an evening inside (Sandakan as such isnt very nice anyway so staying in for the night with some takeaway food is not the worst option)...
The hostel is very central and it's a good place to spend a night or two if you don't mind no frills places...very tasty backery as well just around the corner!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JandS2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2011

We stayed at Nak hotel for the first two nights, at $150 R a pop. Then decided to try Mayfair. Looks shady from the outside, but we were very suprised. Rooms are $50 R a night, tv, dvd player, hot shower (which appears to be endless). The lobby has free dvd rental for rainy days, free wifi in rooms and pc's for $5 R. The highlight of the hotel is the grumpy chinese owner, who is blunt and too the point, but if you try hard you may get a smile from him. He is very helpful though... Great hotel, cheap central and reasonably clean.

Sandakan is a bit of a hole and there is not much to do. If you can avoid it, and your pressed for time, stay somewhere else, or just come for a night or two... We stayed 5 night... Way too much time.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jando999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

the may fair in sandakan is a typical chinese place. clean, cheap and ugly. the best thing about the may fair is the owner. the knows everything. you wanna book a trip to the jungle, islands, sepilok....this guy will hook it up for you. you get good deals, too. if you need to go somewhere, he orders a taxidriver which will drive you cheaper than all the others.
the owner is grumpy and sometimes unfriendly, but in the end the most helpful person we have met at our borneotrip.
note that sandakan is really not a city you want to visit. it's ugly, dirty and has a horrible nightlife(bandah indah). if you have other options, don't come to sandakan.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timbotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
0.1 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#4 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.1 mi away
S'kan Styles Hotel
S'kan Styles Hotel
#7 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
11.8 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
1.5 mi away
Borneo Cove Hotel
Borneo Cove Hotel
#10 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to May Fair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May Fair Hotel

Property: May Fair Hotel
Address: No. 24 Jalan Prayer, Sandakan 90700, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
May Fair Hotel Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing