We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Everything about this trip was fantastic.... so well organised and professional. The staff at the lodge are friendly and helpful, the guides are so knowledgeable and can spot animals from miles away that I struggle to even spot close up!!! - Mohammed was an awesome guide! Got to see a pygmy elephant, huge crocodiles, wild boar, snakes and heaps of monkeys. The rooms are clean and well looked after, great jungle setting, we chilled out at night on the balcony on our sun loungers with a tiger beer. The food is ridiculously good. Boat cruises are great, relaxing and see lots of animals. I didnt do the walk because couldnt walk after doing the mountain haha.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ninx72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
There are newer reviews for Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

216 - 222 of 354 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

In order to visit the jungle i Borneo you have to buy some kind of trip. So we went for the Lavartus Nature Lodge, Which is situated on the banks of Kinabatangan River.

We bought a 3D/2N trip for 480 MYR in July 2012 with a pick up at the Sepilok BnB, which is next to the Orangutan Centre. The Pick up cost an extra 30 MYR per person. The trip from Sepilok to the jungle camp takes around 2 hours.

The Jungle camp is part of the forest restoration area where most of the animals are born in captivity and later set out in the forest.

The Jungle camp had wifi, electricity and shower in you room. So it is not a primitive accommodation. You are served three meals buffet every day, så it is like being on a cruising trip.

We were on four boat trips one in the morning before breakfast and one in the evening before dinner. After dinner there will jungle walk with a guide. By the time you are on your third boat trip it will need some more variation because it's like you have been here before feeling. The sails to the exact spot either up river of down river since the trip have a fixed duration.

For the night walk there can be very muddy especially after some huge rains. Caterpiller boots can be rented for 10 MYR. Later after the trip, we found prices for new one for 20 MYR in the shops.

I think we were a bit unlucky with the night walk. We saw a frog and a sleeping bird during the one hour walk.

The best thing in the jungle walk was the boat trip and the hanging out with the other travellers.

The daytime jungle walk was a easy hike. But remember to bring plenty of insect repellent, torch light and camera with a good zoom.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller_from_DNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

This jungle tour is a great experience. Everything is arranged very well. Some remarks for improvement: the very tight schedule with almost no free time. we felt little rushed up. The breakfast should include also fresh fruits. We were sleeping in 4 pax dorm. It's ok but i suggest to take a chalet for liitle more luxury and own facilities.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J en M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I had an awesome trip. Our guide, Helson, was a fantastic guide. Very knowledgeable and a good animal spotter. Location is great, dorms are good. Seen lots of animals including oerang-oetans! Very good value for your money. A very refreshing experience seeing all the wildlife in this way.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pattynetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I visited the nature lodge for 3 days 2 nights and end up staying for 5 days. It was the cheapest place along the Kinabatangan as Uncle Tans had just upped its prices.
The food was amazing, 3 really good buffets per day, unlimited coffee and tea. The staff are absolutely fantastic. My birthday occured while there and they brought a cake all the way from Sandakan and surprise me with it after dinner.

The riverboat cruises are best, saw many birds, monkeys, macaues andd the odd orang utan. The night walk can be hit or miss but that is the nature of wildlife. The 1 complaint is the morning walk to the lake. There is really not much to see.

If you have time well worth staying some extra days. It's only 50 for room, food and all the tours, the longer you stay, the better value it is.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

A 3D2N packet isn't cheap anywhere but this may be the best "deal". It also means a lot of people. There were about 70 people when I stayed which filled 3 boats which instead of exploring on their own, crowded around animals - with other tour operator boats at any one time there could be 10 boats bobbing around with orangutan papparazzi in bright orange life jackets. We were not warned when we bought our package that all treks - day and night had been cancelled due to the presence of elephants, so we didn't get to see any of the forest except from our boats which replaced the treks. So, no tarziers, lemurs or any of the great animals people would pay to come to Borneo for. Why they couldn't just take us to another part of the park to trek is incomprehensible. Chalet is nice, food was great, coffee is only offered at certain times not free flow as we had been told. Very friendly staff. Night trek was just the boardwalk around the hotel for 15 minutes. Hugely disappointing that. Maybe try a different location if elephants pose a problem for this one. They said it's because of a gorging of a researcher in 2008 in a completely different park that they don't go out on the trek - that's actually not a good enough reason for me. Also transport was confusing as we were told to rush in the morning to cross, and when we did found the coordination of passengers in progress for a good 20 minutes. Nice people, nice setting, but if you're coming for the trekking beware it might not happen. We did see orangutans and hornbills - distant, so bring your binoculars!

Room Tip: Dorms are spacious - lots of room for your stuff and quiet. The next level up is rather tight, a tw...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunrisesintheeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Usually I like to travel on my own but during my 4 weeks in Sabah I have decided to make this package tour (3D/2N). It turned out to be a satisfying experience and good value. Everything was good organized, we had a wonderful guide (thank you Henson), the staff was friendly and the food was above average and plentiful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 61hitchhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
24.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
5.4 mi away
Borneo Nature Lodge
Borneo Nature Lodge
#7 of 29 in Sandakan
189 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kinabatangan Jungle Camp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Sukau Greenview Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
#1 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resort
Borneo Natural Sukau Bilit Resor...
#3 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nature Lodge Kinabatangan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature Lodge Kinabatangan

Address: Kampung Bilit, Sandakan, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Sandakan
Price Range: $84 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nature Lodge Kinabatangan 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic chalets and dormitory rooms set in Kampung Bilit Kinabatangan, be ready to watch abundance of wildlife from the comfort of boat rides. Transfers to and fro Nature Lodge Kinabatangan and meals are included in the tour prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Nature Lodge Kinabatangan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan Hotel Sandakan
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing