We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not excellent”
Review of Fisherman's Cove

Fisherman's Cove
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good but not excellent”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had a great evening at Fisherman's Cove. The resort staff made it very clear that there is a strictly elegant dress code, and we hadn't brought anything elegant to wear. However we didn't feel underdressed, as most of the people seemed fairly casually dressed. But you need to bring long pants and closed shoes (men).

The setting is beautiful, very romantic. However there were a lot of small insects that were quite irritating. The waitress gave us some insect repellant which helped. The service is very very good. They have a decent wine list. However the food was underwhelming. Not that it was bad, but the resort makes a big thing out of it being a fine dining establishment, and charges as such. I'd give the food 3.5 to 4 stars, but the experience was still wonderful because of the peaceful setting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenbennhoutbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    30
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Not special but expensive”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We celebrated our anniversary at Fisherman's Cove were the food was good but not worth the cost. While they did do everything right it never seemed special.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank bsboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had the seafood platter and we each had a soup. All of it was really delicious and in fact we couldn't finish it all! The restaurant is expensive but it is a treat and the food was very good.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank alana0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious Seafood”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Very fresh, very nice restaurant, excellent service!! We had fresh caught seafood and the wine pairing was delicious.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ivett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Fine dining at prices to match”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

You have to dress up to attend this establishment and given that it is part of an island resort, this may sound strange. The dress code does not however justify the high prices charged here, however, the cuisine is very good and the service is impeccable. You might do this restaurant on one of your nights at the island resort and it will certainly make it easier on the mind if you are celebrating a special occasion and are prepared to blow the cost.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Beamer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fisherman's Cove also viewed

Pulau Pangkor, Manjung District
Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor
 
Pulau Pangkor, Manjung District
 

Been to Fisherman's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing