We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saw a Tarsier!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Saw a Tarsier!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Had a great time here. The Oz travellers Simon & Louise whom I met here were a fun couple. The staff was attentive. The rooms were basic and very clean. The water heater worked. No aircond but you are hardly in your room! The activities were packed so we were hardly ever in the rooms. Thank goodness there rubber boots for rent! It was muddy on our walks!
Our guide had limited spoken English but was attentive and tried his best to fill our eyes with sightings of wildlife and plants.
Great value.. I was never bored. The food average taste (i'm picky) but plenty.
The only complaint is to improve the Audio Visual room but these lodges are always 'a work in progress'.

Spotted the Western Tarsier 15mins into the night walk!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sakatsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    115
    40
    12
    8
See reviews for
39
156
50
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at the nature lodge for 3D 2N in the Agamid wing this week. We were picked up from Sepilok Orangutan Sanctuary and embarked on a 2 hour bumpy ride to the camp. A quick trip across the river in the rain brought us to the camp and it was beautifully peaceful with great views onto the river.

The room we had was more than adequate for the rainforest. Lots of noises outside at night. Having now been to Labuk Bay I've confirmed to myself that some of the noises were definitely proboscis monkeys!

The activities are all well organised. At one point we were the only two people in the camp as it's low season but for us it was perfect. We could do the trek at our own speed. A gong signals 5 minutes before the start of each activity. Boat rides were brilliant and we saw a lot of wildlife. Night walks were naturally hit and miss. The second night we saw a LOT!

You can hire boots for trekking which at this time of year you definitely need. They provide a sort of security box service and put any extra drinks/internet etc that you buy on a tab for you to just settle at the end of your stay.

Our guide was great but perhaps a bit shy. He was so keen for us to come away with great pictures. We gave him a good tip for the extra effort he put in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katie229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The accomodation here whilst basic, offered excellent service. I did a 3Day 2night tour with the tour company associated with Nature lodge resort. Our guide Helson was terrific. We were fortunate enough to see several orangutans in the wild as well as everal other interesting animals.

The schedule was nice and busy with plenty of activities, so you felt you got your moneys worth.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee horscraft1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed for 3D/2N and started with a pickup in Sandakan. We stayed in the chalet which can provide AC (remote) for some extra RMs. The river tours we did were great and impressive. Our guide Max is experienced and passionate about his work. Saw a lot of monkey, crocs, snakes, lizards. The night walks are not that exiciting. The jungle tour is to the lake is great.
I would definitely recommend this place and I think there are stays for a great range of budget. Actually it feels a bit like a camp. You got your time schedules, food is prepared onm set times. So you don't have to worry about anything. We booked on insabah.com

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PatrickAMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Mohammed was a phenomenal guide. He found two orang-utans in the wild for us, a tarsier, Malaysian Cat, a million birds, monkeys, reptiles and other amazing creatures. Nature Lodge itself was basic but what else do want when in the jungle? The food was good, staff was super friendly and guests pleasant. We had a terrific time!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank footprint_and_photo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed at the nature lodge for 3D 2N in the Agamid wing with A/C which costs 50rm per person per night on the first night the A/C didnt work properly so we relied on the fan.Informed reception the next day and they sent an engineer straight away who fixed it, but that night we had an intruder within the cavity which was scratching very loudly all night we think it was a rat due to other people had the same problem but we understood as we are in the jungle so 2N no sleep,apart from the lack of sleep we thought the daily itinerary was great,food was great and Max the guide is amazing at spotting wild life with a good knowledge of the area,We had oriinginally booked an extra night but we felt that 3D 2N is adequate has it could end repetitive.Overall enjoyed enjoyed our stay spotted plenty of wildlife and met some nice people.

Room Tip: Choose the Agamid wing with A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philiosfog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
142 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We give 4 points for this one. The öocation is breath taking. In the middle of the jungle and you can really feel that you are in the midst of it. Listen to the sound of the jungle. You do not need TV or radio. And from this lodge you can do boat trips to see the wild life. Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laird43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
24.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
31.2 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#5 of 32 in Sandakan
614 reviews
5.4 mi away
Borneo Nature Lodge
Borneo Nature Lodge
#8 of 29 in Sandakan
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kinabatangan Jungle Camp
31.7 mi away
Nature Lodge Sepilok
Nature Lodge Sepilok
#5 of 29 in Sandakan
43 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
#2 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nature Lodge Kinabatangan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature Lodge Kinabatangan

Property: Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
Address: Kampung Bilit, Sandakan, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nature Lodge Kinabatangan 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic chalets and dormitory rooms set in Kampung Bilit Kinabatangan, be ready to watch abundance of wildlife from the comfort of boat rides. Transfers to and fro Nature Lodge Kinabatangan and meals are included in the tour prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Nature Lodge Kinabatangan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan Hotel Sandakan
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing