We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awsome!!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Sipadan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaventures Dive Rig
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Pulau Sipadan
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Awsome!!!”
Reviewed October 9, 2011

I had à wonderfull stay at THE rig And could not wish dor more THE diving the food was so great!! And then THE staff was awsome the realy let you feel your home!! Thumbs up for the manager hes dooing a great job!! And my dive master CAT for his great guiding And showing me al this great things!!! Thanx you all i Will devenitly come back again!!! Jeroen 5 till 8 oct

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeroen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    122
    24
    3
    8
See reviews for
23
133
97
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2011

helpful staffs, friendly and willing to teach dive master n instructor, good food, safe diving, unique dive resort, reasonable price, n much better view than staying at the other resorts. of coz there r room for improvements which is minor. Overall i was having great time there. by the way, i hope they will consider to provide mask for those who r short sighted as it is important to have a comfortable diving without the need to wear contact lenses.
in short, i enjoyed n satisfied with the services provided by Seaventures Dive Resort. you should come n see it for yourself :)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llau2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Wonderful time with friends and a wonderful and unforgettable divings. We had 3 permits for diving at Sipadan! Staff is very friendly and helpful. For everybody there is a lot of delicious food.
Wonderful atmosphere on the rig, but honestly it is certainly a place for divers and others would not have so much fun.
Beautiful place, warm and clear water. I hope I'll get back there yet.
Divers - this is a real paradise for us! :-)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BELLA_77777777777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We had several options on how we were going to visit Sipadan for a few days of diving, and the Seaventures Rig Resort definitely offered the most interesting way to experience diving.

We thought the idea of the converted Rig Platform to a dive platform was a great idea for sure. Check-in in Semporna was pretty good, although having arrived at 4:30am on the only overnight bus to Semporna kinda sucked and would have been nice if they an an opportunity to check in earlier than 9:30am so we were sleeping on benches until their shop opened.

The driver to the boat and the captain taking us to the rig were nice and offered to help with our bags.

On arrival, "Lady Gaga" was nice to meet with nice cold orange beverages in wine glasses and offered us a brief orientation of the rig and when our dive times would be.

An orientation dive is mandatory of all divers which takes place on the "House reef" below the rig. There wasn't much involved as we were expecting to perform skills and what not. Cat our DM briefly went over some of the nearby dive sites, safety rules and we set up our own equipment.

Due to whatever reason, the week we arrived the Rig had been having issues with not one, but all three of there generators. As a result we had to walk to the back of the Rig, rather than use the lift that they usually take to get in and out of the water.

The dives were great and the DM's were pretty good. We really liked diving with Ben. Hiemi wasn't as friendly in the morning when we met for our Sipadan dives and gave very brief descriptions of the dive site and plan. Dive times were pretty good though, mostly lasting 50-60minutes.

We were there when the conditions weren't great. Viz was pretty crappy under the rig, although you do see alot of cool things like Leaf Fish, frog fish, crocodile fish and scorpian fish. Sipadan was disappointing with the viz, but we saw heaps of sharks and turtles on Baraccuda Point and Whitetip Alley. Only thing I wished was the dive shop and the island communities made more of an effort to keep the sites clean from garbage. It was a real disappointment to see cigarette packages, sandals, bottles, wood. chip bags ect scattered all over the beautiful dive sites.

The food, next to the diving was amazing. I really can't put a stronger emphasis, on just how amazing it was. The chef did a really good job of giving different options with impeccable flavor. They always say if you don't like the diving, the food better compensate for it. And it was so good! fresh deep fried bananas at 4pm and or fresh donuts!

The accommodation was good with the exception that with the generator being down the AC was very dodgy, we usually didn't have power in the room, and the water was not working for the first 2 days we were there. In the orientations we were told our rooms would be made up while we were on our first dive, but they never were.

The only issue I have with all this was how the customers were dealt with while the generator was down. Here are the things I can appreciate that they did do. The first night we were put up in nice bungalows on Mabul as the power was out. Along with that, we were offered an extra free night with a day off diving.

What I did not appreciate was the staffs interactions with the guests during this frustrating time. We were told there would be water within an hour, and then there would not be water. We felt very powerless and just wanted to hear from someone, anyone, that they were sorry about this whole mess and what an inconvenience it was. I get that we were there to dive and diving is what we got, but things like having hot rooms, no water, and no internet became a little annoying.

It wasn't until we finally approached the Operations Manager on the Rig and asked him what was up and what we would be getting out of this. I was amazed that after venting to him, that he did understand and in fact he did empathize with our situation. I guess I just wished they had been able to approach us with customer service to make us feel better, rather than us stewing and wondering why they act like they don't care.

Overall the trip ended well. We enjoyed the diving, the staff and the experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canuck_downunder05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Pros: 3 days of diving at Sipadan, consistently good viz at the island, small groups, professional staff
Cons: Bathroom facilities could use some work, generators currently having some issues

I stayed with SeaVentures for 5 days in early September and felt that I lucked out with the diving - got permits for three days at Sipadan! Conditions were good, 80F, avg 60 ft visibility - saw ubiquitous turtles, sharks, big schools of barracuda and bumphead on eight out of nine dives at Sipadan. Night diving below the rig was fantastic, with lots of lionfish and grouper lurking about, and especially when all you need to do to exit is signal and tumble onto the lift! Special thanks to Chris and Irene for doing a great job helping identify critters and being otherwise utmost PADI professionals on the rig during my time there.

At most there were 11 people on the rig during my stay there, when I arrived there were only four. This made for reasonable groups coming out to Sipadan - the largest group I went out with was 8 and there were two instructors out with the team. Diving is 45-50min max bottom time, surface as you need to for pickup, which was reasonable. Nitrox is available but is extra.

As far as the rest of the resort facilities, the rooms are clean and serviced everyday, with working AC, electricity, and water... while the generators were running. The first two days there the electricity and water were on the fritz but after that they managed to cut it to only one hour of downtime per 24 hour period, which was pretty good. Food was good, especially dessert! It's still an oil rig, but the facilities are reasonable though could use some improvement as others have mentioned.

Excellent trip overall, would definitely recommend and will return again.

Room Tip: Consider investing for the VIP rooms if space is an issue... with two travelers in a standard room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I can't deny that staying at Seaventures was a lot of fun and I can highly recommend it. The diving under the rig and in nearby Mabul and Kapalai is fantastic - murky but full of excellent critters. Take a camera and practice your macro before you go! Sipadan was actually a bit of a let down as visibility was low due to the stormy weather when I was there. Still, plenty of grey reef and white tip reef sharks with shoals of bigeye trevally and barracuda amongst lots of other stuff made it worth the choppy crossings at 6 in the morning! I've definitely dived better though.

So I said improvements were needed. Certainly not with the hire gear - it's of excellent quality. The food's good too. Also, bearing in mind you're on an old oil rig with a noisy generator, the rooms are comfortable enough, but far from luxurious (who cares though, you're there to be in the water not in the room). All of that's ok, it's the dive organisation that needs sorting. Firstly the dive groups are far too big at times - as many as 11 when I was there. Also, dive briefings are almost non-existent. No maps of the dive sites, a lack of safety instructions, very little input from the divemasters as to what you might see, all the stuff that makes a good dive briefing really. There seems to be an innate assumption that everyone who goes there must be an experienced diver, and it's far from true. I was diving with people who'd just finished their PADI open water the week before and had only 4 dives under their belt. Then they were off to Sipidan in rough seas with poor vis' with almost no safety briefing and little supervision. There were many inexperienced divers doing multiple dives with no computers, clearly diving beyond what was sensible and no reigning in by the guides. Diving this way in such large groups is an accident waiting to happen, an opinion shared between myself and 6 other experienced divers on the rig.

In summary, the place is fun, the diving is excellent and I'd definitely go back if there weren't so many other places I haven't dived yet. I do feel they need to address the issues I outlined above though. One last thing - they need to punish the turtle touchers too. I saw two of them and had to have words. Get 'em out of the water for a dive to make them think twice next time!

Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Leono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Diving is spectacular! The rig is awesome. Don't expect the ritz people cause it's an OIL RIG!!! Food is fantastic and plentiful. Lovely staff and dive masters! If the guys get the band out while your there, you must request they play Sweet Child of Mine! Would highly recommend this place. We stayed 2 nights but managed to have 2 days diving at Sipadan!

Room Tip: Basic but ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Sipadan
28.4 mi away
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 5 in Pulau Sipadan
404 reviews
15.6 mi away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
271 reviews
13.8 mi away
City Inn Semporna
City Inn Semporna
#5 of 7 in Semporna
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Sipadan Inn 2
Sipadan Inn 2
#2 of 7 in Semporna
75 reviews
15.7 mi away
Sipadan Inn
Sipadan Inn
#3 of 7 in Semporna
153 reviews
13.8 mi away
Scuba Tiger Semporna Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaventures Dive Rig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaventures Dive Rig

Property: Seaventures Dive Rig
Address: | off Mabul Island, Pulau Sipadan, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Sipadan
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Pulau Sipadan
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaventures Dive Rig is a scuba diving platform located within Mabul Island, some 30 minutes boat ride to Sipadan Malaysia. Sipadan Island is known as the world's scuba diving mecca. This rustic dive resort package includes diving around Mabul island, Kapalai and Sipadan Island. All rooms are fully air conditioned, Wi-FI is available at free of charge and food are served buffet-style. The unlimited diving on the Rig's house-reef is popular as it is home to some diverse underwater life. Seaventures Dive Rig is a PADI 5-Star Dive Centre offering Scuba Diving courses for beginners to professional. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaventures Dive Hotel Pulau Sipadan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing