We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bagus Place Retreat
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We wanted a short, realxing break to get away from the busy world of Singapore and we got that and so much more. Picked up from the airport by speed boat, drink on arrival and friendly, relaxed service throughout our stay. Bagus Place isn't five star luxury but it really does allow you to escape in a relaxed, comfortable atmosphere. No mobile service, no internet, bliis! Oh - and swimming with turtles was just one of the highlights. There's a development being built just along the beach - we hope it doesn't take away from the small, intimate charm of Bagus. Thanks to the Bagus team for a great stay - we would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    55
    22
    3
    2
See reviews for
89
192
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

The accommodation was gorgeous (we had the Tree House) and the food and tranquility excellent. We discovered snorkelling for the first time and loved it, plus we thoroughly enjoyed our excursion to the waterfall and the walk back through the village and forest.

Room Tip: We thought the Tree House was delightful, but I'm sure they're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KazDavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Bagus Place is relaxing and a very nice place with very friendly staff. My boyfriend and me stayed for 5 nights and it was fantastic. Enjoy the place, the great snorkeling and diving opportunities and the walk to the waterfall. In May we will go again :-)

Room Tip: We liked the rock house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marytom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We stayed at bagus for three nights during our honeymoon. It was everything we hoped it would be - beautiful, secluded and the snorkelling just off the pier was really good. It is so rare to find somewhere so beautiful that is accessed only by the six rooms. We stayed in two different rooms as the rooms reserve very earlier - the tree house especially we found amazing - how often do you get to stay in a room with a tree growing through it!

We got the Bagus boat to drop us to the waterfall and then it was a very nice walk back where we saw monkeys and a monitor lizard.

The buffet dinners were very good. If I was to make any suggestions it would be the lunch menu was a little limited (didn't change) and portions were a little small (maybe I'm just greedy!). Also drinks prices once your there were quite expensive (I know that everything needs to be shipped in but other places on the island didn't seem to have quite the same mark-up - although I recognise this retreat does just cater for the six rooms!)

Overall though this is definitely one of the most exclusive places I have ever stayed - not necesarily the most luxorious but as a place to excape to where you won't be hassled and you can enjoy paradise this place I would suggest is almost unrivalled!

Just as a suggestion to anyone planning on staying here (especially if on honeymoon) and also staying in KL - the traders hotel with access to the traders exclusive floor overlooking the Towers was seriously luxorious.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ger
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We stayed there in October 2011. It was ok, but did not met our high expectations for two reasons: 1. Tide effects with very low tide during daytime made it difficult to enjoy beach and water during the day at that time of the year. At arrival in the afternoon the coastal area appeared like moon surface. So the first impression which we got was quite strange 2. Building of a new resort right next to the resort brought noise to the resort. The new resort is very close to Bagus and will become quite big. Therefore it may give Bagus Retreat a hard time in the future because the exceptional atmosphere of the former jungle feeling of Bagus Retreat may suffer. We may not come back for that reason. Anish and Krishna did a wonderful job, but they could help for the issues mentioned above.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Traveler1103Ger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Friendly, laid back, ecofriendly, great hosts and great accomodation. Bagus is what I think of when I think tropical island getaway. We snorkelled with sea turtles and baby sharks right off the jetty. This is not a five star resort.....but a special getaway that will keep us coming back as often as we can.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellerwithoutname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

My finance and I spent 4 nights at Bagus Place earlier this month. We wanted a relaxing retreat after traveling the country for a few weeks and we certainly found it! From the moment we booked (with the lovely Clare) the service was impeccable.
After the boat ride we were greeted with complimentary cocktails and a welcome talk and tour from Krishna and Anish (who are lovely!). We stayed in Big Chief, one of the biggest chalets in the retreat. We didn't really need all that space but it was pure luxury after spending weeks in hostels! The accommodation is comfortable, clean and has everything you need. I think some of the reviewers have come to Bagus expecting a 5 star resort with everything catered for, this is not what the retreat is about. As Krishna explained to us herself, they aim to provide something different. An affordable, friendly, relaxing experience that shows off the real Tioman in terms of food, landscape and hospitality.
My partner and I certainly feel they've achieved this. Highlights included the delicious meals! There was a surprisingly large menu for breakfast and lunch and dinner was a real highlight- every night fresh, delicious local dishes. I was a little apprehensive about the food as I'm not a huge fish lover but trust me this isn't a problem, at dinner there was always a meat dish to go alongside the fish and veggies options.
We were lucky enough to stay on a Saturday night where, weather permitting, a beautiful candlelit barbeque is held on the the beach complete with a bonfire! I would def recommend trying to factor in a Saturday night into your stay!
As for activities, we were pretty lazy! After a hectic few weeks my partner and I just wanted to relax which Bagus is made for! There's lots of little areas for lounging and catching some rays and you never feel on top of each other with the other guests. Yes the beach area isn't huge but it's big enough for the retreat. We loved the snorkeling, as complete beginners it was really easy to get stuck in and there was always someone around to help if we had any questions.
Little extras like the library, massage room and bar really make the retreat. But it's the people who have turned Bagus into a home away from home.
We loved every minute of our stay and can't wait to come back one day soon
Joanna and David x

Room Tip: Big Chief would be perfect for families or larger groups with two big bedrooms and a large lounge, p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank londoner234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pulau Tioman hotels
3.0 mi away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
510 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island
4.7 mi away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
73 reviews
6.3 mi away
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
0.2 mi away
Minang Cove Resort
Minang Cove Resort
#3 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagus Place Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagus Place Retreat

Property: Bagus Place Retreat
Address: | No 1C, Pasir Sarang, Kg Mukut, Pulau Tioman 26800, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Tioman
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Tioman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bagus Place Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only ALL-INCLUSIVE RESORT in Tioman Island Bagus Place Retreat is nestled quietly on one of the most beautiful islands in the world called Tioman.A peaceful sanctuary of breathtaking natural beauty we invite you to rejuvenate body and mind and be enchanted by the sights and sounds of nature. Our guests will find luscious and unspoiled paradise. Clear waters and lush jungles provide plenty of opportunities for outdoor activities such as jungle trekking, snorkeling, kayaking and diving, and beach ball games. Outdoor activities not your thing? Pick up a book from our library try out our sun-loungers on the long secluded beach. Our activities are child friendly so your little ones will be occupied at all times. Our long wooden jetty provides for exciting walks and a fascinating look at coral fish and turtles. Snorkellers will be rewarded with views of the living tropics reefs of Tioman Island. Bagus Place aim to work in harmony with the environment and local community, offering a unique holiday experience to our guests. The only ALL-INCLUSIVE RESORT in Tioman Island ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bagus Place Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagus Place Retreat Hotel Pulau Tioman
Bagus Place Retreat Pulau Tioman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing