We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Checked out after first night” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel
1 review
“Checked out after first night”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

I don't know how this place has got such great reviews. The lady the runs the place is gem but I can't say anything else good about the place. We booked online for a twin room - RM35 each, to find that it was a fan room. When we asked for aircon we were told to pay extra despite the place being deserted and not being given a choice online. RM35 for a fan room seems extortionate anyway, let alone when the only view out of the window is of 3 women sleeping on public benches.
The room we moved to smelt like an old lady's wardrobe, it felt dirty though the bed linen was clean.
Basically the property is old and damp and not much has been done to bring it up to date.
The amazing breakfast that everyone harps on about was one pancake and one cup of tea- you get charged for more.

Checked into harbourview the second night, beautiful and clean and cheaper!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBotanistKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NabistulMislia, Manager at Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear valued guest,

As you mentioned in the review that you stayed in June, our record does not show any booking made in a fan room with RM35 per person and we never had SUCH rate in June. Please submit prove of booking in June or prior for June stay. However, in July we are able to trace a booking in fan twin and July being peak season, there was surcharge applies.

In all booking engines fan and airconditioning room choice is offered clearly.. So what you wrote is not correct at all.

We are doing our best to upgrade gradually because this property is old.

We maintain the cost of additional pancake at RM1 although many suggests more. Usually one gets full with 1 pancake.

Awaiting you sending prove of booking for stay in JUNE via email seaviewsandakan@yahoo.com

Regards...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    47
    15
    11
    5
See reviews for
10
46
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We only slept one night here, because we wanted to visit Sepilok and the Kinabatangan river. My friend and I had not yet decided which river cruise we wanted to book and the lady (the owner) gave us some really helpful information. She adviced us to book another rivercruise than we had chosen because she had heard that the rare pygmee elephant was spotted there. And, thanks to her we did saw them!!
She also arranged a small city tour (including Sepilok) for us, which was very cheap.

The rooms are basic and the breakfast is good. But the biggest plus of this hotel is the very friendly owner!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomaartje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

This area is recovering slowly from the safety issues in March. The town itself was not affected by the conflict, apart from an increase in Navy, and military presence. However the tourists left. All quiet now.
The hotel is positioned well behind the Sheraton, and just back from the sea. The central market is over the road, well worth a visit. The rooms I stayed in we're double twin, with shared bathroom. They were basic, but comfy. The first had no wifi but did have a mirror. The second had wifi but no mirror. Both had a fan, but aircon is available. Both had a peep view of the sea.
The bathrooms are a bit basic, with shower and toilet together, but hot water works well.
The lady who runs the hotel is very friendly and helpful. Welcoming tea and banana fritters, and pancakes with palm sugar syrup for breakfast! People from the hotel next door were coming in for breakfast and a chat. The Lemongrass cafe, also run by the hotel is worth trying.
For a budget hotel with a friendly atmosphere, this is good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

I had a quite a gruelling and delayed journey to Sandakan and by the end of it I arrived in the evening rather tired and moody. So what a delight it was to enter Sea View and get the best hostel welcoming ever received in my travels. From the moment you enter, the entire duration of my stay and even upon on leaving! You feel like you've just spent some time with family. All the facilities were in order and the food served downstairs was fantastic which that home made feeling about it. Rooms were very clean and spacious and the set up of the hostel meant your belongings were always safe. If ever in Sandakan, I recommend as a must stay for all travellers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanus-Phogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

This budget hotel has a very good location which is opposite is the Sandakan Central Market and centrallly located. You can have your daily breadfast, lunch or early dinner in the market, but this hotel has a dialy breadfast of pancakes and coffee or tea. The hotel has a new coat of paint on the inside & outside. The rooms comes in double with inside toilet, or rooms with shared bathrooms and toilet and dorms. One must remember to enter the hotel via a side door upstairs thru a shop. You may be excuse if you have trouble to find where the entrance is! The hotel is managed by a friendly manager who somehow go all out to help you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viola, Liguria, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The atmosphere was nice and really friendly. The owner took the time to give us a personalize attention, explaining the sightseeings of the city. But the best is the familiar atmosphere felt in the hostel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fakunin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was the cheapest place I found in town (Hostel World/Hostel Bookers / Lonely Planet). As such I did not expect much. However the owner and staff were REALLY lovely and helpful.

I was given a drink (tea or coffee) and some banana fritters for free on arrival. They served me - no 'get it yourself' attitude here. They sat me down and genuinely wanted to know about me.

The dorm I stayed in was nice, clean and comfortable.

Breakfast was a pancake with jam. The owner was excited by this "we don't just give you toast - we make you a pancake'. They were taking the time to do something different. She found out it was my birthday the night before so to celebrate I was made a pancake with Nuttella, Banana and ice cream! :-D

The showers and toilets (Western style) were small but clean and working well.

The location was also great. Right in the middle of town and by the sea front (hence the name). You can walk everywhere from here easily.

They had very good WiFi but it did not reach the bedroom. They have a lounge area though so all good.

The dorm rooms lacked many electrical sockets so if many in your room recharging phones etc might be tricky. The website mentions free water but this was not the case and although it said linen was included I only got a matress sheet, nothing to sleep under (not an issue - I am a backpacker and this is common, I have my own).

Finally atmosphere was lacking as the hostel was nearly empty, but it was not peak season and Sandakan is hardly a kicking place! This also meant I had a private room for the price of a dorm!

The negatives here are nit picking really for completeness sake of the review. I loved the place and would highly recommend it. I would happily stay there again! The place is cheap, great for the money and the personal touches and service are excellent. RECOMMENDED!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoloBurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
0.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
0.3 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#4 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
11.9 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#6 of 32 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.1 mi away
S'kan Styles Hotel
S'kan Styles Hotel
#7 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hsiang Garden Hotel
Hsiang Garden Hotel
#9 of 32 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel

Property: Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel
Address: Lot 126 Harbour Square 14 Jalan Dua | opposite Sandakan Central Market, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia (Formerly Sunset Harbour Botik Hostel)
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old world charm and views of Sulu Sea can be enjoyed at Sea View Sandakan Budget and Backpackers Hotel. Upon arrival, guests are welcomed with traditional banana fritters and a drink. Perfectly located in the heart of Sandakan Town, Sea View is on the waterfront opposite the Central Market and within walking distance of banks, ATMs, currency exchange booths, tourist attractions, convenience stores, malls and local transportation. The second largest city in Sabah, Sandakan is known as a seafood haven and a gateway to many tourist attractions. Tour packages to Sepilok Orang-utan Rehabilitation Centre, Labuk Bay Proboscis Monkey Sanctuary, Stilt House Water Village, Selingan Turtle Island Park, Kinabatangan River Cruise and Goamantong Cave can be organised through our onsite tour operator. We can also provide advice on local attractions. We have FREE WiFi, FREE traditional pancake breakfast, FREE welcome drink with traditional banana fritters, FREE towels, FREE travel and tour information, FREE lockers, book exchange, showers and a common room. Guest Facilities: For a small charge we can provide Malaysian cooking lessons using traditional family recipes (subject to chef’s availability), laundry service, foot & arm reflexology, tea & coffee making, kitchen use, printing/scanning, luggage storage and we also have a motorcycle. We can provide room service on request from our onsite restaurant which specialises in traditional family pancakes but also serves local cuisine, fresh seafood dishes and both vegetarian and non-vegetarian meals are available. Late breakfast is available and the kitchen can provide packed lunches upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Sandakan Budget & Backpackers Hotel Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing