We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lock up your valuables!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I am a teacher and we brought a school group to Tioman and stayed at the Paya Beach Resort for 4D3N. As I went to go to bed the first night, I noticed that there were stains on my sheets (I was sleeping on the pull out) that looked like it may be blood. I went to the front desk and requested new sheets from housekeeping but was told that housekeeping was closed. As a compromise, I was given a different room for the night.

Overall, the resort is a 2 star resort (at the best). Rooms are not clean, pull out bed was dirty and stained and fresh towels and linens were only given every 3 days. Rooms are in desperate need to maintenance and renovations.

The most disappointing part of my stay was that money was taken out of my wallet. As there is no safes in the room (a locker at the front desk is available and I used this to lock up the passports of the students in my group), I hid my wallet in my luggage. I did not do this till the second day and when I opened my wallet, I was surprised that there was no 50 dollar bills inside as I was sure I had at least one. I counted the remaining money ($87 composed of 8 $10 bills, 1 $5 and 1 $2 bill) and tucked my wallet inside my luggage, underneath my clothing. Since there was no need to use Singapore money while on the trip, I did not look in my wallet again until I was in Singapore and needed to pay for a taxi. I was shocked to only find $27 remaining! It was very disappointing to realize that the hotel staff helped themselves to money from my wallet.

I would not recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PayaBeachResort, Owner at Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Rooms are serviced daily with fresh towels and linen provided since October 2013! We have been saying that countless number of times and thousands of guests who have stayed with us would have experienced that since October 2013. You must have stayed with us before September 2013. If you would provide us the serial number of your SGD 50 note, we will endeavour and try our very best, leaving no stone unturned, to help you locate your SGD 50 note lost that you lost and misplaced at least 5 months ago.


Professional Security Service from Professional Security Vendor and Cashless system of Payment for All Facilities at our Resort.
We have invested heavily in payment systems at our resort to make all payments safe and secure, cashless and convenient. Room keys are electronic card keys and this same card key is all that guests need to make payments at our resort for any food or beverage or any activity they have signed up for. When the bill is presented, all the guest needs to do is present the card key and the waiter or front desk where all activity signed up for is paid, will present a print out of payment amount and room number after the card key has been used to initiate payment by that room number. The guest only needs to sign on the bill and that would authorise payment by “bill to room”. All payments are made during check out at the front desk and payments maybe made by cash or credit cards. Cheques are not accepted. Any reasonably educated person would see that there is absolutely no need for any of our guests to carry cash around with them while at the resort. All valuables should be kept at our complimentary deposit box facilities. If what you wish to safe keep is larger than the normal security box provided for each room, we have a SAFE to store bulky items. An authentication procedure has to be followed by that is just to ensure that there is a record of the item being stored with us in our SAFE and when it is retrieved, acknowledgement that it is now safely in the custody of the owner is all that is required for good order and controls.
For the well being and peace of mind for all our guests. we have a professional security company manning all aspects of security at our resort. We also provide security deposit boxes for all our bona fide paying guests. We strongly encourage all our guests to use this complimentary service available at the Front Desk. This is for the peace of mind of our guests so that you have a good holiday and not bother with writing vehement, wild and scurrilous allegations of theft here on tripadvisor and also for us to not have to write pages of explanation here at Tripadvisor why a guest lost any of their personal belongings when they could have just utilized the complimentary safe deposit box service.


We have had a wonderful 2013 and have been blessed beyond what we could anticipate or imagine! We are deeply thankful and honoured by the wonderful guests we have been blessed with. As much as we try to bless our guests by providing good comfortable and clean accommodation, excellent food and informative, fun and most importantly safe Activities, we unwittingly find that we are in turn blessed more. Having received more blessings, we are able to bless our other guests even more and it has really been a wonderful experience for us in 2013. We look forward to having the honour and privilege of being hosts again to so many of our repeat guests; many of whom have become personal friends whom we, the owners, catch up with for lunch or coffee.
We aim to make our resort a value for money and affordable 3 star beach front resort for guests to enjoy the abundant blessings of nature around us. We have had a new Management Team since October 2013. We appointed a professional hotelier of more than 20 years as Resident Executive Director. He is assisted by another professional hotelier who took up appointment as Resident Resort Manager. This new management team believes in actually getting things done and not solely use diplomacy to solve guest issues. They have a good track record of being able to effectively manage and lead a staff of workers. Most importantly, they are also able to administrate well which improves effective communication between staff, departments and management. They take good and authentic feedback seriously and are mature and secure enough to realise that they are not perfect. They are also professional and experience enough not to be hackled by anonymous reckless and wild reviews. They have the authority and mandate to make real rectifications be it the physical structure or our operations or administrative systems. There is no need for them to adopt the proverbial mindless lip service of "humbly apologising" for the sake of convenient public relations just for a fleeting moment. While having much to unscramble since mid Oct 2013, they have been able to establish their SOP's since mid Jan 2014. We have every confidence that guests in 2014 will most certainly reap the benefits of their professional management and leadership of the resort's staff.
As we are fair and reasonable employers, we abide strictly by the Labour Laws of Malaysia. The Labour Laws of Malaysia require reasonable proof of any infringement of Laws or underperformance of standards by all staff working in Malaysia. In accordance to legal advise, we wish to state that none of our staff's remuneration or employment terms are affected, positively or negatively, by reviews written on unregulated and unauthorised internet travel reviews, websites or forums as long as authors write under a pseudonym. As a result of the Law, we purpose not to react or tweak our splendid facilities or efficient operations by reviews written here as this is not our official feedback channel. Instead, we are indeed deeply grateful to all those who write reviews here on tripadvisor about our excellent and wonderful resort, as all of you, by your individual reviews, have blessed us with the wonderful privilege of presenting the facts and truth to all the many other readers of reviews here on tripadvisor. By your own hand, you have allowed us to tell everybody how wonderful our resort's facilities and services actually are. For this honour and privilege, we are deeply grateful for your blessing.
Rooms - New Management
Pest Control of the Whole Resort and Rooms.
We engage a professional pest controller who advises us on best practices to eliminate ecological systems conducive for pests to thrive and breed. They are appointed for a tidy sum so their professional advice is taken very seriously. All their advice is incorporated into our SOP's for all our departments. Staff who do not adhere strictly to the SOP are dealt with fairly, equitably and strictly by the provisions of the Labour Laws of Malaysia. In addition to best practices, the Pest Controllers also do regular bi-monthly maintenance. They come and lay poisons and chemical and physical bulwarks to pests. We have a written understanding with our professional Pest Controller that they are professionally liable for any loss of reputation suffered, provided that is good and reasonable proof of the presence of pests, if pests continue to interfere with the peace and enjoyment of our guests.
Power Blackouts From National Power Supplier - Emergency Lighting and Electrical Generator Sets
There are frequent blackouts on Tioman Island due to a very erratic and unpredictable National Power Supply Company. For the sake of our guests, the resort has invested more than MYR 500,000 in electrical power Generator sets located onsite at the resort. The Generator sets are able to supply enough power for all rooms and facilities at the resort. Everytime there is a blackout, our Generator sets which are professionally serviced and maintained, our maintenance team, is part of their Standard Operations Procedure, ensure that the Generator Sets take over the task of providing electrical power to all rooms and facilities and outlets at the resort. In addition to that, there is emergency lighting installed all over the resort and in the rooms so that guests are not caught in sudden darkness. Rest assured, despite the many and frequent power outages on Tioman Island, Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort has invested heavily in capital, maintenance and spares no effort in ensuring that water and power is available to guests despite the frequent blackouts from the main National Power Supplier.
Nature Friendly Practices
As Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort is keenly aware of the need to be friendly and protect nature, we strongly encourage our guests to save electricity wastage. To show our part in this endeavour, we have invested heavily in ecologically friendly room key lock system which disables power supply to the whole room when the card key is taken out of the card key socket in the room. Each room has a specific computer generated random security code and unless the socket verifies and tallies the code set by our front desk upon guest check-in, the door will not be unlocked and power will also not be supplied to the room. No other replacement card can be used unless it has been verified by our front desk personnel as the door and the socket must tally with the computer generated random code set by our front desk. If any guest wishes to have a second card key, we charge MYR 20 per room per day for the second key. This is done to protect our environment and we would appeal to all our guests to support this endeavour of ours.
All guest rooms are serviced daily but we would encourage guests to decide for themselves if they wish to be part of the global effort by responsible people to be friendly and protect our environment. If our guests wish to be part of this responsible group of people, we will support your gracious, responsible and wise decision by not changing towels unless they are left on the floor in the bath area.
A Brief Description of Rooms
We have 6 room categories each catering to guests with different disposal income. At the most basic, we have less than 20 beds at our Standard Lodge. Each single sized bed costs USD 12.60 per night including breakfast. There are 4 beds in each Standard Lodge Room and each room is airconditioned with ensuite hot water showers and toilet. Next category up is the Standard Chalets which sleep 4 adults comfortably. Appointed with 1 Queen sized double bed and 2 singles, each airconditioned chalet has an ensuite hot water shower room and toilet. The Superior Sea Facing rooms are the next category up from the Standard Chalets. These sleep 3 adults with one adult having to sleep on a pull out single sofa bed. There is a Queen sized double bed which sleeps two comfortably. Again, these airconditioned rooms come with ensuite hot water showers and toilets. The Superior Beach Front rooms are airconditioned and each come with ensuite hotwater showers and toilet. Each Superior Beach Front room is located right at the edge of the beach and is appointed with two queen sized double beds which sleep 4 adults comfortably. Next up are the Deluxe Chalets. Again located right at the edge of the beach, these are a favourite with families. The fullly airconditioned chalets come with one master bedroom with ensuite open air shower and toilet. The master bedroom has a European King sized double bed sleeping two adults very comfortably. This is also good for couples with a young child who is used to cohabitate with parents during sleeping times. There is a single pull out sofa bed in the hall which leads to the balcony which gives a wonderful view of the sea. There is a bath room with bath and toilet attached to the hall. This area can sleep one adult only. There is also a cozy attic bedroom which sleeps two adults comfortably on a queen sized double bed. The deluxe chalets sleeps 5 adults comfortably. The fully airconditioned Deluxe Suites are most luxuriously appointed with an open air hot water shower, hot water jacuzzi and toilet attached to the master bedroom. All these open air jacuzzi and showers allow a wonderful view of the ocean. The master bedroom again is appointed with another balcony which gives a wonderful view of the forest and Mount Kajang. There is a European King sized double bed which sleeps two adults very comfortably. This is also good for couples with a young child who is used to cohabitate with parents during sleeping times. The hall is appointed with a single sofa pull out bed and a queen sized sofa bed which sleeps 3 adults comfortably. There is a separate ensuite hot water shower and toilet to the Hall of the Deluxe Suite. The Deluxe Chalets and Suites come with a mini fridge. If guests of other room catergories wish to have a mini fridge in the room, a charge of USD 8 per day. Deluxe Suites and Deluxe Chalets come with complimentary bottled water which are replaced daily.
Except for the standard lodge, all our rooms come with a TV with 4 channels available namely, Discovery, ESPN, HBO and CNN. All rooms except for the Standard Lodge come with complimentary coffee and tea making facilities and set. All rooms including the standard lodge come with mini pantry with hot water kettle. We urge all our guests to boil their water before drinking for hygiene reasons as that is just plain common sense.

All Rooms Serviced Daily and Brief Description of Room Service SOP
All Rooms are serviced everyday and we will provide fresh towels and linen during the service. If you feel that you want to do your part in helping the environment, we applaud and encourage your thoughtful and considerate intentions. You may inform us that you do not wish for your linen or towels to be replaced. We will however still service your room. Our linen and towels are no more than 6 months old and we replace them regularly. Strict hygiene is observed and all the linen and towels are washed in antibacterial solution after they are soaked in dilute chlorine for at least 15 minutes. All linen and towels are then machine dried at with the temperature set at 75 degrees Celsius. Your bath rooms and toilets are washed with antibacterial solution and when there is a change in guests, all the toilets, wash basins, WC, Showers, baths and Jacuzzi are treated with chlorine to prevent cross infections between guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

291 - 297 of 583 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014

1st trip was in 2008. Back then, we took full board and stayed in a superior chalet. The buffets was average and nothing to shout about. Snorkeling trip was good but we only went to 2 locations, the Marine Park and Renggis Island.

Went back again in June 2013 and this time round, we had a superior beachfront chalet and went ala-carte. Both were absolutely right. We got the 2nd last superior beachfront chalet and it is directly in front of the beach! Only pity is they have chairs instead of a lounger but we still do spend a lot of time sitting outside on our small little balcony watching the day go by and listening to the sea breeze.

Going ala-carte was right as you can then eat whatever you want and not be restricted by what's provided in the buffets. Prices was reasonable anyway so you won't be spending much more than going full board. We had rice & noodles for lunch and seafood for dinner.. GREAT.

Wanted to book snorkeling with the resort but they said they are full. No way we are going Tioman without going snorkelling.. so we book a full day snorkelling trip with Paya Sea Sports Centre located near the jetty opposite the mini-store. And we made another right choice! We went to a white sandy beach to have a basic snorkelling lesson and then went off to Tulai/Coral Island (can't remember which one) and the corals there was AMAZING.. it's deep sea snorkelling so the corals are not affected by people.. The owner Alan Yong, had a buoy with him and he asked people to hold on to it and he "dragged" us around the waters to show us all the pretty scenes and all the different corals. Like one man dragging 6 or 7 people behind him, don't even need to swim.. Went to Salang for lunch and then to the Marine Park and Renggis Island. At the Marine Park, he took us one by one underneath the jetty in between 2 pillars to see a whole school of fishes resting underneath it! And then at Renggis, it's back to the buoy and it's a pity we didnt get to see turtles but we saw a shark.. all thanks to Alan looking out for it and chasing it with us all behind him.. we seen so much on this trip and find it damn worthwhile as compared to the Paya resort trip where they just bring you there and you snorkel on your own.

But Paya will still be the place to stay every year when I return to Tioman for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shichs1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

We spent 4 days 3 nights in their Deluxe Chalet last weekend. The location of the Deluxe Chalet is fantastic! We love sitting in the balcony and watching Sky and Sea. It's so close to the beach... We also love the outdoor bath. It feels good bathe under the star. We also love the hammocks in the beach very relaxing. We went with full board package booked from Discovery Group. The buffet breakfast and dinner are very nice. Good variety and most dishes are very delicious. We still need to choose 2 lunch 1 dinner for our extension stay. We tried one Chinese restaurant in the beach outside the restaurant. However very disappointing, the small portion dish is only for one person the watermelon juice not more than ice water. If you go there I would suggest you to stick to the resort cafe. The price is not much more expensive but the quality is much better. For this kind of place so close to nature, do prepare to share space with some little creatures and insects. We brought mosquito patch, which is very useful.

The only downside of the resort is that the furniture is a bit old. Especially sofa bed and Tv cabinet. One queensize bed is in loft, which is not very safe for kid. It would even better if resort could install a door to lock the exit. Overalls, we do enjoy our stay in Paya Beach Resort.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank SmileKitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I was there frm 18-20march, the room is unique on top of the pond area, big for family to stay. Beer is cheap because duty free. Not much food place there. Breakfast buffet was so so, not much varieties and only serve hot coffee,hot tea and hot water, no cold beverages when I asked for cold water, was asked to pay for cold water, wifi no strength at all. Many mosquitoes/flies at night. There was even lizard inside the rubbish bin. As there were mosquito/flies at night had to pack food back to eat. They dnt provide toothbrushes also. What I appreciate abt the trip is the snorkelling people were rather helpful, my friend lost her equipment for snorkelling. The guy went all the way to retrieve it back. Would try another place in Tioman if I'm going back there.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Sab O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PayaBeachResort, Owner at Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

We have had a wonderful 2013 and have been blessed beyond what we could anticipate or imagine! We are deeply thankful and honoured by the wonderful guests we have been blessed with. As much as we try to bless our guests by providing good comfortable and clean accommodation, excellent food and informative, fun and most importantly safe Activities, we unwittingly find that we are in turn blessed more. Having received more blessings, we are able to bless our other guests even more and it has really been a wonderful experience for us in 2013. We look forward to having the honour and privilege of being hosts again to so many of our repeat guests; many of whom have become personal friends whom we, the owners, catch up with for lunch or coffee.
We aim to make our resort a value for money and affordable 3 star beach front resort for guests to enjoy the abundant blessings of nature around us. We have had a new Management Team since October 2013. We appointed a professional hotelier of more than 20 years as Resident Executive Director. He is assisted by another professional hotelier who took up appointment as Resident Resort Manager. This new management team believes in actually getting things done and not solely use diplomacy to solve guest issues. They have a good track record of being able to effectively manage and lead a staff of workers. Most importantly, they are also able to administrate well which improves effective communication between staff, departments and management. They take good and authentic feedback seriously and are mature and secure enough to realise that they are not perfect. They are also professional and experience enough not to be hackled by anonymous reckless and wild reviews. They have the authority and mandate to make real rectifications be it the physical structure or our operations or administrative systems. There is no need for them to adopt the proverbial mindless lip service of "humbly apologising" for the sake of convenient public relations just for a fleeting moment. While having much to unscramble since mid Oct 2013, they have been able to establish their SOP's since mid Jan 2014. We have every confidence that guests in 2014 will most certainly reap the benefits of their professional management and leadership of the resort's staff.
As we are fair and reasonable employers, we abide strictly by the Labour Laws of Malaysia. The Labour Laws of Malaysia require reasonable proof of any infringement of Laws or underperformance of standards by all staff working in Malaysia. In accordance to legal advise, we wish to state that none of our staff's remuneration or employment terms are affected, positively or negatively, by reviews written on unregulated and unauthorised internet travel reviews, websites or forums as long as authors write under a pseudonym. As a result of the Law, we purpose not to react or tweak our splendid facilities or efficient operations by reviews written here as this is not our official feedback channel. Instead, we are indeed deeply grateful to all those who write reviews here on tripadvisor about our excellent and wonderful resort, as all of you, by your individual reviews, have blessed us with the wonderful privilege of presenting the facts and truth to all the many other readers of reviews here on tripadvisor. By your own hand, you have allowed us to tell everybody how wonderful our resort's facilities and services actually are. For this honour and privilege, we are deeply grateful for your blessing.
Our objective is to make ourselves not only a value for money 3 Star Beach Resort, we aim to make our hospitality and gastronomic experience affordable to as many as possible so that we can share the blessings of nature that we have been endowed with. Given the purchasing power of the Malaysians and the pricing by our competitors, we price ourselves extremely competitively by international standards offering excellent value for money with our our Buffet Lunch at USD 5.50 per head and our Buffet Dinner at USD 9.50 per head. Our main restaurant is opened from 6.30am to 10pm daily.
Bottled Water, both still and fizzy are amply available for all our guests at reasonable prices. We encourage our guests to keep well hydrated in this tropical weather. Sodas, Healthy Freshly squezed Fruit Juices like Mango juice, orange juice, starfruit juice, carrot juice, apple juice, watermelon juice and pineapple juice are also served cold and amply available at reasonable prices. All day we serve specialty coffee creations brewed with premium Arabica Beans. For Tea lovers, we have speciality teas like English Breakfast Tea, Earl Grey to name a few. We serve a range of Chinese Teas, Japanese Green Tea, Herbal teas like Peppermint, Chamomile, Lemon Tea, Rose Hip and many others. Beer, Cocktails, Wines, spirits and Liqueurs are all available at Duty Free Prices. During our Happy Hour, Beer, Cocktails and Wines retail at special promotion duty free prices.

Breakfast Buffet
Our breakfast is COMPLIMENTARY for bona fide paying room guests. For most times in the year, we serve a breakfast buffet which includes an array of different types of fresh breads, cakes and danish from our bakery, healthy cereals with a choice of chilled or table milk, fresh tropical fruits, choice of salads from our salad bar, sausages, scrambled eggs, two different local Malaysian breakfast delights, warm baked beans, hash browns, Beef bacon, Chicken Ham and an "Action Station" that serves Pancakes or Roti Chanai and eggs cooked to your preference. If any particular guest finds this spread too simple and plain for them, as our breakfast buffet is complimentary, they may, if they so wish, purchase breakfast from other shops and restaurants entirely at their own expense. No refunds will however be made for breakfast not consumed as it is complementary to our guests to start with.

Lunch Buffet
For the USD 5.50 per head all you can eat lunch buffet, we have themed buffet lunches that change each day. The themed buffet lunch which range from Asian Chicken Rice, South Indian, Local Malaysian to Italian themed buffet lunches all include Healthy Garden Salads and Tropical Fresh Fruit for dessert.

Dinner Buffet
For our Dinner Buffet priced at USD 9.50, we offer an "Action Station" offering local Malaysian Dishes and Western Roasts on alternative days. Bread is from our own bakery while assorted western and local desserts are from our very own dessert kitchen. All you can eat Roasts served daily from our Carvery include Leg of Spring Lamb, Prime Beef Sirloin, Chicken etc. Hot foods includes 3 western dishes and 4 Asian dishes. Fresh Tropical Fruits, Coffee and Tea are standard.
Beach Bar and Grill (A-La-Carte)
If you find our humble lunch and dinner buffet a little too austere for you, you are most welcome to order fresh seafood like lobsters, crabs, fish from our grill. Open daily from 6pm to 1am, you have the option of choosing your particular choice of live fish, lobster and crab and you may choose how you would like to have it prepared specifically for you. Where possible, we can prepare the live seafood Japanese Sashimi style, Lobster Thermidor, Steamed Chinese Style, Seafood with a fruit salad or our specialty where we take the live seafood and grill it in salted eggs and our special blend of herbs and spices. This is a favourite amongst many of our regular guests.
Asian and Western Kitchen (A-la- Carte)
We have delectable Chinese dishes from our a-la-carte menu or if you wish, we have a wonderful Western Kitchen which prepares Prime Beef Ribs, Sirloin Steaks, T-bone Steaks, Burgers, Chicken Chops and even healthy Seafood Platter for two or the age old favourite, the Paya Beach Resort Fish and Chips with the catch of the day coated in our own secret batter and fried to a crisp golden brown served on a bed of fries accompanied by the traditional salt and vinegar if you so wish.
Licensed Open Kitchen
We have the only Beach Front Resort with an Open Kitchen on Tioman Island. Our kitchens are certified by Kesihatan Sepanjang Hayat Kualiti Sepanjang Masa, Jabatan Kesihatan Negeri Pahang. We have invested in this Open Kitchen and located it right in the centre of the resort near the check in so that all guests are encourage to view how their food is prepared. Our chefs are certified by the Health Authorities of Malaysia and all have attended food hygiene and handling courses conducted by the Government of Malaysia. Our Kitchen has been rated as Clean and Hygienic by the Health Authorities of Malaysia.
We thank you indeed for your review as you have provided us the opportunity to introduce and inform guests of our effort and many dishes we have in presenting an affordable and value for money gastronomic experience to all our guests. You may follow the latest events and get a good feel of the culture of Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort on our Facebook page.

Our objective is to make ourselves not only a value for money 3 Star Beach Resort, we aim to make our hospitality experience affordable to as many as possible so that we can share the blessings of nature that we have been endowed with.
Rental for snorkeling equipment are priced at value for money and affordable rates. Our masks and snorkels are for rent at USD 2.20 per day, Life Jackets at USD 2.55 per day and flippers at USD 2.20 per day with each day defined to be the period between 8am and 8pm on the same calendar day.
Our waters are warm, ranging between 26-29 degrees Celsius, turbidity low with currents manageable (do check with our Activity Desk Guides for local and actual information on the day you snorkel). Tioman Island is a granite island. We have a nice beach which is cleaned twice a day of debris left behind by irresponsible people. We never want to interfere with nature and hence our beach is home to many beautiful and interesting wildlife which can been seen during low tide. Due to a flattish seabed, the intertidal zone is quite large so you would not find coral life for the first 50metres from the beach. Beautiful and colourful coral thrive after that and are found from the rock structure right in front of the resort and to the island (Tomok Island) on the right of the resort. The Rocky structure right in front of the resort is home to a family of black tip reef sharks who are accustomed to visits from our many guests. We have put up pictures of beautiful colourful fishes and corals in Tripadvisor for guests to view. Hawkbill turtles, Lizard Fish, Trumpet fish, Damsel fish, Wrasse, Parrot Fishes are aplenty and if one is quiet and respectful of nature, available in full visual splendor for our guests. There are Butterfly Fish, Batfish, Fairy Basslets, and the occasional moray eels. Blue spotted rays and even eagle rays are sometimes seen in the area between the rock feature in front of our Deluxe Chalets and Tomok Island. Anemone Clown Fish are the delight of many of our younger guests. There is a platform which we have put up for our guests to rest while snorkeling. In the vicinity of that platform, Shovelnose Rays or Raysharks have been photographed. Sea snakes like , Sea Crates, Banded Sea snakes, Coral snakes are sometimes spotted too.
The Tropical Rainforest neighbouring our resort is home to many animals that are endemic to Pulau Tioman like the Tioman Blind Walking Catfish. Macaque Monkeys, Bats, Flying Squirrels, Monitor Lizards, are all native and found in the Tropical Rainforest. Beautiful Birds of Paradise, Sunbirds, Water Hens, Hummingbirds, Ospreys, King Fishes, White bellied Sea Eagles and many beautiful butterflies like Common Blue Butterflies, Swallowtail Butterflies are abundantly available for visual splendor. Snakes like the Reticulated Python, Sunbeam Snake, Grass snakes, Palm Vipers, Paradise Tree Snakes, Cobras, Vine Snakes, Oriental Whip snakes and Dog fish Water Snakes are some species of snakes that may be spotted for the keen eyed.
Beautiful trees like the Banyan Tree, Willow Tree, many species of palm trees like the Giant Palm, Natural fruit trees like the Custard Apple Tree, Durian Tree and Mango tree are all abundantly available for those who are keen naturalist. Different species of ferns like the Jungle Fern, Peacock Fern, Dragon Scale Fern, Leather Fern and many different fungi with prominent meristems are found in the Tropical Rainforest right at the edge of the resort. Herbs and plants like the Tapioca plant, Ginger Plant, Chilli plant, Curry plant and Pigeon
Orchids are found in this beautiful Rainforest.
. There is a movie room where we show a complementary movie for our guests. We have free WIFI available for our guests at our food outlets. If you are in a group, you may have complimentary use of our multipurpose room (subject to availability) but a charge for Coffee and Tea on a per head basis is payable. Minimum number is 40 persons. Complimentary Indoor Board games like scrabble, Uno etc are also available for our guests. Beach mats are available for rent as these are so much more comfortable instead of using your bath towel on the sand. Ball games like volleyball are also complimentary.
Kindly contact our life guard certified guides for tours to view these blessings of nature found in and around Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort. You may follow the latest events and get a good feel of the culture of Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort on our Facebook page. We thank you very much indeed for your review as you have provided us the opportunity to inform all readers and guests of the wonderful wildlife and beach we have been blessed with.

Pest Control of the Whole Resort and Rooms.
We engage a professional pest controller who advises us on best practices to eliminate ecological systems conducive for pests to thrive and breed. They are appointed for a tidy sum so their professional advice is taken very seriously. All their advice is incorporated into our SOP's for all our departments. Staff who do not adhere strictly to the SOP are dealt with fairly, equitably and strictly by the provisions of the Labour Laws of Malaysia. In addition to best practices, the Pest Controllers also do regular bi-monthly maintenance. They come and lay poisons and chemical and physical bulwarks to pests. We have a written understanding with our professional Pest Controller that they are professionally liable for any loss of reputation suffered, provided that is good and reasonable proof of the presence of pests, if pests continue to interfere with the peace and enjoyment of our guests.
Power Blackouts From National Power Supplier - Emergency Lighting and Electrical Generator Sets
There are frequent blackouts on Tioman Island due to a very erratic and unpredictable National Power Supply Company. For the sake of our guests, the resort has invested more than MYR 500,000 in electrical power Generator sets located onsite at the resort. The Generator sets are able to supply enough power for all rooms and facilities at the resort. Everytime there is a blackout, our Generator sets which are professionally serviced and maintained, our maintenance team, is part of their Standard Operations Procedure, ensure that the Generator Sets take over the task of providing electrical power to all rooms and facilities and outlets at the resort. In addition to that, there is emergency lighting installed all over the resort and in the rooms so that guests are not caught in sudden darkness. Rest assured, despite the many and frequent power outages on Tioman Island, Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort has invested heavily in capital, maintenance and spares no effort in ensuring that water and power is available to guests despite the frequent blackouts from the main National Power Supplier.
Nature Friendly Practices
As Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort is keenly aware of the need to be friendly and protect nature, we strongly encourage our guests to save electricity wastage. To show our part in this endeavour, we have invested heavily in ecologically friendly room key lock system which disables power supply to the whole room when the card key is taken out of the card key socket in the room. Each room has a specific computer generated random security code and unless the socket verifies and tallies the code set by our front desk upon guest check-in, the door will not be unlocked and power will also not be supplied to the room. No other replacement card can be used unless it has been verified by our front desk personnel as the door and the socket must tally with the computer generated random code set by our front desk. If any guest wishes to have a second card key, we charge MYR 20 per room per day for the second key. This is done to protect our environment and we would appeal to all our guests to support this endeavour of ours.
All guest rooms are serviced daily but we would encourage guests to decide for themselves if they wish to be part of the global effort by responsible people to be friendly and protect our environment. If our guests wish to be part of this responsible group of people, we will support your gracious, responsible and wise decision by not changing towels unless they are left on the floor in the bath area.
A Brief Description of Rooms
We have 6 room categories each catering to guests with different disposal income. At the most basic, we have less than 20 beds at our Standard Lodge. Each single sized bed costs USD 12.60 per night including breakfast. There are 4 beds in each Standard Lodge Room and each room is airconditioned with ensuite hot water showers and toilet. Next category up is the Standard Chalets which sleep 4 adults comfortably. Appointed with 1 Queen sized double bed and 2 singles, each airconditioned chalet has an ensuite hot water shower room and toilet. The Superior Sea Facing rooms are the next category up from the Standard Chalets. These sleep 3 adults with one adult having to sleep on a pull out single sofa bed. There is a Queen sized double bed which sleeps two comfortably. Again, these airconditioned rooms come with ensuite hot water showers and toilets. The Superior Beach Front rooms are airconditioned and each come with ensuite hotwater showers and toilet. Each Superior Beach Front room is located right at the edge of the beach and is appointed with two queen sized double beds which sleep 4 adults comfortably. Next up are the Deluxe Chalets. Again located right at the edge of the beach, these are a favourite with families. The fullly airconditioned chalets come with one master bedroom with ensuite open air shower and toilet. The master bedroom has a European King sized double bed sleeping two adults very comfortably. This is also good for couples with a young child who is used to cohabitate with parents during sleeping times. There is a single pull out sofa bed in the hall which leads to the balcony which gives a wonderful view of the sea. There is a bath room with bath and toilet attached to the hall. This area can sleep one adult only. There is also a cozy attic bedroom which sleeps two adults comfortably on a queen sized double bed. The deluxe chalets sleeps 5 adults comfortably. The fully airconditioned Deluxe Suites are most luxuriously appointed with an open air hot water shower, hot water jacuzzi and toilet attached to the master bedroom. All these open air jacuzzi and showers allow a wonderful view of the ocean. The master bedroom again is appointed with another balcony which gives a wonderful view of the forest and Mount Kajang. There is a European King sized double bed which sleeps two adults very comfortably. This is also good for couples with a young child who is used to cohabitate with parents during sleeping times. The hall is appointed with a single sofa pull out bed and a queen sized sofa bed which sleeps 3 adults comfortably. There is a separate ensuite hot water shower and toilet to the Hall of the Deluxe Suite. The Deluxe Chalets and Suites come with a mini fridge. If guests of other room catergories wish to have a mini fridge in the room, a charge of USD 8 per day. Deluxe Suites and Deluxe Chalets come with complimentary bottled water which are replaced daily.
Except for the standard lodge, all our rooms come with a TV with 4 channels available namely, Discovery, ESPN, HBO and CNN. All rooms except for the Standard Lodge come with complimentary coffee and tea making facilities and set. All rooms including the standard lodge come with mini pantry with hot water kettle. We urge all our guests to boil their water before drinking for hygiene reasons as that is just plain common sense.
Movie Room, Wifi and Multi-purpose Hall for Guests
There is a fully air-conditioned movie room where we show a complementary movie for our guests. We have free WIFI available for our guests at our food outlets. If you are in a group, you may have complimentary use of our multipurpose room (subject to availability) but a charge for Coffee and Tea on a per head basis is payable. Minimum number is 40 persons.
All Rooms Serviced Daily and Brief Description of Room Service SOP
All Rooms are serviced everyday and we will provide fresh towels and linen during the service. If you feel that you want to do your part in helping the environment, we applaud and encourage your thoughtful and considerate intentions. You may inform us that you do not wish for your linen or towels to be replaced. We will however still service your room. Our linen and towels are no more than 6 months old and we replace them regularly. Strict hygiene is observed and all the linen and towels are washed in antibacterial solution after they are soaked in dilute chlorine for at least 15 minutes. All linen and towels are then machine dried at with the temperature set at 75 degrees Celsius. Your bath rooms and toilets are washed with antibacterial solution and when there is a change in guests, all the toilets, wash basins, WC, Showers, baths and Jacuzzi are treated with chlorine to prevent cross infections between guests.

We have presented the facts for the reader to decide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort is situated in its own bay. There is a very nice sandy beach and good possibilities for snorkelling especially at each end from the rocks. Paya Beach is fairly isolated as you can only reach it by boat. It would be better for getting from the airstrip and harbour if there was a road. It does not have to be a wide one just big enough for a tuk-tuk or minivan. However isolation is also very romantic. The hotel chalets are in good condition and quite luxurious with either beach or lagoon views. The reception staff are very eficient, helpful and friendly. The housekeeping staff are the same , excellent. The restauarant is only reasonably good and some improvement could be made her, especially with the breakfast although it is adequate. Prices do not always match the range of food in the main restauarant for evening meals. Altogether Paya Beach is a good place to stay with good facilities and wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barryo119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We went on a 3D2N trip to Paya Beach Resort from 07-Mar to 08-Mar. We stayed at a standard chalet, We bought a full board package, that is, accommodation, half day snorkeling tour, 2 dinners, 1 lunch and 2 breakfasts. It was quite enjoyable. The room is quite decent. There is nothing to complain about. The meals are not too bad although I would love more variety in the buffets. The beach is nice. The snorkeling trip was memorable. WIFI is really weak but we were there to enjoy the beach. It would also be good if there is a fridge in the room. The restaurant staffs are very friendly and nice especially the guy from the egg station.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven_Shwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The hotel is located on the beach. Our small house was right on the beach, 10 meters. We enjoyed our time at Paya beach. The hotel is ideal for couples, families with children over 4 years old and people who are interetsed in diving. The breakfast buffet was very good. They offer all kind of food, for asian taste and european. Hotel serves lunch and dinner buffet at extra charge, which is also good and has good variety. Our room was clean and big. We stayed there 2 nights and 3 days and spend a perfect time, however it will probably be borring to stay there for more than 3 night since there are not so many activities except the beach, swimingpool, diving, restaurant and bar that closes at 23.30 and there is no place to go. There are couple of small supermarkets and cafes outside the hotel, but they also close by this time. Tioman is a smal island and each hotel is located separately and you need to take a boat to get to another hotel. The prices at the hotel are quite cheap compare to what we expected, but for sure high than malaysian price level in big cities and non-turistic places. the beach is nice, the only problem is that when you enter to water there are some stones and it is not very convinient to walk but not so bad either. There is no free wifi in the rooms, only at lobby and restaurant area. We we a bit concerned about insects, but fortunetly haven't seen any:)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manager-zeytun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pulau Tioman hotels
2.8 mi away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
538 reviews
5.1 mi away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island
4.8 mi away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
2.3 mi away
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
5.8 mi away
The Barat Tioman Beach Resort
The Barat Tioman Beach Resort
#9 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort

Address: Kampong Paya | Tioman Island, Pulau Tioman 26800, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Tioman
#6 Spa Hotel in Pulau Tioman
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Tioman
Price Range: $40 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to one of the world’s oldest mangrove swamps and the Tropical Rain Forest, this Beach Front Resort also boasts having a spectacular House Coral reef. Paya Beach Spa & Dive Resort is the perfect getaway on the Tioman Island, the infamous volcanic island covered in rainforest, white sands, turquoise water, and unforgettable experiences. Paya Beach Spa & Dive Resort is ideal for visitors who seek to enjoy the nature’s gift, nestled in a secluded beach with rooms overlooking South China Sea. The wide range of facilities at the hotel includes spa, outdoor pool, beach bar, Grill, conference and meeting rooms, restaurant, and PADI Dive Centre. Moreover, fishing, Snorkeling and Ecological trekking tours of the Mangrove Swamp and the Rain Forest can be arranged at the Activities Centre. Restaurant and Grill is driven by a passionate Executive Chef with the team who create the works of gastronomic art in the only open kitchen in Tioman Island. Paya Beach Spa & Dive Resort invites all visitors to come and experience the unforgettable experience of picturesque view of the sea from our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paya Beach Hotel Pulau Tioman
Paya Beach Pulau Tioman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing