We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointing”
Review of S'kan Styles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
S'kan Styles Hotel
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Sandakan
Reviewed May 7, 2014

My partner and I stayed here in late April/early May 2014, two nights with a few nights away in between as we went to the Kinabatangan River. The first night we stayed here we got one of the older rooms, with a waterfront view. The room was quite old and tired, which is understandable given that they're in the process of renovating the hotel. The only issue we had with the room was that the safe was locked when we arrived, and despite two calls to reception and assurances that someone would be up soon to sort it out, no one came.

The second night we stayed we were given a renovated room (still waterfront view; same price as the other room). The renovated room was very nice and fresh, although it seems that the tap/basin could have been done a bit differently as the tap is so close to the edge of the basin that water goes everywhere when you wash your hands. The major issue we had with this room was that there was absolutely no cold water available - seemed to be a plumbing issue related to the renovations. We spoke to the manager and he apologised for the inconvenience, but advised that nothing could be done as no other rooms were available. This was a big problem for us, as the lack of cold water meant that we couldn't have showers (hot water was boiling) and the toilet wouldn't flush. We were not offered any sort of compensation which was disappointing.

Overall the hotel is in a great location and the updated rooms are nice, but there are clearly some issues at the moment. We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbarella83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riganda, Manajer at S'kan Styles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear Barbarella83,

Thank you very much for your time to share your comment during your stay with us. I understood your disapointment of our service and situation that has happened.

Indeed we were at that time having the problem with the plumbing. We were very sorry of this situation and they way we handled it that was not meet to your sarisfaction.

We will work together with the team to rectify our service for futur improvement. Therefore the problem has been solved and major renovation has passed and now we have rebranded as Ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront

As part of our effort to regain your confidence, please to accept our offer for two nights complimentary stay in one of our suite room including breakfast for your next trip to Sandakan.

Please contact us for futhter arrangement. Hope to see you soon.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 140 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2014

This hotel has a good location. Unfortunately there was a convention in town and we had a room facing the back street. If you can, ask for one facing the water.
Good service. Room a bit small but in good condition and clean!
You can walk around and see a lot of the town. We walked to the Fish Market, very close to the hotel, and it was quite an AMAZING experience! Tons and tons of fish for sale!
If you have a car, there is free parking in a big parking structure nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gloria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

A lucky Find right on the waterfront with lots of eateries.
After leaving another hotel due to mold odor we checked out several hotels in the area and found this one to be the best value with a fabulous view of ocean with wall to ceiling window and excellent service. The ownership must be very new as they were doing remolding while we were there. It never disturbed us so noise was not a factor. We stayed in the original room which seemed fine. The rooms are very small so there is not much room to put your things (I hope they plan for that during their remolding). Windows open which is nice to have that breeze. Beds were a little hard (we had softer) so maybe they will be changing the mattress to make beds more comfortable. A/C worked fine but internet was off and on in the room. There was a safe, hair dryer and a small closet. The room was clean with nice bedding. The bathroom was small with a powerful shower and plenty of hot water. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The free buffet breakfast was not so great with cold food and not a good selection.

Room Tip: Get an Oceanfront view on the East side (far right) higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nblapaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

This hotel is in a pretty good location right on the harbour. It has a new shopping mall next door and lots of local restaurants close by, plus a couple of reflexology places. The Harbour cafe is close as well and open until late. The room I had on the corner on the 6th floor was ok, however I had no view of the harbour as there was a building directly in front of my window. It was large and comfortable, though there was some mould and a mouldy smell in the bathroom. They were also doing renovations on the level in several of the rooms so there was a little noise and smell of paint and glue in the hall. The breakfast included was just average but certainly normal for this level of hotel. Sandakan downtown is fairly small and easy to get around and is location is good as a central point. The central and wet markets are close by as well. Location is the best point of this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the right had side of the building as it faces the sea, and on the upper levels would have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicklamport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Nice hotel on the waterfront. Rooms are good and comfortable. Free WiFi and refrigerator. I booked a delux room with a waterview through Agoda and was upgraded to a suite which had a nice shower and bathroom, comfortable bed, 2 t.v.s, 2 rooms and 2 bathrooms. Staff were all pleasant. Breakfast was ok.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Thank updog247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

What a pleasant surprise this hotel was .$43 for a double room over looking the water .
Room was very clean and everything you would need and also included buffet breakfast for two which was of high quality .Staff where friendly and offered a late check out free of charge as we had a late flight .Location was terrific and easy to access tourist areas .

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flashbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

You know that feeling when you step into your room and the first thing you say is. "Awesome!" Not just because you are looking out over the ocean at fishing boats and ocean liners from your six foot wide, wall to floor window. Not just because the room is tidy, brightly coloured and modern, or because the bathroom is clean, bright, and tastefully decorated with a full force killer hot shower. Not just because the included breakfast is served in a terrace restaurant that overlooks the ocean. And not simply because of the excellent location with a selection of seaside restaurants to pick from, nearby shopping, and if you are lucky as we were, entertainment on the nearby seaside promenade. No, it is awesome because all of the above is included in the delightfully inexpensive room rate, along with friendly accommodating service.

We were drawn to this hotel because it had been previously owned by the Swiss Inn
Hotel chain that we had had positive experiences with elsewhere. We discovered upon arrival that it had recently changed ownership, but that seemed to make no difference. Would we stay here again? Go figure. In a minute. Do yourself a favour and make a booking at The Hotel Sandakan Waterfront if you can. We definitely recommend requesting a sea view room on a high floor.

Room Tip: Definitely request a sea view room on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandakan hotels
0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
0.8 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 33 in Sandakan
545 reviews
0.2 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#9 of 33 in Sandakan
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan
Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan
#24 of 33 in Sandakan
59 reviews
11.9 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#4 of 33 in Sandakan
671 reviews
1.9 mi away
Borneo Cove Hotel
Borneo Cove Hotel
#22 of 33 in Sandakan
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to S'kan Styles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about S'kan Styles Hotel

Address: HS 12 Sandakan Harbour Square, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia (Formerly Ibis Styles Sandakan Waterfront Sabah)
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range: $29 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — S'kan Styles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically situated at the Sandakan Harbour Square, a prominent leisure and commercial hub in Sabah, S’kan Styles Hotel is a trendy, colorful-designed hotel standard facilities to accommodate both international and domestic travelers. This part of the beautiful Borneo Island has so much to offer to all travelers with its tropical paradise and renowned ecotourism adventures. S’kan Styles Hotel has 133 well-appointed rooms and suites with vibrant colors and design, overlooking either the waterfront or bustling Sandakan town. Each room offers the ultimate sleep with bedding, minibar, LCD flat screen TV, tea-coffee maker and free Wi-Fi internet access throughout the hotel. Private bathrooms are fitted with a rain shower. Near the hotel, guests will find an eclectic mix of unique shops and chic sidewalk cafes. To mingle with the locals, head to the central market where local produce and fresh-from-the-sea seafood can be found. The hotel is located only a 30-minute drive from the Sandakan Airport. Guests can also explore wide range of famous ecotourism destinations nearby, such as Sepilok Orang Utan conservation, Kinabatangan river cruise, Bornean Sun Bear Conservation Centre, and many more. TREATS Restaurant & rooftop, overlooking a beautiful ocean view where perfect spots for both business and leisure travelers to relax and experience the various food and beverage options available throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your S'kan Styles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Inn Waterfront Sandakan Hotel Sandakan
Swiss Hotel Waterfront Sandakan
S'Kan Styles Hotel Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing