We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely enough small family-run resort but with pricing issues”
Review of Minang Cove Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Minang Cove Resort
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2011

The problem I usually have with holidays in Malaysia is that they tend to be neither here nor there : standards are usually not as high as in Singapore, offerings not as good-value as in Thailand or Indonesia - for what you pay/get.

Tioman is beautiful especially where Minang Cove is situated - in the southern tip or a 30-min boat ride away from the airport. The transfer was smooth and worth it as it took one away from the more crowded places. However, I wouldn't be the first to take issue with the price - 100RM return per adult regardless of whether you are alone or sharing the boat with 10 other people. When you are paying for 6 like I was, it didn't make sense. A rip-off if I may say so.

The view was lovely and welcoming when one arrived at the small resort. Welcome drink, briefing by the owner and we were then taken to our beach-front villa with its 3 bedrooms. Situated on one end of the small beach, it was private with a great view of the sea - though you could end up either sleeping very well or not at all because of the waves.

Room was reasonably clean though easily invaded by ants. Light flickers on and off all the time but there was air-conditioning and it worked.

The price included breakfast (choice between eggs cooked differently or banana pancake), afternoon tea (only one sweet item, often banana, so if you don't like it or cannot eat it you have no tea to speak of - but I love bananas so whether they were fried mashed up or whole, in a cake or just battered I ate them) and dinner. Dinner was often a small buffet and once we had grilled satay which was good. There was enough food and the offering though simple was delicious enough (e.g. nasi lemak, beef rendang, steamed fish, vegetables...), but I would suggest they stick to cooking Malay and not venture too much into Thai or Chinese until the cook really masters these cuisines.

Lunch was another matter - e.g. 28RM for a plate of fried rice! Even a very good hotel in Singapore wouldn't charge that much. Unless you pay for a boat ride to "town" or walk 45 minutes to the almost-dead village next door, you have no other dining options, so...Ditto for bar prices, so stock up when you do walk to the village.

Kids spent their day on the small beach (watch out for crabs on the rocks, my youngest was pinched by one on the toe) or snorkelling in the water. Hub dived with the small diving centre in the resort. A number of excursions were organised for a fee. Fish feeding after dinner (i.e. the day's rubbish was dumped into the sea) was a highlight as you usually get to see sharks. Quite a simple, quiet, relaxing holiday.

Local staff were kind and friendly especially the owner's stepdaughter. The massage was good if a bit pricey, especially love the tree-top feeling up there in the tiny spa.

All in all it was a good 5 days at Minang Cove though for the price you could probably do better in Indonesia or even Thailand.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Petales88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 283 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed at Minang Cove for 4 nights in July 2011 after a week in Singapore. Tioman is beautiful and the resort is tucked away at the southern tip of the island, at the foot of the stunning 'twin peaks'. The resort is small - only a dozen or so guests when we arrived - so it makes for a perfect relaxing getaway (don't expect phone signal or wi-fi!) The hotel is modern, well furnished and looked after - it really is as good as the photos on the website.

Apart from snorkelling, some jungle trekking and relaxing on the beach, there are no activities around the resort and the rest of the island is only accessible by boat. However, this is exactly the sort of holiday we wanted and we easily filled our 4 days.

Highlights for us were:
- Location: if you want peace, a bit of isolation and amazing scenery then this is definitely the spot for you.
- The resort organises a round-island snorkelling trip that is well worth it (Renggis Island in particular is incredible - look out for the sharks and the sea turtle!)
- Our room (deluxe sea view) was spacious, well-furnished, clean and had a great view over the cove
- The food was very nice; the weekly BBQ in particular was excellent
- We found all the staff to be very welcoming, friendly and helpful (including Sue at the Mersing office, who was very helpful when we missed our original ferry)

The only issues were:
- The resort's private beach is very small so could get a bit cramped when the resort is full. The beach is also very rocky with sharp coral so swimming can be difficult in the shallow end, especially if the sea is a bit choppy.
- The bar prices were European standard; expensive for Malaysia!
- The boat transfers to/from airport and Genting jetty were also pricey (at around £25 per person per way)

Overall, though, our stay at Minang Cove was excellent and we came away feeling very relaxed - we'd love to return one day.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank BPKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We spent three nights at Minang Cove and loved it!. We were looked after by the staff right from the beginning. When we arrived at the ferry terminal in Mersing we made our way to the office to be greeted by Sue. Sue then took us down to the terminal and helped us organise the marine park pass and our tickets. This was good as there were lots of people and it helped avoid fuss.

The ferry trip was about an hour and it was quite rough. The drone of the engines nearly put us to sleep, but we arrived still in good spirits. We stopped off at the Genting jetty on Tioman, where we were met by a smaller boat to transfer us to Minang Cove. This trip was rough but fun. We felt safe in the hands of the driver.

On arrival to the resort we had our welcome drink and met Tony the owner and he provided us with some information about the place and activities. Next day to our surprise the weather remained rough. We were told this was out of character for the season and still managed to take a snorkel trip on another part of the island over the next few days. With the wind rolling the sea about and less opportunities for snorkeling on the reef just off the resort's jetty, all we could do is relax. The gardens and resort grounds are so pretty and the accommodation has an amazing view so this was not a difficult task.

We took a walk to a small waterfall, which had us walking past a local village. It was great to have a dip in the waterfall to cool down. My husband saw a turtle under the waterfall too. On the walk back we saw a monitor lizard taking a swim in the river.

After our walk we both had massages from the Thai ladies at the resort. My massage was excellent and I felt very respected and extremely relaxed.

Minang Cove was the highlight of our trip in Malaysia and we would love to return one day.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellen_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We arrived on tioman island by flight in early august to be met at the airport personally by the lovely british girl sara. With a professional and friendly approach she accompanied us to the resort with some very useful information on the way.
When arriving at the resort we were taken aback, the surrounding mountains and jungle are beautiful. The beach is a little small, but nothing to complain about!
After a welcome drink we went to our room (no10), it was clean and had a great view.
The food is traditional and not too spicy for us westerners which was fantastic. And afternoon tea (at 4.30) is a great idea.
There is lots to do here apart from laze in the sun! We visited the friendly thai spa girls for relaxing spa treatments, the aromatherapy massage is the best! We also tried our hand at sub aqua diving with a very patient and very experienced diving instructor, Oli.
The very professional and multi tasking Sara not only seems to manage the whole resort but also had time to host a Bar Quiz one evening. It was a very enjoyable hour that brought together all the guests for fun and laughter! Brilliant, but we didnt win!
The management of the resort, unlike other reviews we have read, are very friendly and very professional. All our problems or questions were dealt with immediatley.
Next time we come to south east asia, minang cove will be top of our list!
Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicole s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed there with 4 adults and 3 children. The scenery is beautiful, the children loved the beach. Because the beach is so small it is perfect for small children. The staff was great and the dinners were good. The breakfast is very simple. Just toast, jam and a little bit fruit. We would recommend this place for a few days but not for a longer stay.
We have reserverd the beach front villa and payed 1000 euro's for 3 days. In our invoice and confirmation was the beachfront villa confirmed, we were very dissappointed to be booked in a hill side villa. This villa is way up on the hill, small children can't walk there on their own. The owner did not know anything about this and was blaming his reservation office for this mistake. Not even a small excuses like a drink to apologize was made. The boat transfer costed us 25 euros per person one way for 30 minutes. This is just ridiculous. We were with 13 guests in this transfer!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Travelott_blogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

It is difficult to know how to review this place. It has clearly been a labour of love for the owner over many years. It was friendly and homely. We stayed in the Hillside Villa HSV for 2 nights.
The location of the resort is very nice. Unfortunately, when we were there the sea swell was strong for which the resort clearly isn't responsible.
Half board and afternoon tea were well done overall. Food was good home cooking, nothing fancy, but well cooked. Soapy plates apart, not much to complain about.
Setting is good, but the rooms badly need updating if the HSV is anything to go by.
It was a nice place to be, but probably also needed a pool as well because the beach is so small.
I found it to be a hospitable and pleasant place and reasonable value for money. In summary, it was completely fine, but didn't really wow us on any level, but if your expectations are modest then they probably will be met or surpassed taking into account that I don't think we saw it at its best.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulD-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed at Minang Cove for 6 nights in July 2011. We stayed in a deluxe room with a sea view, which was clean and nicely furnished, however that's about the only good thing in the resort. The English management is unfriendly and unhelpful, we greatly missed the friendly Asian attitude, which can be found in numerous resorts all around Asia, the food was less than average, breakfasts were identical every single day, despite requesting it there was almost no fresh local fruit available, dinner mostly consisted of rice, half raw vegetables and fried (!) cold fish. Truly disappointing. The wine collection was also very poor. The prices in the resort were at a European level (for everything - food, drinks, spa treatments, trips). We went on a round the island snorkeling trip, which was led by the very bored owner of the resort, who was not very enthusiastic about sharing information about the island, fish, etc. with us. The funniest thing was the way he charged for the trip - the trip costed cca. 200 EUR, no matter how many people took part. In other words, if only two people went, then the trip cost 100 EUR per person, while if eight people went then it cost 25 EUR per person. Where is the logic in that?! If a bus is half empty, does the ticket cost twice as much??!! Overall it seemed as if the owner was only interested in making money, without giving much in return. The resort lacks "soul" and we were glad to leave - and finally have a decent meal!

Room Tip: We stayed in room no. 3 (deluxe), which had a great sea view and the amenities were also good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vonwango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pulau Tioman hotels
3.2 mi away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
535 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island
4.9 mi away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
81 reviews
6.5 mi away
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
0.2 mi away
Bagus Place Retreat
Bagus Place Retreat
#3 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minang Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minang Cove Resort

Address: P.O. Box 74, Pulau Tioman 86807, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Tioman
#3 Spa Hotel in Pulau Tioman
Price Range: $123 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Minang Cove Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Minang Cove Resort & Spa, a tropical island paradise. Located in the south of the beautiful island of Tioman, a truly stunning location. Off our private beach you will enjoy the warm crystal clear waters, of the South China Sea. Where you can snorkel or scuba dive with the abundant marine life, living in and around our live reef. Including Turtles. Those who are looking for small friendly resort, surrounded by nature, with glimpses of local wild life and unspoilt rainforest. Look no further !! To access the resort, you can take a ferry from the Mersing ferry terminal. Then getting off at the 1st stop, at Genting Village. There our resort speedboat will transfer you to the resort. The second way is to fly, on Berjaya Air from Singapore or Kuala Lumpur. Again our speedboat will transfer you to the resort. One of the resort representatives will meet you on your arrival at the airport. ( For flight and ferry transfers you need to inform us in advance to arrange this transfer.)We have 18 rooms at the resort, which are perfectly clean, well maintained and all with incredible views. We serve authentic local food for evening dinner, changing its theme every night. Lunches are ala-carte and a mix of local and western.You will also enjoy a variety of cool beverages served at our restaurant and beach Bar. Watch the sunset with a tasty cocktail or have a glass of wine over dinner. Our room rates included half board, which is breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner.Some of the activities offered at the resort are, snorkelling, scuba diving, jungle tracking, fish feeding, fishing and island tours.The facilities which are available are, The Minang Spa, private jetty & beach, sun deck with loungers, sun shades, a library, fully equipped dive centre (with resident instructor) , laundry service and baby sitting. Room as well as beach towels provided.The overall atmosphere is very chilled and relaxed. Helpful, friendly staff providing an unforgettable experience, in your Island Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Minang Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minang Cove Hotel Pulau Tioman
Minang Cove Pulau Tioman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing