We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I like this hotel, it is located at strategic location and so close to sandakan city bay, it give me easy access to many place in sandakan.during my stay there, almost every afternoon I went to sea bay to see beautiful ocean and scenery, it is unforgettable moment. the hotel staff in charge are so welcoming and nice. she tell many things about sandakan.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MountainLion7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 157 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2014

The Seaview Sandakan Budget Hotel is well located and easily found on a street in front of the central market and almost next door to the recently opened Sheraton Hotel with a now limited sea view from the common area and front rooms. The hotel is also next door to the only modern shopping mall in town. That places it away from the crowded main streets of Harbour Square.

At the market opposite which is on three levels you can buy fresh fruit, vegetables, meat and fish. The tuna and prawns are priced for locals and strongly recommended, You can cook for yourself at the Guest House or ask a member of staff to prepare you a meal if they dont offer to do so first. The market also has a food hall offering a multitude of ethnic menus. A further area of the market caters for practical things such as clothing and make-up...all at local prices.

On the east side of the market you will find fishing boats and smaller craft that take food and water to those who inhabit the many islands. These boats also take locals. If you are smart you can negotiate a trip for a few ringits.

The rooms at the hotel are clean and spacious. Its the only establishment I know in Sabah to have quietly piped classical music. If you want personal space this establishment is for you. The wi fi has a very good signal and, importantly, the water pressure is excellent.

The best quality of the Seaview Sadakan is its owner and staff. Anything can be arranged....just ask! The lotel is a hidden gem within the low-cost range.

Room Tip: Dorms are spacious with under- occupancy. This place is an unknown gem!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlie4622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The stay was awesome. The owner was very welcoming and she even offered to massage me when she knew I was in pain and not feeling well. Besides, the cafe here do offer meals to be cooked specially for you. You may purchase prawns,lobsters and myriad of fish choices in the early morning around 3am to 5am from the fishermen who just caught them and give to the owner to cook them for you. All the tours can be arranged for you as well as long as you have discussed with the owner of the hotel.

If I was to say something, please make sure that the owner is here while you come to stay around. It will definitely be worth it. You will feel at home..:)

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank themask18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

During my trip to the jungle, which started from Sepilok, I decided to stay the night before at this hostel. The hostel staff were really really nice, especially the manager Nabistul. During my time there was also a volunteer worker called Eve. Both of them were very kind and helped me to organize the bus ride or cooked dinner. I felt really comfortable there and would highly recommend everyone to stay there.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
Thank mrhong123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Sea View is run by a lovely lady called Nabistul who with her staff will do anything to make you feel at home. Make sure to talk to Nabistul if there's anything you want to do in or around Sandakan as she has a wealth of information.

The room rates come with breakfast and the morning pancakes are great especially as it's a nice change from the standard toast you get in most other places. Free wifi, laundry is done quickly and the pumpkin curry in the Lemongrass cafe upstairs is fantastic! Also it's probably the only place in Sandakan where you can rent a (semi-automatic) motorbike for a very decent price. The market is right opposite the guesthouse and there you can get a fresh coconut every morning to go with your pancake.

When we were there we were invited by Nabistul to go an exploratory tour that covered a secluded beach, mangroves and small local villages by boat. Not sure if the tour is set up officially yet, but make sure to ask about it as it was a great experience, with miles of mangroves, lots of monkeys and very hospitable local people.

Stay here if you're looking for a place with character, with lots of information on the area and with caring people?

Room Tip: Lots of different options, with AC or fan, dorms, doubles, triples or even family rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkManama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

This hostel is a interesting mix. It is Indian owned with mostly Flipino staff. The main employee is from Palawan and she has the hospitality from there and imports it into Sabah. Great people and great place.

The location is good and makes up for any lack in facilities. It also is about 30 meters from McDonalds if you need the Western food.

The town is a mixture of Islamic, Filipino, Chinese, and Malay cultures. Quite interesting.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank PeterVandever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

After reading alle the good reviews I must admit I was quite dissappointed. I booked an Ensuite room with a bed that was broken, the bathroom door could nok close, bathroom was dirty and all in all the room was not that nice compared to the price. Other than that the breakfast was just pancakes with syrup so it was not a solid meal. And one more quite fun thing is that it has nothing to do with any seaview since what you look at from their restaurant is a market/mall.
For backpackers that needs 1-2 nights it is ok but this is not really for the more comrfortable travellers.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MP1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
1.4 mi away
Hsiang Garden Hotel
Hsiang Garden Hotel
#12 of 33 in Sandakan
40 reviews
0.2 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#8 of 33 in Sandakan
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
662 reviews
11.9 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#5 of 33 in Sandakan
652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sandakan
Hotel Sandakan
#11 of 33 in Sandakan
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel

Address: Lot 126 Harbour Square 14 Jalan Dua | opposite Sandakan Central Market, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia (Formerly Sunset Harbour Botik Hostel)
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Sandakan
Price Range: $11 - $15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old world charm and views of Sulu Sea can be enjoyed at Sea View Sandakan Budget and Backpackers Hotel. Upon arrival, guests are welcomed with traditional banana fritters and a drink. Perfectly located in the heart of Sandakan Town, Sea View is on the waterfront opposite the Central Market and within walking distance of banks, ATMs, currency exchange booths, tourist attractions, convenience stores, malls and local transportation. The second largest city in Sabah, Sandakan is known as a seafood haven and a gateway to many tourist attractions. Tour packages to Sepilok Orang-utan Rehabilitation Centre, Labuk Bay Proboscis Monkey Sanctuary, Stilt House Water Village, Selingan Turtle Island Park, Kinabatangan River Cruise and Goamantong Cave can be organised through our onsite tour operator. We can also provide advice on local attractions. We have FREE WiFi, FREE traditional pancake breakfast, FREE welcome drink with traditional banana fritters, FREE towels, FREE travel and tour information, FREE lockers, book exchange, showers and a common room. Guest Facilities: For a small charge we can provide Malaysian cooking lessons using traditional family recipes (subject to chef’s availability), laundry service, foot & arm reflexology, tea & coffee making, kitchen use, printing/scanning, luggage storage and we also have a motorcycle. We can provide room service on request from our onsite restaurant which specialises in traditional family pancakes but also serves local cuisine, fresh seafood dishes and both vegetarian and non-vegetarian meals are available. Late breakfast is available and the kitchen can provide packed lunches upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing