We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What it says on the tin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
Certificate of Excellence
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What it says on the tin”
Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

This place delivers exactly what it promises - a basic, but exciting nature experience. River cruises are the highlight. Night walk a waste of time and day walk only good for the exercise. Food pretty good with plenty of volume, but little choice. Our dorm was basic and shared bathroom also, but there was a hot shower. We got soaked on one river cruise when the rain came so come prepared. They hire wellington boots and you don't need leech socks. Recommended as good value and knowledgeable guides.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank IaninBourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    115
    40
    12
    8
See reviews for
39
156
50
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Great experience! If you love wildlife you should definatly go to this place. The guides are very much dedicated and very knowledgeable! We stayed in the dorm for 4 nights and it was fibe. Bring a musquitonet though! it is definatly worth staying more than two nights although the boattrips take the same routes each time you will see different wildlife everytime. You still need some luck though! Great place, great staff and definatly great value for money and very well organized!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlies1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Our family of four (kids aged 5 & 7) had a great jungle experience here. The frequency and variety of river boat trips and jungle walks was fabulous - mostly due to our knowledgable and enthusiastic guide, Helson. I really appreciated the care he took to ensure the kids safety - including carrying my daughter through the mud, in the dark, during a thunderstorm.
We felt no pressure to participate in all activities, which would have been too much for our kids to cope with. However we found the rigid meals timetable and no additional food available in between time did not work at all for kids. I would recommend BYO snacks!
The website and staff could be clearer regarding the rooms - beware, not all Agamid chalets have aircon...and it's hot!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Everything about this trip was fantastic.... so well organised and professional. The staff at the lodge are friendly and helpful, the guides are so knowledgeable and can spot animals from miles away that I struggle to even spot close up!!! - Mohammed was an awesome guide! Got to see a pygmy elephant, huge crocodiles, wild boar, snakes and heaps of monkeys. The rooms are clean and well looked after, great jungle setting, we chilled out at night on the balcony on our sun loungers with a tiger beer. The food is ridiculously good. Boat cruises are great, relaxing and see lots of animals. I didnt do the walk because couldnt walk after doing the mountain haha.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninx72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

In order to visit the jungle i Borneo you have to buy some kind of trip. So we went for the Lavartus Nature Lodge, Which is situated on the banks of Kinabatangan River.

We bought a 3D/2N trip for 480 MYR in July 2012 with a pick up at the Sepilok BnB, which is next to the Orangutan Centre. The Pick up cost an extra 30 MYR per person. The trip from Sepilok to the jungle camp takes around 2 hours.

The Jungle camp is part of the forest restoration area where most of the animals are born in captivity and later set out in the forest.

The Jungle camp had wifi, electricity and shower in you room. So it is not a primitive accommodation. You are served three meals buffet every day, så it is like being on a cruising trip.

We were on four boat trips one in the morning before breakfast and one in the evening before dinner. After dinner there will jungle walk with a guide. By the time you are on your third boat trip it will need some more variation because it's like you have been here before feeling. The sails to the exact spot either up river of down river since the trip have a fixed duration.

For the night walk there can be very muddy especially after some huge rains. Caterpiller boots can be rented for 10 MYR. Later after the trip, we found prices for new one for 20 MYR in the shops.

I think we were a bit unlucky with the night walk. We saw a frog and a sleeping bird during the one hour walk.

The best thing in the jungle walk was the boat trip and the hanging out with the other travellers.

The daytime jungle walk was a easy hike. But remember to bring plenty of insect repellent, torch light and camera with a good zoom.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller_from_DNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

This jungle tour is a great experience. Everything is arranged very well. Some remarks for improvement: the very tight schedule with almost no free time. we felt little rushed up. The breakfast should include also fresh fruits. We were sleeping in 4 pax dorm. It's ok but i suggest to take a chalet for liitle more luxury and own facilities.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J en M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I had an awesome trip. Our guide, Helson, was a fantastic guide. Very knowledgeable and a good animal spotter. Location is great, dorms are good. Seen lots of animals including oerang-oetans! Very good value for your money. A very refreshing experience seeing all the wildlife in this way.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pattynetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
24.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
31.2 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#5 of 32 in Sandakan
614 reviews
5.4 mi away
Borneo Nature Lodge
Borneo Nature Lodge
#8 of 29 in Sandakan
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kinabatangan Jungle Camp
31.7 mi away
Nature Lodge Sepilok
Nature Lodge Sepilok
#5 of 29 in Sandakan
44 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
#2 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nature Lodge Kinabatangan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature Lodge Kinabatangan

Property: Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
Address: Kampung Bilit, Sandakan, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nature Lodge Kinabatangan 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic chalets and dormitory rooms set in Kampung Bilit Kinabatangan, be ready to watch abundance of wildlife from the comfort of boat rides. Transfers to and fro Nature Lodge Kinabatangan and meals are included in the tour prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Nature Lodge Kinabatangan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan Hotel Sandakan
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing