We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Borneo Divers - great dive team”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Sipadan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Borneo Divers Mabul Island Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Pulau Sipadan
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Borneo Divers - great dive team”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We spent 5 nights at Borneo Divers Mabul Resort. The resort itself is a little basic but clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was not to my taste as I'm not a fan of asian food, but I could always find something to fill the gap. The communal dining area is great because it allows divers from all walks of life to sit down and discuss where they've been, what they've done, and share stories and advice.

The dive team were excellent, well organised and professional. The equipment likewise was in good functional order unlike may we have seen.

Day trips to Sipadan were a "day trip", The other resort we visited left at 6am and squeezed in 3 dives before a 12pm return. If we wanted to go back to Sipadan we had to pay extra, otherwise it was a boring afternoon with nothing to do.. Not so at Borneo Divers. We left at a very civilised 8am, 4 dives for the day, very tiring, but with surface intervals on the island with plenty of snacks and drinks provided. The local diving at Mabul and Kapalai was nothing exceptional but still good. Sipadan was amazing. We're self-confessed dive snobs and pretty hard to impress!!!

Overall I would happily recommend Borneo Divers to my friends and customers. Karon Afrikan Majik Safari & Dive Tours.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keastley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    90
    33
    10
    10
See reviews for
21
85
32
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We just stayed there for 4 nights and have 3 full day dive with their arrangement.

Everyday they got different food variety and all is delicious. Infinite drinks and cookies and bread are good for hungry divers too.

Diving equipments are in good condition for rental and they have good dive masters. We followed dive master Emily and Gene for total 11 dives. Underwater video taking service makes the diving trip memorable to us and the video is our best souvenir of the trip.

Overall all the staff are very friendly and feel touching when everybody say goodbye when we got on the boat leaving.

Room Tip: Book direct with them and get Sipadan License with them is much more valuable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kotzekai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Great room, decent food, lovely beach and jetty.
diving around Mabul is pretty good, although not remarkable. Sipidan is amazing and Mabul offers a great base. it's a little pricey but it is a great location so probably understandable.

Room Tip: ask EVERYDAY for spare Sipidan passes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We stay here 6 days 5 nights and have 4 days divings. We love the resort's arrangement for everything. Before departure I get lots of negative comments here and feel we made wrong design, but don't they are true anymore from the first day. Yes its shower is terrible, but I've ever seen much worse in some island in Palau, all is because everything needed supplied from main island, so I think it's ok. Food is good and changed everyday, fruit, coffee, cookies, all are enough for your diving and resting time. There is even BBQ one night. Unless you don't like half of dishes are Chinese style, or you are unfriendly to some country people, I can't image any reason you don't like this resort, especially after you walk through other region like Scuba Junkie beside.
住在這邊很滿意,沙灘維護地比周遭好,3夜以上就保証有一個西巴丹島許可証,比其他飯店多,潛水器材維護地不錯,自備器材的情形也會幫你注意,不必擔心失竊。中餐多適合華人的胃口。

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank court0043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Borneo divers resort could be great, but it is not. They have a nicer beach location than the other resorts in the area, their rooms are big, and the buildings for the bar, restaurant and dive center also have great potential. Unfortunately it doesn't seem the place has a management. Our bathroom was in terrible condition (stained floor, bad smell, not even a shower curtain so each shower turned the bathroom into a swimming pool), it looked very simple to fix if someone cared to do it. Same goes to many other aspects of the hotel, food was acceptable but many dishes were served already cold, how hard is it to correct that problem?
The diving in Sipadan (and Mabul) was great as we expected, the dive masters and boat captains did their best for a great experience. But for me the boats were missing a proper place for cameras (water tank), again something simple to provide if management cared to do it. I also need to mention that a piece of my wife's equipment (a nice dive bandana she got in Palau) went missing during the night, so their storage facility is not safe.
We would not stay there again.

Room Tip: All rooms look the same from the outside and when we complained of the condition (smell) of our bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PauloK1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanneroo, WA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 6 nights, had a great time, would recommend to others.
The dive guides were great and knew their sites.
Had a diver with suspected DCS. The support was very professional with the injured diver being evacuated to the mainland. They provided 24/7 support for him during his stay in hospital.
Beach bar is the place to be at night, with a fantastic band playing on the last night.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WannerooPom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We spent only three days at the Borneo Divers Mabul Island Resort and were really happy to leave the place. The room was clean but not worth the money. The bathroom looked more like that of a cheap hostel. The staff doesn't have to care much about their customers because demand for Sipadan dives is big. We asked to change the date to go to Sipadan for personal reasons but management said no without even trying to make a phone call or shift people to other days. So we missed Sipadan. Jetty riff is ok, but other riffs are really disappointing. Safety is a concern. We went diving with Barry as divemaster and while we weren't that fast in going down he just disappeared with another diver - leaving four divers including myself somewhere under water. The briefing was so bad that my husband and I just followed the reef for 20 minutes, turned back and finished the dive after 30 minutes. The two other divers that were with us had to interrupt and waited for the boat for 20 minutes. Then the food was the worst part... Cold after 10 minutes. Moreover cooking practice does seem to follow basic rules of hygiene. My husband and I both got upset stomachs and had to live on plain rice for several food after our trip to Borneo. So overall a very disappointing experience, wouldn't recommend the resort to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iva C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Sipadan
28.9 mi away
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 5 in Pulau Sipadan
397 reviews
16.1 mi away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
265 reviews
14.6 mi away
Sipadan Inn 2
Sipadan Inn 2
#2 of 7 in Semporna
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
City Inn Semporna
City Inn Semporna
#5 of 7 in Semporna
31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
#8 of 10 in Pulau Mabul
75 reviews
14.3 mi away
Scuba Tiger Semporna Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borneo Divers Mabul Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Divers Mabul Island Resort

Property: Borneo Divers Mabul Island Resort
Address: Pulau Sipadan, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Sipadan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Pulau Sipadan
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Borneo Divers Mabul Island Hotel Pulau Sipadan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing