We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic wildlife opportunities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

As others have said, the rooms are basic and not particularly clean.

However, the staff, particularly the wildlife rangers, are lovely, the food was different every day and very plentiful and the trips were great value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Person28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 198 of 369 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed her with an Exodus group in Feb 2013. Beautiful chalet accommodation directly overlooking the river. Food was excellent, but because of the small number in the hotel at the time, the choice was a little limited, but that did not spoil anything! Highly recommended

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holmefarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

If time is scarce in Borneo then forget Sepilok, Kinabulu or Sipadan and for a true wildlife experience ,spend a few nights here. We stayed in the ensuite Agamid chalets with excellent fans but v expensive air con. We arranged pick up with the office at KK as it is only accessible by boat across the river.
You get a dawn cruise and afternoon cruise every day where you will see snakes,birds,monkeys,macaques,orang utangs,lizards, crocs and if lucky a pygmy elephant and everything is truly wild unlike places such as Sepilok. You also have amorning walk and night walk which as it had been heavy rain was very muddy but you can hire wellies and this is usually a very good idea
You receive 3 excellent meals a day prepared by a very hard working lady. Our guide Arshad was excellent and had eagle eyes to spot wildlife which alone you would have no chance of seeing. He was excellent at manoevering the boat into the banks to get close up views and seemed to be able to put a name to any birds or other animal that you might see.The price for trips and full board is only £100 for 2 nights and additional nights are £20 a bargain. Our best trip on Borneo by far. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Pick an Agamid chalet. By the way no swimming pool and do not swim in river as there are crocs.River...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tarrsteps123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Had 3 days/2 nights package and it was right decision. We fly from KK to Sandakan and back and left our big suicase in KK. Transportation from/to Sandakan airport worked well. Activities were great and guiding and all the staff excellent.

You must remember that place is not five star resort, accomodation is very basic. The reason why come there is to see wildlife of Borneo and that is what you get :) You can be old or young, place suits everyone. You can skip walks if you want but by boat you can reach almost everything, crocos, birds, lots of different monkeys, elephants if lucky etc. Take binoculars with you.

Breakfast and dinner are basic almost western food, not bad not excellent. But hey, you are there to see wonderfull life of jungle not wondering between buffet tables ! :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnteroFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We did the 2 nights package, and thought it was really good value! Days are packed with excursions maximizing your change to see wildlife- we saw elephants, crocodiles, tons and tons of monkeys including Macaques, Proboscis, Orang Utang, Hornbill and other birds, snakes; tons of other small mammals and insects and, the icing on the cake, a Tarsier during the night jungle trek. Guides were very friendly, place was well organized, accommodation basic but decent and food fine as well. Highly recommended, especially considering the fair price compared to some other places!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D51054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had booked a deluxe chalet, full-board, with wildlife tours included.

The wildlife activities were all excellent.

Our accommodation was not only basic but unclean, including stained towels & bed linen. The room was not serviced during our stay and we had to ask for clean towels.

Overall this was quite expensive for Malaysia and compared very poorly to facilities in Taman Nagara (a national park on the Malaysian mainland).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alf O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderYee, Manager at Nature Lodge Kinabatangan, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Thank you for your feed back Alf.

We are sorry that you didnt experience the service that you expected. For the un changed towels and sheets, in fact we have looked into the matter. We have a re cycle policy where by we have a card on the bed side table and should you place the card on your bed, we will in fact change your sheets and towels when we turn down the room. Perhaps, you have over looked this?

In any case, we will be mindful of your feed back and will continue to be keep our service standard up.

We wish you a safe onward travel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at Nature Lodge for 3 days/2 nights and had a wonderful time. (I initially tried to book at Last Frontier Resort but it took over a month for them to reply to my emails, facebook messages and phone calls. Don't waste your time with them. Go straight to Nature Lodge Kinabatangan!)

We booked a chalet and it was basic but good. It was clean and a decent size with a good hot water shower. The chalet had no safety deposit box but we had our valuables locked up at reception and all was good.

The staff were awesome. The young people working in reception are eager to visit and very interested in being of service. Our guide for all our activities was Arshad and he was fantastic. Very sharp-eyed and able to spot lots of things. He's also very knowledgeable about the animals and the river in general. On the river we saw a herd of pygmy elephants right up close as well as orang utans, proboscis monkeys, snakes, hornbills, eagles, kingfisher, lots of other bird life and lots of macaques. The only thing we didn't see that is apparently pretty common were crocodiles. We didn't see much on the 2 night jungle walks - other than a huuuge spider on its web and a kingfisher - or on the trek to Oxbow Lake but it was still interesting to be in the rainforest. There were 3 boat cruises, 2 night walks, and the hike to Oxbow Lake. There was also some down time which was nice.

We were fortunate to have very little rain (despite it being the rainy season) but the trails in the jungle were pretty wet in many places and flooded in a few areas. You can rent rubber boots (wellingtons) for 10 ringgit and they're a necessity at this time of year.

Meals were quite good and there was lots of food. Also, the price for beer was the cheapest we've found on Sabah! Tiger for just 8 ringgit.

A couple of other points:
• Our chalet had an air conditioner in it but no remote - I guess you have to pay extra for AC. We didn't bother and were just fine with the fan.
• One downside was that the beds were not very comfortable. They're spring type mattress and we could feel the spring wires.

All in all a great experience!!

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong with any of the chalet locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandakan hotels
31.2 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#4 of 33 in Sandakan
664 reviews
24.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
25.3 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 33 in Sandakan
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.7 mi away
Nature Lodge Sepilok
Nature Lodge Sepilok
#7 of 29 in Sandakan
57 reviews
5.4 mi away
Borneo Nature Lodge
Borneo Nature Lodge
#8 of 29 in Sandakan
195 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bilit Adventure Lodge
Bilit Adventure Lodge
#10 of 29 in Sandakan
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nature Lodge Kinabatangan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature Lodge Kinabatangan

Address: Kampung Bilit, Sandakan, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Sandakan
Price Range: $111 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nature Lodge Kinabatangan 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic chalets and dormitory rooms set in Kampung Bilit Kinabatangan, be ready to watch abundance of wildlife from the comfort of boat rides. Transfers to and fro Nature Lodge Kinabatangan and meals are included in the tour prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Nature Lodge Kinabatangan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan Hotel Sandakan
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing