We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place, loved the tree house!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bagus Place Retreat
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
Certificate of Excellence
Cestas, France
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very nice place, loved the tree house!”
Reviewed November 6, 2009

Very small resort
Restaurant good, people very sympatic.
We were in the tree house room, view is nice, room very spacious and very confortable.
The huge beach is just for you, quite large and sandy.
You go to swim from the jetty because from the beach going in the water there is a lot of rocks.
Go there to rest, read, play volley in the afternoon, walk in the forest and discover the nature, animals, have fun going around...
Nice place to discover.

Tip:
From Kuala Lumpur flight with Berjaya from Subang airport, less than 1 hour flight
If you are diver, contact the resort just 5 minutes walk (almost no beach) from here to arrange your dives before going.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garcia33610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    54
    22
    3
    2
See reviews for
86
188
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
98 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2009

We've stayed at this resort only for one night and then we moved for another 2 nights at Japamala. This resort is located in a beautiful beach and the staff is very friendly! We went to Renggis Island and the snorkeling there was amazing! I've seen a turtle and a very big jelly fish and hundreads of colorful fishes!

In the morning near the jetty at Bagus we couldn't snorkel due to the stings of sea-fleas; I was bitten a lot and it was not possible to snorkel comfortably like that! So I quit after 2 minutes!

We've stayed at the tree house. It was comfortable enough, with no frills, but very clean. One con for me is that you couldn't throw paper in the toilet... It feels that we were camping...

The food was OK and we enjoyed our 2 lunches and dinner (nothing out of this world, but good).

Between Bagus and Japamala, I preferred Japamala. However, Bagus is a good value for money and the beach itself is a bit better than the one at Japamala (although at Japamala we could do snorkelling by the jetty without being stinged by sea-fleas).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CIVOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagus_Place, Owner at Bagus Place Retreat, responded to this review, October 21, 2009
It is quite ok to dispose of toilet tissue in the normal fashion and it is not necessary to dispose of it in the bin. We are sorry for any misunderstanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2009

I have just recently returned from a 2 week honeymoon in Malaysia and Singapore. We stayed at Bagus Place Retreat for 7 nights. The resort is built with eco friendly principles in mind, trying to minimise the impact on the island and they really have achieved this. When you arrive, from the end of the jetty you can only see 2 of the buildings, it looks as though there's no one there, let alone a hotel! Krishna and Anish could not be more welcoming and all of the staff are wonderful, always smiling. I was worried that a week would be too much for me as I'm not normally much of a beach person but I really needn't have worried. The snorkelling is incredible and the wildlife around the island is amazing. The snorkelling trip and waterfall trek are well worth doing as well. Krishna is qualified in complimentary therapy and her full body massage is a real relaxing treat!

The food was delicious, we never went hungry! Breakfst is cereals, toast, panckakes and eggs. Lunch was a choice of sandwiches, pizzas, noodles and rice etc. Dinner was a buffet always consisting of a rice dish, a meat dish, a fish dish, a veggie dish and normally some roti, popadoms or something to that effect. Some people here have complained about the lack of choice but I don't understand what they could have expected! On an island, staying at an eco friendly resort with only a small handful of guests you can understand that they're not going to buy in and import huge mountains of food!

We stayed in the boat house and whilst I will agree with previous reviews that it is a little small, it was perfectly ample for what we needed. It was comfortable and clean and with such a beautiful island to explore who would spend all their time inside their chalet anyway? All day you felt like you had the whole beach to yourself and at night time all the guests would come together and talk about their day over dinner and drinks...it's a really nice, relaxing way to spend a week! I don't think we'll ever find anywhere as beautiful as Tioman or Bagus Place again, until we go back!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pinky07Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2009

We stayed four nights. Loved it - didn't want to leave. Thoroughly recommend it for a romantic retreat, or honeymoon.

The location is stunning. The rooms are nice, clean and the best bit is that it is exclusive - there will never be more than 10 people there, so you really feel like you have the place to yourself.
It is very "coupley" - our last night there 4 out 5 couples were on their honeymoon (including us).
The snorkelling trip out to Regus island was fantastic. We also walked to the waterfall which like most waterfalls in my experience was a little disappointing, though the walk there takes you to some beautiful empty coves, and an interesting villiage, so would recommend doing it. The malay food is delicious (though the western stuff on the menu wasn't the best).
I have two criticisms, but neither enough to make me detract from my 5 star rating. 1) The drinks are a touch on the pricey side, and 2) A little more could be done to make the rooms nicer, cosier or more relaxing.

But all in all, would love to go back. Note: if you're going you have to book in advance. We got the second worst room (I think) and booked 2 months ahead!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenLondonbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagus_Place, Owner at Bagus Place Retreat, responded to this review, October 21, 2009
Bagus Place is an idyllic honeymoon location (indeed many marriage proposals have been made here!) but we also welcome groups and families. If all chalets were fully occupied, which is rare, the number of guests at Bagus Place would be 20. Nonetheless, the exclusivity and 'get away from it all' feeling is maintained.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2009

We stayed at Bagus for 10 days and now that we are back home we already want to go again. After a very exhausting trip we arrived at Bagus and received a very warm welcome by Anish and Krishna. During the whole vacation they were there for a little chat, advise and of course a nice cocktail. All the other staff was also very friendly and warm, Mus, thanks for making breakfast, lunch and dinner so entertaining. We didn't do much, but we can recommend the snorkling trip to Ringgis Island and the waterfall trip. Also snorkling from the jetty is a great experience. We did manage to swim with a sea turtle! What more to say, beautiful beach, clear water, clean rooms, nice food, privacy and great cocktails!! We sure want to come back next year.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lunahalos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Staying at Bagus place was wonderful!!!
I loved the atmosphere, where everyone is so friendly to each other and you feel you can just relax. We stayed in the tree house and loved it!! The room was always so clean and tidy and cleaners so respectful. The bar are was a great place to go in the evenings if we wanted to be a bit social, but if not there were plenty of places where we could have some space. I just loved being the only person lying on the beach! The snorkelling was great, with so many different coloured fish to see and the trek to the waterfall was well worth doing; especially if it has rained recently. The bonfire on a Saturday night, was good family fun, and all the staff joined in with us and made the night more silly and fun.
All i can say is i would love to go back soon!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anita47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2009

The first sight of Bagus Place viewed from the boat was thrilling. The beautiful coastal setting with the wonderful backdrop of the twin peaks and tropical forest was as dramatic as it could be. Once on the jetty we looked down through the clear blue water at live coral and a myriad of fish.
We loved the Tree House and its balcony and view. It's a romantic hideaway for a couple and we heard from other guests how delighted they were with their chalets. We were blessed with a delightful group of fellow guests from New Zealand, France and Germany and could choose whether to be with company or alone.
The food was fine. Breakfast standard, lunch modest and the buffet dinner always different. Our only complaint was a lack of fish - only prawns and squid, even though we saw the local team out fishing!!
The snorkelling at Rengis Island is spectacular but you can snorkel at Bagus Place, off the jetty - with the turtle - and from the beach if you're lucky to get a very high tide.
The walk to the waterfall was great fun, if slightly treacherous as it happened to rain heavily.
As we're lucky enough to live in Singapore we're already planning our return visit.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank singarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pulau Tioman hotels
1.0 mi away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island
3.0 mi away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
4.7 mi away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
6.3 mi away
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
0.2 mi away
Minang Cove Resort
Minang Cove Resort
#3 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagus Place Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagus Place Retreat

Property: Bagus Place Retreat
Address: | No 1C, Pasir Sarang, Kg Mukut, Pulau Tioman 26800, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Tioman
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Tioman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bagus Place Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only ALL-INCLUSIVE RESORT in Tioman Island Bagus Place Retreat is nestled quietly on one of the most beautiful islands in the world called Tioman.A peaceful sanctuary of breathtaking natural beauty we invite you to rejuvenate body and mind and be enchanted by the sights and sounds of nature. Our guests will find luscious and unspoiled paradise. Clear waters and lush jungles provide plenty of opportunities for outdoor activities such as jungle trekking, snorkeling, kayaking and diving, and beach ball games. Outdoor activities not your thing? Pick up a book from our library try out our sun-loungers on the long secluded beach. Our activities are child friendly so your little ones will be occupied at all times. Our long wooden jetty provides for exciting walks and a fascinating look at coral fish and turtles. Snorkellers will be rewarded with views of the living tropics reefs of Tioman Island. Bagus Place aim to work in harmony with the environment and local community, offering a unique holiday experience to our guests. The only ALL-INCLUSIVE RESORT in Tioman Island ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bagus Place Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagus Place Retreat Hotel Pulau Tioman
Bagus Place Retreat Pulau Tioman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing