We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dive facility”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Sipadan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaventures Dive Rig
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Pulau Sipadan
Certificate of Excellence
wales, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great dive facility”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was my brother's second trip to Seaventures, for me a great experience waiting to happen.
All information we requested for booking this trip was provided, so there was nothing unexpected to pay for. They arranged our bus and boat transfers which ran like clockwork.
The rig accommodation is basic but clean and comfortable. The self service food very good, always choice and more than you could eat, with hot and cold drinks available all day.The crew even put on a BBQ and band night.
The rig crew were very friendly and helpful.The dive deck set up with individual storage boxes, hanging rails for suits, wash tanks for gear, showers and the lift down to the sea.
Our DM guide was fantastic adding his knowledge and passion to the excellent diving. Dives were sites around Sipadan (the rig having prearranged the permits), Mabul and Kapalai. The sea life is prolific, not just the big shark, barracuda, bumpheads, turtle etc but also the tiny fascinating critters,this is nudibranch heaven !
This is a converted jack up work barge, not a 5 star luxury hotel, but it is a great dive facility. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linds m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    122
    24
    3
    8
See reviews for
23
130
96
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The rig itself is an experience. Not luxury and badly in need of renovation, but food is good and plentiful (as long as you like rice, fish and chicken + something green), the staff are awesome....friendly and helpful. It is a diver`s place....it`s actually diver`s heaven If you don`t dive, you`d be crazy to come here. The dive sites are incredible and the rig is well set up to cater to making the diver`s life easy....in the water....out of water....in water...out of....etc.

Our group ran them out of Nitrox after 1.5 days (!!!)...which was a bummer as it cut down on bottom time...but, diving was still good. They get a disproportionate number of Sipidan Permits, so you can maximise diving Sipidan (go to Barracuda Point....DEFINITELY THE dive site).

Rooms are adequate with aircon and (often hot) showers (air con is NOISY and will occasionally give you a refreshing shower in the middle of the night). Two of our group changed rooms as aircon stopped (no gas to refill...like I said, not luxury).

This was my second trip back here......I love this place.

Room Tip: Choose !....HA !......I`ll repeat myself..... NOT LUXURY.,.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Berrymanl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, CA
Level Contributor
139 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just returned from 6 glorious nights out on the Seaventures Rig and could not be more pleased with the magic of the experience. Located majestically like a small village above the sea it is thankfully removed from the third world smell, accumulated debri, sand fleas and clutter of Mabul.

We were there for five (5) full days and by the pure luck of the draw we got in 3 dives each of the 5 days at Sipadan. The resort had a large number of check outs the day we arrived and no big parties checking in during our stay so we were fortunate to enjoy one of their coveted Sipadan passes each day. How lucky is that? All 15 dives some to the same location were unique, breathtaking and spectacular. The set up could not be easier....grab your wet suit, mask, weight belt, fins and hop on an elevator to your boat to Sipadan. We also enjoyed the diving off the rig...the elevator drops you off and picks you up in waste high water! as well as a muck dive at Mabul. The food was consistently very good with something for every taste at every meal. I own a restaurant in the San Francisco Bay area and good, safe, tasty food was important to me...that is exactly what I received every meal, every day.

If you are debating between Seaventures and a Mabul resort don't think twice, book Seaventures. They even take you to Mabul, if you want for 1 1/2 hours every late afternoon. We went several times and enjoyed the exposure to Mabul and were thankful to return to our rig. It was amusing to see boatloads of up to 20 diver/snorkelers being dropped off to dive under the Seaventures Rig (where you have unlimited free diving) as their destination "reef" while all those with Seaventures were going to Sipadan instead.

There are many reviews about the size and dated aspect of the rooms. I read those reviews before I left so a spent a few dollars more and booked the VIP 1 Room. It was nicely appointed, the size of over 3 regular rooms, had 3 great windows over looking the sun deck and ocean, was private, great sized bathroom, icy air conditioning, quiet and a wonderful escape after a long fun filled day. You are on vacation!!! You want to have a great time! You have spend a lot of $$$ to get there. Don't be cheap and go VIP...you will thank me...trust me.

The staff was helpful, efficient and somewhat detached during much of our week because the guest count was unusually low. Everyone spoke English well, except for most of the guests who were mainly from China, Singapore or Hong Kong. If you want to maximize your experience and Sipadan exposure choose Seaventures.

Room Tip: Live it up...spend a few more bucks for a VIP room, you will be glad that you did. No one ever regr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unpre10ous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have visited Mabul/ Sipadan for 4 years in a row and have always stayed with Seaventures. I have not much to complain about this place other than the rooms are a little old and the lights are a little dim.

Besides that, the staffs are amazing. The food, tasty. Especially the doughnuts during tea! The dives were fantastic!

If they could upgrade their rooms, then this place will be perfect!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chzehong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The rig is located right next to Mabul island. I went to the Seaventures rig because other divers from Australia highly recommended this place. I was not disappointed. Everything was organised well and efficient. The team on the rig would make me feel welcome and would listen to my opinions or answer my questions. The food was good and I never heard any complaints. In fact, I often heard more surprised remarks like "the food is good here".

Barracuda Point and Turtle Tomb were my favourite dive spots. Throughout my trip and the days I went to Sipadan, I would always hear other divers mention that Barracuda Point was the best day diving they have ever done. This was coming from very experienced divers. There is a reason it is rated so highly. The marine life down there was crazy and I am glad I went.

I spent 11 days on the rig and completed 7 courses. The big picture is that you go to Seaventures for diving and that is exactly what you do every day. The rig is a place to eat, sleep, have a few beers and talk to other people. There is the option to go to Mabul island in the afternoon. I went on this trip on my own but I made a heap of new friends.

11 days was a long enough time for me to see everything. I managed to keep busy by studying course books in my spare time and filling them out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GN_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I went there with my brother for a 6 days 5 nights stay including 2 days diving in Sipadan. The rig met our expectation as we were here to dive more than playing the tourists.
I read a lot of bad reviews and it was fun how stupid and untrue they are. If ever you want to enjoy a 5 stars hotel service, don't come you won't fit in.
The rig is quite ok (perhaps needs to be painted anew though) and the food was good. The staff was very friendly and we spent good moment chatting in the afternoon.

The good thing about the rig is that you can dive around it anytime. Also it is isolated enough to help you focus on the only reason that made you come which is diving.

Thanks to the staff : fauziah, najeeb and the house keeping guys. Also a big thanks to the instructors : suki, Craig, beneditta, jacky, taufik etc.....

Cham, Lara and Sofia it was nice meeting you (still need my revenge on card game).

Finally, it was the best dives of my life and i recommend you to go there , it is totally worth every penny.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fowzi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendoza, Argentina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

So, after reading through some of these, I feel I first have to address some of the "bad" reviews of Seaventures. Clearly these were people who were expecting Four Seasons quality accommodation. And to the guy who complained about rice being served with every meal? You. Are. In. Malaysia. What in the world did you expect?!

OK, now that that's been said.. my review continues:
We had a blast with Seaventures. Yes, the accommodation is basic. If you have a problem with that, then it's not the place for you. But if your main focus is being able to dive as much as possible during your stay, Seaventures is spot on. The accommodation, for me, as a budget backpacker, was comparable to most places I've been staying during my travels, if that helps to give you an idea.

They have a great setup/dive shop. If you rent equipment, you are issued one set when you arrive and it's stored in a numbered bin for your exclusive use during your stay. It's great to not be switching bcd/reg every day. They have freshwater showers right near the elevator/lift to rinse off after your day of diving. Separate rinse bins for reg, wetsuit, etc. so as not to mix. Dive shop where you can rent almost anything you need, including dive computer, torch/flashlight, camera.

Major kudos to the staff/crew!! They were AWESOME. Every single person went out of their way to make the trip as amazing as possible. The crew always loaded up our tanks onto the boat, and insisted we do not help. The divemasters were the perfect mix of having fun and being serious/safe with diving. Shout out to Miji, Titta, and Mando! You guys not only provided us with the most amazing dives I've ever experienced, but also a really good time on the rig. And Mando isn't too shabby on the guitar, either. Thanks everyone for the great trip!

I would recommend going with a group of friends. The vibe on the rig is heavily determined by who else is staying there, and if it's a lame group, then your downtime could be lame. We lucked out and made some great friends on the trip and had some impromptu dance parties a few different nights. That said, you really don't have a lot of downtime either. You can dive under the rig with a buddy anytime you're not going out on a boat dive or with a divemaster, so if you are interested in building up your diving experience, it's the perfect place to do it.

Side note, we originally booked four days and extended for a fifth. We would have stayed longer if we'd had time.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 1ERomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Sipadan
28.4 mi away
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 5 in Pulau Sipadan
397 reviews
15.6 mi away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
265 reviews
14.3 mi away
Sipadan Inn 2
Sipadan Inn 2
#2 of 7 in Semporna
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
City Inn Semporna
City Inn Semporna
#5 of 7 in Semporna
31 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
#8 of 10 in Pulau Mabul
75 reviews
13.8 mi away
Scuba Tiger Semporna Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaventures Dive Rig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaventures Dive Rig

Property: Seaventures Dive Rig
Address: | off Mabul Island, Pulau Sipadan, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Sipadan
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Pulau Sipadan
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaventures Dive Rig is a scuba diving platform located within Mabul Island, some 30 minutes boat ride to Sipadan Malaysia. Sipadan Island is known as the world's scuba diving mecca. This rustic dive resort package includes diving around Mabul island, Kapalai and Sipadan Island. All rooms are fully air conditioned, Wi-FI is available at free of charge and food are served buffet-style. The unlimited diving on the Rig's house-reef is popular as it is home to some diverse underwater life. Seaventures Dive Rig is a PADI 5-Star Dive Centre offering Scuba Diving courses for beginners to professional. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaventures Dive Hotel Pulau Sipadan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing