We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
Certificate of Excellence
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“amazing!!!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Mohammed was a phenomenal guide. He found two orang-utans in the wild for us, a tarsier, Malaysian Cat, a million birds, monkeys, reptiles and other amazing creatures. Nature Lodge itself was basic but what else do want when in the jungle? The food was good, staff was super friendly and guests pleasant. We had a terrific time!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank footprint_and_photo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    115
    40
    12
    8
See reviews for
39
156
50
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed at the nature lodge for 3D 2N in the Agamid wing with A/C which costs 50rm per person per night on the first night the A/C didnt work properly so we relied on the fan.Informed reception the next day and they sent an engineer straight away who fixed it, but that night we had an intruder within the cavity which was scratching very loudly all night we think it was a rat due to other people had the same problem but we understood as we are in the jungle so 2N no sleep,apart from the lack of sleep we thought the daily itinerary was great,food was great and Max the guide is amazing at spotting wild life with a good knowledge of the area,We had oriinginally booked an extra night but we felt that 3D 2N is adequate has it could end repetitive.Overall enjoyed enjoyed our stay spotted plenty of wildlife and met some nice people.

Room Tip: Choose the Agamid wing with A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philiosfog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
142 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We give 4 points for this one. The öocation is breath taking. In the middle of the jungle and you can really feel that you are in the midst of it. Listen to the sound of the jungle. You do not need TV or radio. And from this lodge you can do boat trips to see the wild life. Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laird43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loomis ca
Level Contributor
442 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed in the agamid chalet, worth the extra money for space and more privacy.
Food was pretty good, enough variety for 3 days/2 nights. We had originally booked for 4 days and left one day early. The standard 3/2 combo was sufficient. Otherwise some of the boat trips would have been a repeat.
In our opinion, the night trip was not great. Very muddy, couldn't see much.
We saw more during the afternoon boat trips but our guide was not very good. He pointed things out, but usually after we spotted it. He did not add info to enrich our knowledge. Pretty passive and not engaged with the group. It was difficult to hear him from the back of the boat.
We were fortunate to see a few orangutans in the wild, but pretty well camouflaged and a distance away in the high treetops. It was still very exciting. There were however an abundance of other monkeys which made the boat excursions fun.
It's very hot in the afternoons and no cover for the boat. Best to bring plenty of sunscreen and a hat.
Going back to the guide for a moment. I am not sure how one gets a good guide. I presume it is the luck of the draw. It does however make all of the difference in your experience. I feel Ramzen was perhaps new or not trained properly. We were quite disappointed with the experience but accommodations, food, and remaining staff were just fine.

Room Tip: Spend a little more and book into the agamid chalets. More space, windows, less stuffy, and a bit m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ernieLoomisCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

We got a real bargain as many people pay around 450/550rm per person but we booked a last minute tour with our hostel in sandakan for 350rm each.
We got a free pick up and drop off. You do 2 afternoon boat cruises, 2 morning boat cruises, 2 night jungle walks and a morning jungle trek on the 2nd day. We saw a wild orang Utan, Probicous monkys, macaques, lots of birds and most amazingly Pygmy elephants and they are rare to see. We knew they were close because we had to stop our 4 hour trek 1 hour in because we found the elephants close by and it was to risky ( also a few tourists have died last year encountering the elephants) we saw kingfisher birds at night and also the cute little tarsier monkey. The cutest thing we've seen and again rare to see. With big smiles we couldn't have asked to see anymore. Maybe a gibbon we didn't see one of those haha. Our hut was very basic and for what you pay it should be better there is no room the put your bags so you can imagine how small the hut it. And we had a funny smell coming for the bathroom but I suppose this all added to the 'jungle experience'. The food was good, the breakfast the best and the meat at dinner was rather boney. We really enjoyed our 3d2n tour, we are travelling for 1 year and are 3 months into our trip and this is by far the best experience we've had. The guide we had was so informative, his English excellent and was great finding the animals, if we could afforded it I would of liked to stayed longer haha.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I gave my husband and teenage daughters a lot of warning about what to expect for this part of the holiday - basic cabins,no air con, pretty ordinary food, lots of mossies, no guarantee of seeing many animals etc.. It turned out a lot better than I had described it to them and we all loved it. We spent 2 nights and all wished that we could have stayed at least another. It was really well organized but at the same time really relaxing and layback. The food was fine and plentiful and the Agamid chalets were roomy and well-screened. It is true that the chalets were very hot during the middle of the day but sitting outside on the deck at siesta time there was a bit of a breeze and it was really pleasant.
The bugs were not nearly as bad as we had been expecting but it was best to wear long pants and borrow the gumboots for the walks into the forest which is quite muddy in places.
When you arrive you are assigned to a 'boat group' and your boat driver is also your guide for the walks. We had Helson and he was amazing at spotting animals by the river and in the rainforest at night. During the day walk, we'd stop for a rest every now and again and Helson would tell some cool stories about some of the plants and animals. We were sooo lucky to see many of the 'occasional animals' such as orangutans and elephants and, at night, a tarsier.
We will all remember our experience at the Nature Lodge as the highlight of our holiday in Borneo!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Escapade10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I took my mother here in June for her birthday. We stayed in the agamid wing with aircon and ensuite bathroom and hot shower. I'll never forget how perfect our stay there was. We saw so many animals including the elephants and orangutans as well as probiscus monekys, mangrove snakes, hornbills, macaques of both species, kingfishers, squirrels, crocs, eagles and GUESS WHAT PEOPLE??? We only stayed ONE night! We did an afternoon rriver boat safari on arrival, had a beautiful malaysian dinner, then did a night walk, got up in the morning and did another river boat safari and that was it. The staff treated my senior mother like their own mother. Everything was perfect and I WILL be returning very soon. One of my favourite places in the world for wildlife viewing, after the serengeti.

Room Tip: Agamid wing - pay extra for aircon.. sit on your little balcony and watch bats fly around you and mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaidynI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
24.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
31.2 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#5 of 32 in Sandakan
614 reviews
5.4 mi away
Borneo Nature Lodge
Borneo Nature Lodge
#8 of 29 in Sandakan
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kinabatangan Jungle Camp
31.7 mi away
Nature Lodge Sepilok
Nature Lodge Sepilok
#5 of 29 in Sandakan
44 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
#2 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nature Lodge Kinabatangan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature Lodge Kinabatangan

Property: Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
Address: Kampung Bilit, Sandakan, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nature Lodge Kinabatangan 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic chalets and dormitory rooms set in Kampung Bilit Kinabatangan, be ready to watch abundance of wildlife from the comfort of boat rides. Transfers to and fro Nature Lodge Kinabatangan and meals are included in the tour prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Nature Lodge Kinabatangan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan Hotel Sandakan
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing