We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodating and Helpful Staff”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Sipadan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Borneo Divers Mabul Island Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Pulau Sipadan
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Accommodating and Helpful Staff”
Reviewed June 6, 2010

First time to Borneo Divers after hearing much about its long history in Sipadan. I always knew that there was a quota to dive at Sipadan and I was quite surprised that I managed to get 3 days of diving at Sipadan in 5 days of stay. Maybe, it's because of the small number of customers around that time I guess.

Another thing, the people there are very helpful. They were slightly late when picking me up from the airport and they felt very guilty about it despite the fact that I told them it was ok. They were very accommodating to some of my requests in the room.

On top of that, the reason why I chose them over other resorts is because they are willing to pair me up with other guests so that I won't need to pay the expensive single occupancy surcharge. This is unlike other resorts around there. In the end, I still got the room to myself as the resort wasn't full that time.

Diving was great, for those who dive at Sipadan, you should know. Dive masters are helpful.

Only one regret would be the quality of the room. Heard from them that they are upgrading them soon. Hope to see the new rooms when I'm back =)

Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank peterong1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    92
    34
    10
    10
See reviews for
22
87
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2010

For diving in sipadan, you have a choice of resorts on Mabul, the floating resort of Kapali, or Semporna if you really want a long boat ride out to the island. It seems late Jan early Feb is the quiet time. The resort gets 12 permits, and didn't even have 12 divers every day. Even when it is busy, capacity is only 50ish, so you have a good chance of getting a permit.
Rooms are basic, but OK. Bathrooms are well past their sell-by-date but clean (apart from the beach bar facilities!). Meals are hit and miss - often food is cold, and although it is varied comes nowwhere near the standard I've experienced on red sea livaboards. Check google maps for a view of the island, Borneo Divers resort is clearly visible with rows of chalets.
Biggest disappointment was the communication of dive schedules (with only one group diving it should be simple) and the running of dives at Sipadan. it's a 7:30 depart, 3x45 min dives and back by 1:30 in time for lunch. Very minimal surface intervals, set up for short visits, not several days diving in a row. Dive guides were also not interested in making the dives interesting. I don't care if they are bored, I'm paying them to guide me and enthuse me.
Free internet works some days, and is dog slow. Maybe it was only because it was quiet season, but the resort generator was only run in the early mornings and evening, so the late checkout time meant sat about with nothing to do.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tsh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2010

Reception
- Very friendly guy, Taufik :)

Chalet
- Spaces and clean :)
- Small bathroom with very low water pressure and smelly soap :(

Food & Beverages
- Served 5 times a day :)
- Not tasty :(
- Terrible juice :(

Dive Sation
- Service is top :)
- Will look for Diver Master Emily and Alister again next visit :)
- Very helpful dive station supervisor, Amin :)
- Underwater scooter is a let down :(

Stayed 6D5N, done 4 days in Sipadan. It was the my best diving trip with a very friendly Dive Master Emily.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tinjus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2010

Having been to the Mabul/Sipadan islands 8 times since Nov 2007, BDMR has been my base when diving Mabul, Sipadan and its surrounding islands...

i have stayed here 5 times with the last being in Dec of 2009... on the other 3 occasions
i stayed at Seaventures, SWV and a budget operator.

What made me keep going back to BDMR was the the exceptional staff there who ensured my stay from the very 1st trip was simply awesome...

their friendliness and simplicity was astounding and while they are serious about their
work scope, they go about doing it in a very laid back manner...

Kudos to Ramesh who has risen over the ranks to become acting resort manager... This young man goes out of his way to ensures guests demands are met thus setting an example for the rest of the staff...

The Dive Operations managed by Steven is smooth run with virtually no hiccups... If you guys want an extremely good dive master, this gentleman is the one you would want to seek out...

Having said that Lianah, Amanda , Tony, Emily, Alistar, Maadil, and the rest of DM's here are equally familiar with the islands and all you have to do is tell them what you want to see... Underwater of course!!!

Siti and the gang from F & B dept ensure thet guest have more than enough food throughout the day... Lum, the resident Chef has upgrade his culinary skills... new dishes have been introduced to the buffet line and the dessert cart has additions too..

The rooms are still as comfy as ever but on this trip the room that was given to me had problems with the air-conditioning and the shower....

i have many changes over the last 2 years in BDMR and its been all for the good...

i wouldn't hesitate to recommend BDMR to all of you... 5 visits there speaks for it's self!

Keep up the good work guys!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beardivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2009

This is the dive vacation for my husband and I 6 motnhs after our vacation in Palau in Feb.

Diving in Asia is fantastic. We have been to El Nido in Philippines, Manado in Indonesian and Palau in Micronesia. All were extraordinary without any complain. Though the price for these 3 places are very different, still all places are value for the moeny we paid.

We decided to go Sipadan in the very last minute, though is still talking about 2 weeks before departure. Our priority for the resort is Smart Resort or Kapalai Resort. Both were fully booked. Borneo was the only one they have room available. And now I know why they have room available.

Before departure my husband took a look of the reviews in tripadvisor, we are frequent user of tripadvisor. He found only 1 bad comment on Borneo so he thinks this reosrt should be alright. But I have to tell you, Thames Valley John is the only one who tells the truth! I cannot rate any start to this resort, because it is not a hotel at all! It is only a guest house!

Accomodation:
Everything is minimal. Room is basically clean but the bathroom is a drama. When we have a look of the toilet we first came in, the water in the toilet is all dark! I didn't know what it is and I didn't want to guess, so I flushed the toilet immediately. Then we tried to take a shower, but the water came out from the shower was minimal! It was like rain drop from the sky! So usually it took us 30 minutes to finish a shower while normally we need 15 minutes.
The water heater was out of order during my whole stay. The first night I found out that it didn't work, I went to the reception to ask for help. The girl said to me there is a switch in the room may be I didn't turn it off. So I checked and confirmed to that the switch is on and tried on the second night. It worked for 3 second and then was out again! Diring I was having dinner, one of the staff was nice and came to me to ask if everything is alright. I didn't complain a lot and told him just the water heater and asked him if anyone could fix it for me. Of course, at the end of the day nobody cares and I washed with cold water for the whole trip!

Food
Choice and quality, minimal. They have everything you need in a meal - meat, vegetable, carbohydrate (rice and bread) and soup.....and that is! This is not we expected for a vacation because we are not students anymore and we the money we paid is not for youth hostel! And I guess because of religious reason, we can only have chicken and lamb. No pork. And my husband does not eat lamb. For several nights they served only lamb, my husband has nothing to eat!!!

Diving
Compare to other resorts we have been, the organization is also minimal. After a 1.5 hours car ride and then 50 minutes of rough sea ride, we arrived the resort immediately. Then, we were not even allowed to go back to our room, we have to start the first dive immediately! I was shocked by this arrangement because I am a beginner I was not well prepared for diving after a long ride. The first dive turned out to be not enjoyable. I felt like I am a student in the school!

Sipadan has a policy to restrict the number of divers everyday. Basically you will have at least 1 day to dive there. I will say it is good. But in the days after , the dives were not good because of low visibility. Most of all is the problem of dive master. As John said, the briefing is very little. The DM didn't ask me where we want to go and what you want to see even he was with the same group of people for 3 days! From my experience, the DM will discuss with divers to go a place where everybody would like to go after several dives. He never communicated with us. The worst case is on the last day, we were lucky to have a sunny day and good visibility, we had good coral dives in the morning. But suddenly he brought us to artificial in the afternoon near Kapalai where there was nothing to see! There are thousands of kilometers of corals in this island we totall didn't understand why he brought us to this stuff and destroyed our last dive here.

Service
Staff are basically friendly. But I feel that they are having vacation with us, not working there. There is a TV room in the resort. One afternoon after diving my husband tried to watch some sports programms in the TV room. When we stepped in, there were 2 staff there watching a movie channel. My husband was polite and asked them if there is any sports channel available here. The girl said yes but she didn't leave or change the channel. I think in this guest house, they don't know who is the guet and who has the priority to use the service.

All in all, Sipadan is a good place for diving. But you should find a right place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Chanelno19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2009

This is going to be a bit of a mixed review so I will split it into sections

Accommodation: the bedrooms are simple and adequate for 2 persons. The beds are comfy and clean. The bathrooms are a disgrace. Small with dirty, cracked or missing tiles. Toilets are unstable with poorly fitted seats. No hot tap for the sink. The power shower is not and the water that comes out smells. The drain from the shower drops out under the floor and is not properly plumbed in. The air conditioning does not cover the bathroom and at midday cannot cope with cooling the bedroom. The doors don’t fit properly and this does not help with dealing with the insects that bite at night.

Food: not good. Poorly made and very limited. I lost weight whilst at the resort. The bread is so sweet that it is barely edible. The food improved dramatically once a party of Americans and representatives from National Geographic arrived suggesting that improvements were possible. Beer, on the expensive side and you need to shop around to get a cold one.

Staff: the staff on site really do their best with the limited recourses they have. Problems that can be solved are and those that need investment are not. Everybody is pleasant, happy and determined to look after the guests if they can. Amin who runs the dive centre is a diamond. Luggage and kit is moved around by the staff and they want to help you have a nice time.

Diving: very different from all other centres I have been to. The style is very laid back. The divemasters look after guests by assembling equipment and leading them on dives and they know their sites very well. Briefings are very short and less than cursory. If you are a competent diver who knows their stuff this laid back approach will suit you and if you need your hand holding you are going to be less happy. All dives have a current element to them and this increases the amount of large animals you see. Maldives divers will love it and those who don’t like current diving wont. Diving on Sipadan is outstanding and is one long firework display. Diving on Mabul is rubbish with poor vis and little to photograph. Sleep with who you have to but get to Sipadan but the system is a lottery and luck matters. I was lucky others were not.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThamesValleyJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

Turn up with a chilled expectation to what you're going to get and you'll have a great time. I was there at the same time as the reviewer complaining about the preferential treatment of the Australian Group. They didn't dive Sipadan everyday as was suggested.

Yes, it's quite expensive, but it was basically the same as the other resorts. If you want something cheaper, stay in Semporna, but you WILL regret it.

We only got to dive Sip on one day, which was disappointing, but we did do 4 dives on that day. Diving around Mabul itself was surprisingly good. [I say this a diving instructor, myself, with 700+ dives logged]

The best advice is to make sure that Borneo Divers have your dive qualifications and passport details well in advance. They can't allocate anthing without these.

The accommodation was clean, the food OK. I don't recall leftovers being re-served. There was always something to eat and drink. Beer was expensive, but no more or less than anywhere else in the major towns.

There aren't many resorts or places that you will see turtles during a check dive, virtually on the shore.

Go for it, but plan and book as far ahead as you can to improve your chances of Sip diving.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Speedos70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Sipadan
28.9 mi away
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 5 in Pulau Sipadan
404 reviews
14.2 mi away
City Inn Semporna
City Inn Semporna
#5 of 7 in Semporna
31 reviews
16.1 mi away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Sipadan Inn 2
Sipadan Inn 2
#2 of 7 in Semporna
75 reviews
16.2 mi away
Sipadan Inn
Sipadan Inn
#3 of 7 in Semporna
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seahorse Sipadan Scuba Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borneo Divers Mabul Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Divers Mabul Island Resort

Property: Borneo Divers Mabul Island Resort
Address: Pulau Sipadan, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Sipadan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Pulau Sipadan
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Borneo Divers Mabul Island Hotel Pulau Sipadan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing