We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great diving, good place that can be improved!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Sipadan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaventures Dive Rig
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Pulau Sipadan
Certificate of Excellence
Grenoble, Rhone-Alpes, France
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great diving, good place that can be improved!”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I spent 5 days/4 nights on the rig and overall I am very satisfied with it.
I've been staying in the dorm, which was actually a twin cabin. I had way enough space there, air con is working but smelly, the room was smelly as well. Toilets and showers are shared but clean.
I think the whole rig could use a bit of renovation, although everything is clean, I always felt like if it was not just because it's so old. I wasn't expecting anything fancy and I'm used to backpacker/budget accommodation but I've been a little bit disappointed BUT, given the time I spent in my room, this appears to be a minor point.

Apart from that, everything was perfect: the rig has a lovely sundeck with sun chairs and Hammocks and you have a great view of the surrounding area (unlike those great looking bungalows that have a view on an oil rig!!).
The food was plenty and really good, and the diving very well organized.
I had my own gear but from what I saw, the rental equipment was ok, Emergency oxygen is available on the boat although any dive site is at Max 15 min from the rig; we were reminded of safety procedures before each jump and diver's certification level were checked.

I am not going to mention anything specific about the dive sites, you will see once there but just take the time to dive under the rig because it's worth it.

The staff was great, all of them, always smiling and you can see that everything is well organized to run this RIG;
The Divemasters were great as well, I've been diving with five different ones and all have been making sure to spot for us great stuff, you can see that they still love these dives after so many years working there.
A special thank you to Suki who has been taking good care of me! Always happy, always chit chatting, joking and so excited about diving.

Overall a very good experience that leads me to recommend this dive operator.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soumeya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    122
    24
    3
    8
See reviews for
23
133
97
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
St Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed on the rig for 6 days and 5 nights. It is the perfect place to stay while diving Sipadan and the surrounding area. Sipadan is all that I had hoped...bumphead parrotfish, barracuda, schools of thousands of jacks, huge turtles, reef shark, and even a manta ray. The diving in Kapalai, around Mabul, and under the rig was great for exploration...each dive provided new little critters. Mark was a wonderful divemaster - we had so much luck finding many elusive underwater creatures!

The rig works like clockwork - meals are ready on time, boats depart on time, the staff was always open and willing to assist.

Rooms are basic and clean. The staff is helpful, friendly, and wonderful. Thank you so much for the cake and songs to celebrate the birthday while onboard. Between dives and in the evening it is fun to get to know the other guests and the staff - many new lifelong friends were made. We loved listening to the rig's band and whenever the guitar was pulled out for acoustic sets :) Great atmostphere!

No question - we would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scubavagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Excuse this long review again :)

The transfer to the rig was well-handled from the moment we arrived at Tawau airport. Van from airport to Semporna where the jetty is takes 1 hour 20 minutes. Payment is made at the Seaventures office in Semporna before a 30 minute boat ride gets you to the rig.

The rig is 30 minutes boat ride from both Kapalai and Sipadan and just 3 minute from Mabul. They offer a ride to Mabul every evening for a hour and a half walkabout on the island before taking you back to the rig.

We were surprised when we were offered the VIP room. It is definitely a step-up from the more basic rooms. Air-conditioning was good and the room is large enough to have 8 friends inside playing cards.

The rig is run like clockwork and everyone knows and does their bit. Meals are good and food is plentiful. The staff made sure we always had enough to eat and that they only cleared up when we were done. We were told that there were 44 divers on the rig when we were there but we never felt crowded out or a lack of any offerings. A dedicated table was set aside for each group for meals and whatever else we wanted to use the area for.

The diving is superbly organized with each group having dedicated guides and staggered departure timings. We had a lot of space on the dive deck and the shower areas even though it was full house most days we were there. Great organization and communication amongst the staff. Thanks to Miji for guiding us in spite of his toothache. He was genuinely excited to locate critters for us and went wild when we came across the Blue-ring. 'Depends on your lucky!"

We were pleasantly surprised when a dinner was prepared for us at the helipad one of the evenings. Seaventures had been in touch with our friends who asked for a special dinner for my wife and I. The dinner was fantastic, Mando sang so sweetly and whistled Winds of Change amazingly and the staff were very warm and attentive. There was so much food we stuffed our faces silly.

The games room has a pool table, dartboard and table-tennis table. It is air-conditioned and has a nice seating area to relax between dives or after hours. We fully utilized the room for some killer ping pong.

Craig is very informative and warm in his interaction with the guests. We spent some time exchanging stories with him. He is also genuine in making the rig a better establishment and making customer stays better. We shared some points with him.

The room service was missing for 2 days, even though we dropped our keys into the correct 'Room Service' box early in the morning before heading out for our dives. The toilet was clogged and unattended to as a result.

Water went out one of the days we were there and it was a while before water came back on in our room. There are occasional power outages on the rig but nothing to be upset about. The power comes back on almost immediately.

Overall, the rig is a fantastic place to stay, with a great dive set-up and amazing staff. For the price one pays, it is very good value. We could not have asked for a better time.

Room Tip: Ask for the VIP rooms if you want more legroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hankyspanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I recently completed 6 days / 5 nights as well as my PADI Advanced Open Water course at the Seaventures dive rig. It included 4 full days of diving with 2 days guaranteed at Sipadan. The instructors, divemasters and entire staff were very professional, organized and helpful. The rooms were, as expected, very basic, clean and functional. The food was excellent and atmosphere was great. There are only divers at the rig. The mood is warm and it is good way to meet new people from all over the world. The rental equipment is very good. A special thanks to Craig, Jacky and Helmi for making every dive enjoyable at Sipadan, Mabul and Kapalei.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Big_Grinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Special Thanks to Sandy who help to organized our trip, Miji our divemaster who was obsolutely helpful to all our needs and showed us all the incredible critters around the area and brought us to Sipadan to meet all the big residents!

I need to mention that Miji have helped so much to organize an underwater proposal for me proposing to my girlfriend, and made it so effortless and perfect. It was a night dive somemore! He is my whale shark buddy as we had a whale shark sighting in Sipadan which was our first!

The rig is simple, it is build for divers only. The food is fantastic, the service is amazing! No doubt I will definitely step foot on it again.

It is all about, eat sleep and dive.

I would like to mention the bed is a little hard for us to handle. Other than that I think it is perfect.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sengkang, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I have just finished 6 days on the rig and totally loved it,I didn't want to leave.i would recommend you stay at least 6 days to get the best out of the area.the staff on and off the rig are fantastic.you really get looked after well.the rig is basic on the accommodation side but thats not a problem as you dont spend much time in your room anyway.everyone was really happy with the food and never hungry.if all you want to do is dive,eat,dive,eat,sunbath,dive eat,watch sunset,dive,eat with a few beers afterwards then this is the place for you.jumping off the hoist is brilliant fun.and diving under the rig day or night is fantastic.you can see the schools of fish around the rig all the time.i squeezed in 24 dives in that time.it would have been 26 but I got swayed by 2parties.one on mabul beach and the rig staff party,which was a great night.i would go back in a heartbeat.i read the bad reviews on here before I went but I can't see why they were so upset.i haven't got a bad word to say about it.i would go back in a heartbeat if I had the money.by the way,its so cheap for what you are getting.happy days!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orrin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Get on it. It's an amazingly unique dive experience. Best to come experienced enjoy the dives rather than for courses. Sipidan is sensational - best to book early to try and secure a couple of days there. The Mabul and Kapali diving is good and you see some cool things but it pales in comparison to Sipidan. I booked one day before and in 4 days only went to Sipidan once but this could not have been provided by any of the shore based dive centres who required 3 weeks notice. Great food, bring cigarettes and sit at the bar watching discovery channel chatting to people.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Sipadan
28.4 mi away
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 5 in Pulau Sipadan
404 reviews
15.6 mi away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
269 reviews
13.8 mi away
City Inn Semporna
City Inn Semporna
#5 of 7 in Semporna
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Sipadan Inn 2
Sipadan Inn 2
#2 of 7 in Semporna
75 reviews
15.7 mi away
Sipadan Inn
Sipadan Inn
#3 of 7 in Semporna
153 reviews
13.8 mi away
Scuba Tiger Semporna Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaventures Dive Rig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaventures Dive Rig

Property: Seaventures Dive Rig
Address: | off Mabul Island, Pulau Sipadan, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Sipadan
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Pulau Sipadan
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaventures Dive Rig is a scuba diving platform located within Mabul Island, some 30 minutes boat ride to Sipadan Malaysia. Sipadan Island is known as the world's scuba diving mecca. This rustic dive resort package includes diving around Mabul island, Kapalai and Sipadan Island. All rooms are fully air conditioned, Wi-FI is available at free of charge and food are served buffet-style. The unlimited diving on the Rig's house-reef is popular as it is home to some diverse underwater life. Seaventures Dive Rig is a PADI 5-Star Dive Centre offering Scuba Diving courses for beginners to professional. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaventures Dive Hotel Pulau Sipadan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing