We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Pulau Tioman
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Second time in Tioman, first time in Paya Beach. This place has an awesome crew which made them seem like one bug happy family. From the friendly, service oriented front desk staff, to the cheerful housekeepers and the radical snorkel dudes. Beach was nicer than the one at the southern most tip of the island from my previous stay. Rooms were clean although it was a bit smaller than expected since we booked for the second most expensive room. The pull-out couch is quite old and I could feel the metal frames even with two mattresses on it. Otherwise, it was a great stay overall. Food was nice with a good variety which they alternate every two days. Otherwise you can always get something from their menu which is affordable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trollol85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (574)
There are newer reviews for Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

337 - 343 of 574 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

We have spent lovely time in this resort though it does not look exactly like on the pictures, so don't get too excited.

Room are spacious and clean though they smelled a bit musty. We had a room with 2 double beds just by the beach. Bathroom was nice and clean. The only annoying thing was the amount of flies all over the resort. We tried to get something to get rid of them in the local shop and the lady offered us a torch:) I assume we were about to blind them!:) So definitely take some sprays or tapes for flies!

Breakfasts at the resort are rather poor. If you wanted to get some fruit ( there was usually only watermelon available on 'menu') you had to literally fight for it. Terrible tea and coffee.

The resort has great restaurant by the sea that offered great dinner menu. Superb seafood, though make sure that your waiter writes down your order otherwise you may wait for your dish till the dusk!

Front desk staff are not very useful and generally bored so don't bother them with any questions as they will remain unanswered!



All in all we had a really lovely time, the key is to relax and you will enjoy your stay there.

Room Tip: We were very pleased with sea-view deluxe room located at the very end of the resort. Peaceful, wit...
1  Thank HumphreyKualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Good snorkeling and awsome view, close to the sea. The small restaurants have the best food. The hotell's restaurants are quite expensive and the food is not that good.
The sea view were excelent and the djungle track was good but we walked on pavement all the way so dont expect it to be a real djungle treck!
The airplane which you come to the island with is a little bit scary because of all the noise it made, which made us feel a little bit insecure... But the view from the plane wer so good and beautiful!
The beach were great but a the sand in the water were full with small rocks so be aware of that.
Almost everything were very cheap and the tourist shop were good and cheap, the water were great and clear and warm.
There is an island which you can snorkle around but look out for the currants beacuse they are very strong and they made you very tired which could lead to that you could not be able to swim back to the shore.
Also whatch out for the sun which is very strong and you could get burned very fast.

This place was nice but the food at the hotel could be better.!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatildaAndersson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I've been to Tioman a couple of times but this is my first time in this resort.

It was a short getaway with my husband. We chosed the room over the pond, in the day time it didn't look like much but at night the ambiance over the lake is really nice.

The buffet breakfast was pretty basic, and is it just me or there are tons of flies at the hotel's restaurants and the near by restaurants? I find the price of food at the outside restaurant slightly on the high side, understand that mostly Singaporeans come to this part of the island. Not sure if that has caused food to be a little bit more expensive than I expected it to be. Free WIFI is only available at the chinese restaurant on the other side of the jetty. Hotel's WIFI is not free.

This hotel has a quite a lot of facilities. Really suitable for couple, family or groups. Overall it is pretty clean too. I would go back there again. Staff are quiet friendly

I book a package direct to the Singapore office, their service is pretty bad. They asked me to choose a pre-set menu for my beach side dinner, but whatever I chosed and what was serve was different. What was serve wasn't even in the choice of menu that was given to me. They didn't seem very friendly when answering my enquiries upon booking. The only down fall of choosing this resort.

Room Tip: Try the pond side room for a different ambiance.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank szetwinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PayaBeachResort, General Manager at Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you for your kind feedback.

For those who know about houseflies, they would understand that houseflies are very mobile and can travel quite a distance. As you have stated here, there are other hospitality establishments and food stalls outside Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort. While we will not comment about the practices of the other hospitality establishments and food stalls outside of our resort because of professional etiquette, we will tell all readers about what we have done to ensure that we are not contributing to the housefly situation in the whole village. Inline with our sense of corporate responsibility in ensuring a hygienic and pest free environment for our guests, we have Pest Control Specialist who carry out anti-pest operations monthly within our compound. Chemicals that remove and keep away pests are applied by these specialist monthly for many years now. All our buffet counters are wiped regularly with organic antibacterial solutions as well as the restaurant floors mopped with medicated antibacterial detergents immediately after the peak meal times. All our tables are cleared and then cleaned with organic and permitted antibacterial solutions. We have had some uneducated guest who complained here in this review about our use of these solutions. Despite his one personal and rather selfish opinion, we will continue to use these solutions to clean our tables for the sake of ALL our guests. We have a team of General area staff, almost ten of them going around clearing bins and cleaning the area of waste and debris that antisocial and uneducated guests have rudely, carelessly and irresponsibly chucked despite the numerous bins around the whole resort. We can however, only take care of our own grounds and our land.

As it is always our intention to provide the best and freshest from the market, there are times when certain ingredients are not up to the standards we have set. Whenever this happens, instead of taking the easy route and just serving what we feel is below our standard of freshness, we will always take the trouble to serve our guests our best. When what we receive from suppliers are not up to our standards, we will always suggest alternative dishes to our guests to maintain the objective of only serving our best to our guests. It is clearly stated in our standard operations procedure for waiters that when such a situation arises, our waiters would always explain the situation and suggest an alternative dish to our guests that is better in taste and higher in value compared to what was supposed to be served. Only upon the expressed agreement of the guest to the alternative dish will we then serve that dish that our guest has chosen as an alternative. We therefore trust that your dining experience would not have been compromised but actually augmented by a suggestion, agreed by you, of an alternative dish much better in taste and higher in value and cooked specially to your personal preference.

We look forward to seeing you again. When you visit us, please identify yourself to our resident Manager Simon and he will be glad to shake your hand and explain to you what we do to ensure a hygienic environment for your guests. He will also be glad to perhaps suggest to you some of our speciality dishes as we have upgraded our staff and most importantly, have a much better Executive Sou Chef now. When you come again, you will most certainly find the breakfast something most definitely worth waking up for as our new and better Executive Sou Chef has worked on a more exciting and delicious menu. Thank you.

Simon Buenaventura, Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Alright, maybe the "standard room" is little low standard, the toilet of the room i stay during the morning seriously a lot of mosquitoes. LOLL. I'm okay with it but not everyone can stand the mosquitoes. Overall for the paya beach not bad, got chairs and table by the beach, can chilling there during night and this hotel got swimming pool. It's duty free, so we take the chance to drink. The resort also provide seafood stall. Taste nice. We just could manage to try sotong only because the fish we want had finish. There are also burger stall available.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ah_yang00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PayaBeachResort, General Manager at Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for the feedback . Glad overall you had an ‘unexpected’ but pleasant stay with us . Complimentary mosquito and insect repellents are available at our font desk. We do hope to see you again.

Simon Buenaventura, Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I was travelling alone and am glad that I decided to stay in this resort. It was nicely designed with big dining area, staff who are helpful and attentive and free wifi. I think it is safe to rely on the professional pictures taken of their resort.

At the beach, they have beach chairs and hammocks for people to hang out and the area was shaded with lots of trees.

I took their standard chalet 3 days 2 nights package and thought it was worth it. My room was near the restaurant so it was convenient. It was spacious, clean and comfortable. The food was really good too.

Overall, I felt safe and think this is a very nice place to stay and would patron again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SharonWTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PayaBeachResort, Manager at Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Thank You for the positive feedback and we are certainly proud that you have enjoyed yourself tremendously . We do hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

dont understand these negative views..its a stunning place and cheap. ok the rooms could do with ceiling fans and maybe one on the balcony to cut down on the flies a bit but the room was comfy and clean.we had a problem with the paint peeling a small bit on floor and as we had the baby we told reception who immediatly moved us next door and offered to help with our things. friendly throughout. the snorkelling was great and the food was good enough. we will definatly be returning very soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gingerdave74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pulau Tioman hotels
5.6 mi away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island
4.8 mi away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
77 reviews
2.9 mi away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
2.3 mi away
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
5.8 mi away
The Barat Tioman Beach Resort
The Barat Tioman Beach Resort
#9 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort

Address: Kampong Paya | Tioman Island, Pulau Tioman 26800, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Tioman
#6 Spa Hotel in Pulau Tioman
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Tioman
Price Range: $47 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to one of the world’s oldest mangrove swamps and the Tropical Rain Forest, this Beach Front Resort also boasts having a spectacular House Coral reef. Paya Beach Spa & Dive Resort is the perfect getaway on the Tioman Island, the infamous volcanic island covered in rainforest, white sands, turquoise water, and unforgettable experiences. Paya Beach Spa & Dive Resort is ideal for visitors who seek to enjoy the nature’s gift, nestled in a secluded beach with rooms overlooking South China Sea. The wide range of facilities at the hotel includes spa, outdoor pool, beach bar, Grill, conference and meeting rooms, restaurant, and PADI Dive Centre. Moreover, fishing, Snorkeling and Ecological trekking tours of the Mangrove Swamp and the Rain Forest can be arranged at the Activities Centre. Restaurant and Grill is driven by a passionate Executive Chef with the team who create the works of gastronomic art in the only open kitchen in Tioman Island. Paya Beach Spa & Dive Resort invites all visitors to come and experience the unforgettable experience of picturesque view of the sea from our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paya Beach Spa and Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paya Beach Hotel Pulau Tioman
Paya Beach Pulau Tioman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing